We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busselton visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Observatory Guest House
Ranked #3 of 15 Busselton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Western Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Busselton visit”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Well, we were pleasantly surprised in staying at this lovely guest house. The facilities provided were certainly better than the average motel accommodation around the district. Big spacious room with plenty of room to move around. Only 5 minutes walk from both the beach and centre of town.
Very private and we did not find it noisy as another reviewer suggested, think it may have been a competitor comment.
Will definitely be staying there again on our next visit to the South West.

Room Tip: All good, choose anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbo1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    34
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
73
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bungendore, NSW
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Sandra the owner was lovely. We called on the afternoon of our visit to see about accommodation. Nothing was a problem, she organised our accommodation told us about the best spots in town to enjoy, recommended the Goose as a top spot to watch the sun set on the bay and enjoy a quiet drink. The room was gorgeous, comfy bed and facilities. Thanks again Sandra. Jan and Mick

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaddyandRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We have been coming here for many years and always look forward to the stay, the service and seeing the owners.
Only walking distance to the Busselton Jetty and in a quiet part of town.
Rooms are neat and clean.
2 reading areas outside for guests - one upstairs, one downstairs.
Homely and very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanAAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Stayed one night before Easter in this quaint little guesthouse and it catered for our needs very well. The room was clean and tidy, beds comfortable and dining room for breakfast lovely, looking out over the garden. Great location for Busselton's attractions, with the beach down the road and pier nearby etc. Would highly recommend this for a short stay anytime.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheiladavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PERTH
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

My husband and I stayed btwo nights on a trip to Busselton early January 2013. I spoke to the owners before booking and Sandra was very helpful, explaining that if there was no one in attendance when we arrived, the key would be in the letterbox, that breakfast is self serve and to help ourselves to the strawberries under the lemon tree. Perfect...we loved the place!

Being mid summer, the caravan park across the road was full and although our room faced it, we were amazed how quiet it was. Apart from the happy sound of children playing in the daylight hours, there was never a sound after 10pm. We had access to a lovely balcony at the front overlooking a very pretty
garden, and tea, coffee and glasses were available in our room. The rooms are a little small but adequate for a couple and one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in together with a choice of various pillows which was a nice touch. The whole property was spotless and the two cleaning ladies we met on Sunday and Monday were delightful, helpful and friendly.

This is not a five star resort but if you are looking for a simple, conveniently located quiet place to stay, where you can do your own thing and walk to the beach or town, don't overlook this property.

Room Tip: Room 1 and 2 are at the front of the property would be my choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy Aussie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ObservGuesthouse, Owner at Observatory Guest House, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
HappyAussie
Hi
Thanks very much for staying with us and for posting a review; we are so happy you enjoyed your stay. The quite convenient location and the comfortable sleeps are our most popular responses from guests, which are two of the most important aspects of good accommodation when you are travelling.
Thanks again for staying with us; we hope you both have a very happy new year.

Cheers

Brad & Sandra Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collie WA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

My husband and I spent one night here on the 31st December 2012. Great location just a couple of minutes walk from the beach and the iconic Busselton Jetty plus a great hotel, The Esplanade, just around the corner. Rooms are comfortable and air conditioned with tea and coffee facilities.
Breakfast is continental and you help yourself which means you can go at any time. We did not get to meet the owners as he is fly in fly out and does not live on the premises but we did get to meet the cleaning lady who was lovely, friendly and would be happy to advise non locals about the area.Everything you could want is available but it is a matter of helping yourself which as far as we are concerned is no problem at all. Heaps of parking available out the back and on the verge.

Room Tip: We had room 2 which is at the front and upstairs with easy access to the balcony. There is a caravan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ObservGuesthouse, Owner at Observatory Guest House, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Shelley J

Hi

Thanks very much for staying with us for New Years Eve. We are very glad you enjoyed your accommodation and trust you had a very enjoyable evening to see in the New Year as well? We certainly did hence why I wasn’t down at the property early enough New Year’s day to meet you before you departed. I’m very sorry I didn’t get to catch up with you before you left as I make a point of meeting every guest that stays with us. So thanks again for choosing to stay with us, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay.

Oh and by the way the caravan park are the just the best neighbours ever, we often get surprised comments from guest on how peaceful and quite our location is.

Thanks again Shelly J, we hope you guys have a very happy new year.

Cheers

Brad & Sandra Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We were quite disappointed with the Observatory Guesthouse. It looked very nice on their website, where it is advertised as "small family owned b&b". In fact, we did not see the owners at all - the key was in the mailbox and also on the next day there was no one there at all. The room was ok, but the walls are paper-thin - you could here the voices & TV noise from all the other rooms. What's more, you could also here a lot of noise from the huge caravan park, which is 5m across the street. Would not stay there again. One more thing: There was a "for sale" sign outside, so you might want to check if it still operates or if there is new ownership.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philipp H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ObservGuesthouse, Owner at Observatory Guest House, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Phillipp H

Hi

We are very sorry to hear you did not completely enjoy your stay with us in October. Yes we are a small family run business and as a family we have all the usual running around that most other families do, school drop off and pick up, after school sport, etc. We do not live at the property full time so we make a very concerted effort to meet and talk with all of our guests during their stay, and are successful on a large majority of occasions.

There is a bit of background noise between the rooms, but the property is a house not a concrete style hotel so a little bit of homely ambience is to be expected. As for the caravan park, it is very unusual to hear any noise out of them at all. And most certainly I have never experienced an issue with noise from there any later into the evening than 9 or 10 O’clock on the very odd occasion!
By far the most popular comments recorded in our guest book are comments on the quite and comfortable rooms and the beautiful restful sleep our guests have.

We are at the property everyday so as you only stayed for the one night I can only suggest that unfortunately our timings were out to be able to meet you properly. And if there was noise from the caravan park after the normal 10 O’clock curfew I can only apologise.

Yes the property is for sale if anyone is looking for a beautiful Busselton property in a fantastic location? The business has continued through the previous 4 owners and will be sold as an ongoing business. All bookings whether for next week or next year will be honoured so no one needs to check before booking.

Once again we are very sorry you didn’t completely enjoy your stay with us Phillipp. I wish you all the best in the rest of your travels around Australia.

Cheers

Brad & Sandra Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Busselton hotels
4.1 mi away
The Sebel Busselton
The Sebel Busselton
#3 of 14 in Busselton
640 reviews
4.4 mi away
Abbey Beach Resort
Abbey Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Busselton
1,414 reviews
1.1 mi away
Baudins of Busselton
Baudins of Busselton
#1 of 15 in Busselton
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Inn the Tuarts Guest Lodge Busselton
0.6 mi away
Gale Street Motel & Villas
Gale Street Motel & Villas
#5 of 14 in Busselton
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Busselton Ithaca Motel
Busselton Ithaca Motel
#11 of 14 in Busselton
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Observatory Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Observatory Guest House

Property: Observatory Guest House
Address: 7 Brown St, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Busselton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Busselton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Observatory Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Observatory Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing