We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Observatory Guest House
Ranked #3 of 14 Busselton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mandurah, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed at the Observatory for 2 nights on the Australia day long weekend and it was a pleasant stay with a home away from home feeling. The location is brilliant with most things within a walking distance. We stayed in the triple room as we have an older child and this room was adequate for all 3 of us plus the bonus of Foxtel for the teenager!! The breakfast provided was more than sufficient. The gardens and surroundings are lovely and sitting out having a drink on an evening was a good way to end a busy day. The owners were very friendly but they are not in your face either. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    34
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
72
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Girona, Spain
Level Contributor
247 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We went to this guesthouse because it was high season and this was only accommodation available, we did not have very clear where we were going but we booked and there were no other options. The result could not be better.
From the first moment we felt at home, very comfortable room, with TV, bathroom, DVD (with DVDs to watch) and Foxtel, free wifi, parking ... awesome. Also included breakfast where you will prepare it yourself in the kitchen of the guesthouse, you had cereal, toast, jams, juices, coffee ...
The situation is also excellent, two blocks from Queen Street (the main street) and about 250m from the Information Center and Jetty.
Definitely a recommended accommodation, the best one in all our trip around WA.  You'll feel like home.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xaviur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This has to be a good place, we have now visited this place for a second time this year and chose to stay here from our experience earlier this year. I suppose one of the main attractions for us was that we could walk every where, so having our usual bottle of wine with our evening meal didn't pose a problem with being slightly over the legal limit. The streets were well lit for our walk home, nice and peaceful. This time we visited many places we missed when time ran out on our last visit.
I was able to use the guest's dining room as an office for the small amount of work I had to do and are very grateful to the owners for allowing us to do that without any interference, Wi-Fi had a great connection and fast service. well done guys. It's like a home away from home.
Love the south west region, so much to do and explore.........

Room Tip: Well they are all good, one suite had an extra single bed for an extra guest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbo1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Could walk everywhere we wanted. Just 2 streets away from Queens Street, the main street in Busselton and all the wonderful cafes. Loved Fig Tree Lane, could shop there every week. Well I did my research before booking this guest house and it was perfect. Very quiet and peaceful, about 400 metres to the beach in front of the iconic Busselton Jetty. What a labour of love that has gone into it's restoration, interesting to read all about the early days of this beautiful place. You must walk the jetty if you visit Busselton, so relaxing, fresh sea air and just a slight breeze to keep you cool.
Our room was very comfortable and clean, the Continental Breakfast in the dining room was all that you would need, it was a beautiful morning so we sat outside on the deck and ate our breakfast, just lovely. Spent the day visiting local wineries. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Treb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

An excellent well equipped and maintained Guest House. This accommodation is perfectly located just a short stroll from the famous Busselton Jetty and the town's most popular thoroughfare teeming with shops and cafes and runs for about 1 km through the town centre.

The Guest House offers comfortable ensuite rooms and an excellent buffet style continental breakfast in the downstairs dining area.The rooms are well furnished with luxurious beds a fridge,TV and DVD.There is a small central balcony for the use of guests with coffee table and chairs. There is good secure parking at the rear for 4 or 5 cars.

The Guest House is a few hundred 100 metres from a first Pub / Restaurant enroute to the jetty.

Enjoy your stay - I have, and keep coming back whenever in Busselton!

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Great experience, not a converted house but purpose built guest house. it has 4 separate suites upstairs and a dedicated guest dining room with out door seating area. Breakfast were self help continental. Wouldn't want anything heavier. what I really likes the owners weren't in your face like so many others I have used over the years. Better for me than the motel. Just a short walk to the famous jetty and center of town. Will stay again next time in area.

Room Tip: All the suites were identical with one having a single bed as well as the queen bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Well, we were pleasantly surprised in staying at this lovely guest house. The facilities provided were certainly better than the average motel accommodation around the district. Big spacious room with plenty of room to move around. Only 5 minutes walk from both the beach and centre of town.
Very private and we did not find it noisy as another reviewer suggested, think it may have been a competitor comment.
Will definitely be staying there again on our next visit to the South West.

Room Tip: All good, choose anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbo1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Busselton hotels
4.1 mi away
The Sebel Busselton
The Sebel Busselton
#3 of 14 in Busselton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
4.3 mi away
Bayview Geographe Resort
Bayview Geographe Resort
#8 of 14 in Busselton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
4.4 mi away
Abbey Beach Resort
Abbey Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Busselton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gale Street Motel & Villas
Gale Street Motel & Villas
#5 of 14 in Busselton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
2.4 mi away
Amalfi Resort
Amalfi Resort
#2 of 14 in Busselton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
4.4 mi away
Aqua Resort Busselton
Aqua Resort Busselton
#1 of 14 in Busselton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Observatory Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Observatory Guest House

Property: Observatory Guest House
Address: 7 Brown St, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Busselton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Busselton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Observatory Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Observatory Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing