We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not 100% satisfied” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Observatory Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Observatory Guest House
Ranked #3 of 14 Busselton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not 100% satisfied”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

The expectations we were promised were not delivered as we were asked to pay for an expected full cooked breakfast in addition to the price we had agreed at the time of booking that was meant to include it.
We feel that it was not right that the owners had instructed the staff to oblige to any customer complaints in regard to this, but that they should have instructed the staff to find out the original date of the customer booking so that they would not have been put under duress of having been asked for the additional payment that in accordance to them was not necessary.
The service was not very professional as we were expected to ask at times for items we were supposed to have automatically delivered to us.
On our lodged complaint and following of few emails we were offered money refund and other offers that we could not accept because nothing was going to compensate us for a not so much stress free holiday.
We feel that despite our accepted apology been received from the owners, we do not feel confident of been able to return to these premises, where no steps are made to avoid customers been put under the stress of having to make uncomfortable compaints, in comparison to stress free holidays we have had in the past under the old management.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sal69_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ObservGuesthouse, Owner at Observatory Guest House, responded to this review, 31 March 2011
Sal69_11
Hello again
From our previous conversations where we resolved this issue you gave me the indication that this matter had been closed to your satisfaction? I feel very distressed to find out that you are still unhappy.
Through our numerous phone calls and emails we have discussed your visit in length and as I mentioned believed it to be completely resolved? So in the interest of fairness and for a balanced view point I would like to explain to other readers what occurred.

Firstly let me state that in the 12 months since my wife and I have owned the Observatory Guesthouse we have had in excess of 1000 people stay with us and you have just read the one and only complaint we have received either verbally or in print.

In the 12 months at our new business we have been steadily upgrading the facilities, both in the accommodation areas and in our administration systems. We inherited a simple hand written booking ledger which we are currently in the process of changing to an electronic booking system. This will allow online booking through our soon to be revamped website and also allow us to record, track and communicate with our past and present guests with greater ease.
A small rate change had been made in between the time Sal69_11 booked with us and when they arrived for their stay. An honest mistake was made on our behalf when we inadvertently overcharged Sal69_11 slightly as they should not have been affected by this change.
Sal69_11 also had an issue when they left the dinning room after breakfast only to return some time later to find the refrigerated items had been returned to the kitchen fridge. Sal69_11 never mentioned anything at the time so we were unaware they wished a second breakfast sitting. We pride ourselves on the quality and quantity of the food we provide. This and the friendly personable service is what set's us apart from hotel/motel style accommodation. So we ensure to the best of our knowledge that everyone is well looked after at breakfast time.

A large reason these instances grew into an issue was simply a communications issue. Unfortunately the first we knew of any of these issues was when we received an email a couple of days after Sal69_11 had departed. Had they simply inquired or said something at the time resolution would have been swift and complete. We talk to all of our guests on arrival, during their stay, and when departing where possible. We are constantly asking is everything to your liking or are you enjoying your stay? We never received any feedback to the contrary from Sal69_11 during their time with us. We should not have made the rate mistake in the first place but you cannot fix what you are unaware of. As Sal69_11 mentions once informed we offered refunds and additional future discounts which were all politely refused.

We are devastated to know that someone didn’t enjoy their time with us and have made changes to further ensure this doesn’t occur again. We would love to have Sal69_11 stay with us again to prove that their experience was a once off rarity.

With thanks
Brad & Sandra Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    31
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
65
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Queensland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2010

We really enjoyed the Observatory Guest House, which is under new management as of around May 2010. It's run by an energetic young couple who are Busselton locals full of knowledge about the area. It's a small, modern guesthouse with only 4 rooms I think, all upstairs so be prepared if you're less mobile or have large bags. The rooms were large and well furnished with fridge, desk and good reading lights. They also had opening windows which I really appreciate (fresh air is so much nicer than air con). The best thing about Observatory are the 3 common areas -- a small sunny dining room, downstairs patio in the well-kept garden, and upstairs balcony. We loved relaxing on the patio and balcony especially and visiting with other travellers. There's a small book & DVD library as well. Just up the street is a huge playground, then the beach and jetty. It's a 5 minute walk to several restaurants, the historic cemetery and the old main street of Busselton, so very well located for our needs. Unfortunately the jetty & underwater observatory were closed (meant to re-open May 2010 but delayed indefinitely), but we still enjoyed wandering around the town. We didn't mind filling out our breakfast card the night before, and it was nice having a cooked breakfast ("anything you want" they say). As mentioned by the previous review, sound does carry somewhat, particularly between bathroom walls, but that's to be expected in a guesthouse or B&B and we found our co-travellers were mature and considerate so no problems with noise. We were a little worried looking at the map to see a caravan park directly across the street, but it is very small and even though completely full for school holidays, we had no issues with noise. Free wi-fi was also much appreciated. We didn't notice the signs/rules mentioned in previous review, and our 2 rooms had modern decor and comfortable firm beds. Overall a great, relaxing, no-fuss stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kilat_Goby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ObservGuesthouse, Owner at Observatory Guest House, responded to this review, 26 March 2011
Kilat_Goby
Hi
Thanks for choosing to stay with us. How did WA compare to sunny Queensland? I’m originally from Southeast Queensland and I believe Busselton has some of the best summertime weather and coastline in the country.
Glad you enjoyed the stay; sorry the Jetty wasn’t open when you were here. You’ll be happy to know it’s back open again now and the little train is once more doing its 2 trips a day out to the underwater observatory.
Funny you should mention the caravan park across the road. A lot of people that stay with us mention that they too thought there would be a lot of noise. But once they have stayed a night or 2 they all comment on how quite it was. Both my wife and I regularly stay in caravan parks when we holiday and travel. And we knew early on that more often that not it’s a pretty early bed for most park dwellers. The Caravan Park has turned out to be an excellent neighbour.

Cheers

Brad & Sandra Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2010

You can’t book this one on-line but it does get a mention in The Lonely Planet as a cosy sea view guest-house. “Sea view” is stretching it a bit - you can just about make out the sea from the communal balcony over the top of the trees – but it’s an easy walk from both the picturesque seafront and compact town centre.

The Observatory reminded us of English B&Bs from our childhood. This means you can expect cosy flowery bedspreads, squashy soft mattresses and hearty cooked breakfasts served by a matronly landlady in a flowery dress. Unfortunately, it also means that English-style obsession with rules. Laminated notices abounded reminding us to close the door tightly, use the sanitary bins provided as well as dispensing various other sundry pieces of advice we apparently weren’t trusted to work out for ourselves. We were also given detailed instructions on arrival as to how to fill in a breakfast-request card. This required us to specify 12 hours in advance of breakfast time how hungry we thought we’d be and how we reckoned we’d fancy having our eggs done the next morning. Spontaneity is not apparently a quality which is encouraged at The Observatory.

We’re probably being a bit harsh here as we actually had a very enjoyable couple of days here and enjoyed the nostalgia of it all. One more serious problem was the sound-deadening between rooms which was, to put it politely, rubbish.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinkyenjoyinglife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ObservGuesthouse, Owner at Observatory Guest House, responded to this review, 26 March 2011
Dinkyenjoyinglife
Hi
Firstly, thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit Down Under. I hope the rest of your Australian holiday was enjoyable and we would love to see you back again some time?
Also thank you for your review of our premises. My wife and I had only recently taken over possession of the Observatory Guesthouse 3 weeks before your stay with us. We had the same feeling about the “Flowery” décor’ and little laminated signs everywhere so they disappeared pretty quick, I’m surprised they were still up when you were there actually! We have a more contemporary cleaner look in mind for the rooms so Manchester and furniture have and are still being changed out towards that end. Flat screen TV’s are being rolled out into the rooms and wall colours are soon due to be tamed to a more neutral feel. The wall artwork will be removed to make way for professional photographic displays of the magnificent local coastline.

You are correct in saying we have very little in the way of sea views. Despite only being a couple hundred metres from the beach trees block the way so it’s not a claim we make. I’m can only assume the Lonely Planet reviewer must have had this in their write up?

We have also had a new caretaker start with us recently who is a qualified chef. We still have the breakfast menus to add a bit of individuality and a personable approach to the breakfast we supply. But if you want to run on the “wild side” you’re quite welcome to roll up to the dinning room and short order what you would like.

And yes the sound deadening between the rooms is only comparable to the average house. We are conscious of the fact and generally try not to accommodate babies or very young children. Preferring instead to stick to the couples market where possible. But that’s what we are, a house, and we try our best to make everyone who stay here feel welcome and at home.

Well it’s been great taking to you; hopefully we will see you back here in Australia again soon?

Cheers

Brad & Sandra Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Busselton hotels
4.3 mi away
Bayview Geographe Resort
Bayview Geographe Resort
#9 of 14 in Busselton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Sebel Busselton
The Sebel Busselton
#3 of 14 in Busselton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
4.4 mi away
Abbey Beach Resort
Abbey Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Busselton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gale Street Motel & Villas
Gale Street Motel & Villas
#5 of 14 in Busselton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Busselton Guest House
Busselton Guest House
#4 of 14 in Busselton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
2.4 mi away
Amalfi Resort
Amalfi Resort
#2 of 14 in Busselton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Observatory Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Observatory Guest House

Property: Observatory Guest House
Address: 7 Brown St, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Busselton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Busselton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Observatory Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Observatory Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing