We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant stay in the south west...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aqua Resort Busselton
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Busselton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The accommodation and our stay were both excellent. The property overlooks a magnificent part of the coast. We stayed during winter with a large group including four couples and four friends and the house was the perfect size with plenty of room for everyone. As we stayed during winter, the area was nice and quiet and so it really felt like a retreat. The master bedrooms are a very good size, the living areas are superb, and the owners were only too happy to help. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaBusselton, Manager at Aqua Resort Busselton, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Hi Chris, we are pleased that you were able to relax and enjoy all that Aqua Resort had to offer during your stay. Winter is a relaxing time in the south west. We will have great winter specials for next winter and we look forward to seeing you again at the Aqua Resort.

Kind Regards

Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

381 - 387 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2012

Chose the Aqua Resort because of numerous good reviews. Initially booked through a booking website, but found the resort website offered a cheaper discounted rates (due to being winter season perhaps).
First impressions: Office/reception - easily missed as sign is not obvious.
House: Stayed at #33 Grove 4-bedroom house with private, heated plunge pool. House is fabulous with most equipment/utensils you need, including washing machine & dryer. Clean and comfortable beds; and so nice to wake up with sunlight filtering through the trees into your bedroom.
Beach was a disappointment with the sea weeds lining what is an otherwise beautiful beach. IGA as well as some restaurants are a short walk away through the walkway along the beach.
Agree with the earlier comment regarding instruction manual on the gas heater - I also could not make it work. Finally, the manager lit the heater for us. Found the staff friendly and knowledgeable, giving us some helpful tips for our tours around the area and Margaret River.
Note: key card expires 12 noon on the day you leave; so if you check out late, make sure your key card is good for the afternoon to save the inconvenience of going to the reception.
Absolutely enjoyed our stay (3 days/2nights) and plan to return again.

Room Tip: Parking lot from adjacent resort could be noisy if you book units with higher numbers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DetSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaBusselton, Manager at Aqua Resort Busselton, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Thank you for your review. In relation to the condition of the beach, the winter storms deposit seaweed on the usually sandy white beaches. Nature does its thing and the last storm of the season remarkably removes all the seaweed and returns the beach to its pristine conditiion.

It is not uncommon to see families playing in the seaweed and enjoying a different aspect of the beach.

The gas heaters can be difficult to light and we are only to happy to do this for you.

We are pleased that you did enjoy your stay and the facilities of the resort including your private heated plunge pool. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed here not long ago and found the house to be of a low standard as compared with the descriptions, the floors where worn and all instructions where very hard to follow for heating appliances. The timber walkways have no handrails to protect from falls particularly with children, lighting outside in times of darkness is non-existent.

The service provided by staff was rude, short and generally below par. I paid premium dollar for a premium location and facility, very very dissappointed as a result. The venue and its staff made what should have been a great weekend turn into an OK one.

I do not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank specka1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaBusselton, Manager at Aqua Resort Busselton, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

Thank you for your review.

The Aqua Resort was opened on the 1st of December 2010 and is now only 18 months old.

All our flooring in the living areas are made of compressed bamboo, a hard wearing surface. Whilst we acknowledge that the floors do scratch we are not aware of any that are well worn at this early stage in their life. All bedrooms have quality carpets and again we are not aware of any that require replacing after only 18 months.

We provide the manufactures instruction to all appliances in the houses for our guests information. You are right in saying the gas heater is difficult to light. As with all our guests we are only to happy to do this for them on request.

The developers of the resort, in complying with building standards, choose not to install handrails.

Careful consideration was given to outside lighting. Every house has an outside light on the front entry door, the side entry door and the rear entry door. Further lighting exists above the outdoor BBQ and on the rear deck. Bollard and tree lighting is provided throughout the resort.

It is very unusual for any of our staff to be rude to our guests so I will have to agree to disagree with you on that one.

The Aqua resort is the winner of Trip Advisor's Travellers Choice for 2012 and have recieved a Certificate of Excellence for the same period.

We will continue to strive towards maintaining this standard.

Kind Regards

Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Manager with attitude

I have to agree that Aqua resort is luxurious. The accommodation cannot be faulted, apart from minor annoyances such as having to pay for internet access, but unfortunately the people skills of the manager certainly can. As a visitor from the UK and staying for the second time at Aqua with my family who live in Perth, I witnessed a most unfortunate incident which could have been easily resolved with the right approach by the manager. My family have stayed at the resort four times in the last year and had recommended it to friends who were looking for a place to bring a large party of people next Easter. Their friends were staying elsewhere in the area and called by but had with them a small dog on a leash. We were unaware of the “no pets” policy having previously seen a dog on site and on a walk to the beach our party was accosted in a very aggressive manner by the manager, who could just as easily have politely informed us that dogs were not allowed, which we would have understood and accepted. We were accused of “smirking” and even threatened with eviction if the dog was not removed. This was an incredulous and embarrassing incident for us as guests and also for our visiting friends. My family are owners of a holiday property themselves and would be very angry if their resort manager spoke to paying guests in such a manner. I previously recommended Aqua to UK colleagues at the BBC but will now be withdrawing that recommendation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jillg255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaBusselton, Manager at Aqua Resort Busselton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Thank you for your review.

I remember this incident very clearly and appreciate the oportunity Trip Advisor provides to respond.

If I am correct you were staying with the person who posted a review titled "Weekend Stay Away" July 20, 2012 in house one.

On the day in question your party did have a dog on the premises. This was brought to my attention by guests who saw it on the tennis court, subsequently complaining about it, as they asked if they could bring their dog and were advised of our no pets policy.

Under our Strata company By Laws, no dogs are allowed on the premises except for the live in onsite manager. I don't beleive it is our responsiability to advise all guests of this policy and in fact most guests wishing to bring a dog contact us re our policy. Our policy is posted on our web site.

Upon recieving the complaint and whilst on my way to deal with the issue, I noticed your group walking from the front of the resort with the dog in question. I stopped, advised you of our no dog policy and that the dog was to be removed from the premises immediatley.

One of your group did infact smirk at me implying "who cares" ,and not offering a solution.

I advised this person who subsequently was responsible for booking the accommodation, of our by laws and his response was " the dogs only visiting, we are going to the beach"

This did not resolve the issue and he was now going to parade the dog from one end of the resort to the other and back. I then advised this person that he would be evicted if he did not remove the dog from the premises. Despite this the dog remained on the property untill later that night.

The decision was his to make, break the rules or remove the dog immediatley. Removing the dog would have defused the situation. The fact it was not removed indicates he did not understand or accept our policy.

I apoligize if you felt embarrased, it was not my intention. The issue was confronting, it was my responsibiality to ask that the dog be removed. Unfortunatley this person put the integrity of the resort behind his own agenda.

The Aqua Resort is the winner of Trip Advisor's Travellers Choice 2012 and have been awarded a certificate of excellence for the same period.

If you read our reviews on Trip Advisor you will see that the resort is well regarded and a very popular holiday accommodation destination.

Kind Regards

Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We attended a conference in Perth (which is a good hotel Ghost Town) so decided to stay the weekend with a trip to the Margaret River. We reviewed the options available in the area and as this hotel was at the gateway to the Margaret River wine region and right on the beach, we decided on this hotel. We just rocked up to the hotel and booked a room at an incredibly reasonable rate.
If you are expecting a normal resort or hotel room forget it, you get a very modern beautifully appointed apartment to yourself. An extremely well planned layout and the main room even includes a fireplace.
Located right on the beach, it was great to go for a run from the resort to Busselton Jetty in the morning, in order to pay for the future sins of dining in the wineries.
Would we go back? Yes and with a few friends too!

Room Tip: All appeared to be good. However there were some houses over looking the beach which looked spectacu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamsonNIte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaBusselton, Manager at Aqua Resort Busselton, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you and your friends in the future.

Kind regards

Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed in a Grove 1 bedroom over Queens Birthday weekend, but as others note it is a 3-4 bedroom house with the other bedrooms locked. Place was massive and had all modern amenities. Beachfront location is fantastic and is on the south side of Busselton meaning Yallingup and winery region only a 20 minute drive away. Great rate for our stay (lower than most surrounding resorts) and everything we could want. Will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaunfest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaBusselton, Manager at Aqua Resort Busselton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to wright a nice review it is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed 2 nights here after 2 nights at Yallingup Luxury Retreat. We got a great walk in rate, less than the internet - only common sense in low season, during the week but not always matched by others. As there were only 2 of us the 2 other bedrooms and 2nd bathroom were simply locked, but the rest of the accommodation was fantastic - with only exception being the slightly daft lack of a glass shower door as shower is with the toilet - so lots of spray over the area. Great lounge and kitchen -with definite edge on quality of equipment compared to YLR (and also better than Smiths). This is partly due to newness of Aqua. Location more convenient if you want to be closer to a town, but if you want more isolation, less suitable. Swimming pool is beautifully done and beautifully landscaped grounds with direct access to the beach. For $240 per night (no breakfast provisions) it is good value. If you have a family and can go low season it will cost more, but superb quality and much better value than taking 3 hotel rooms. Aqua recommended Samovar for dinner -and it was good. Not the most elegant of restaurants, but decent value. The accommodation quality in south west is far better - in quality and value for money- than Hunter Valley where we went 2 weeks before.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dubainick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaBusselton, Manager at Aqua Resort Busselton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to wright a review for us it is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Busselton
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Busselton
The Sebel Busselton
#3 of 14 in Busselton
659 reviews
15.8 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
0.1 mi away
Bayview Geographe Resort
Bayview Geographe Resort
#8 of 14 in Busselton
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abbey Beach Resort
Abbey Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Busselton
1,462 reviews
14.8 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Yallingup
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Resort Busselton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Resort Busselton

Address: 605 Bussell Hwy, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Busselton
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Busselton
Price Range: £245 - £400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Aqua Resort Busselton 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aqua Resort Busselton understated luxury accommodation on the shores of the pristine protected waters of Geographe Bay, in the beautiful South West of Western Australia. Nestled in eight and half acres of mature peppermint woodlands and complimented by beautifully landscaped grounds. Aqua Resort Busselton offers self-catering Beach House accommodation with uncompromising privacy and the best of contemporary indoor / outdoor living. Your holiday accommodation on the beach. With a choice from 1 bedroom to 5 bedroom luxury self-contained Houses, able to accommodate the largest of family gatherings to the most intimate of getaways. The Bay Beach Houses have expansive views overlooking Geographe Bay and Cape Naturaliste; while the Grove Beach Houses enjoy garden views with private lawned area. The Aqua Resorts world class Facilities include a beach front waterfall swimming pool, gynasium, sauna, spa and tennis court. Located a leisurely 2 and half hour's drive southwest of Perth, Western Australia through the coastal towns of Mandurah and Bunbury. The Aqua Resort is conveniently situated between the seaside towns of Busselton and Dunsborough; within the internationally acclaimed Margaret River Wine Region and all the Attractions the beautiful South West has to offer. Aqua - capturing the quintessential spirit of the Australian beach house holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Resort Busselton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing