We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing first night on our trip in WA with a false start”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aqua Resort Busselton
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Busselton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We arrived early that morning in Perth (from Europe), drove to Busselton and we already announced a few times (via e-mail) that we would arrive early and that we would be very pleased if our accommodation could be available a bit earlier (before the check-in time of 2PM). I believe we arrived at Busselton sometime between noon and 1PM. The ladies at reception (4 of them) were very busy with ... frankly I don't know ... and it took them 1 or 2 minutes before they even greeted me. They even seemed a bit annoyed I was already disturbing them before 2PM! And without even checking any paper work or identifying who I was (only by looking at the time) I was told my house "naturally" was not available yet and I should return after 2PM. Being a bit tired from the flight and drive I didn't want to start an argument so we left for the town and the jetty (nice!).

Around 4PM we returned and our house was available. Although I'm not sure of course but the resort seemed pretty quiet that day and it wasn't very likely our house was booked the night before we arrived. So no need for not granting us early access (1 or 2 hours!) to our house. But anyway.

The house was very spacious, clean, modern interior, all facilities present and the grounds of the resort are also very nice. A great pool (weather was a bit chilly so we didn't use the pool) and next to the beach.

So just spend some time on the customer experience at reception and the place is absolutely great!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edgar-NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaBusselton, Front Office Manager at Aqua Resort Busselton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Hi Edgar-NL. Thank you for your review and apologies your first impressions at reception were not so welcoming. Things can get a very hectic during our peak season. Especially for our housekeeping department. Having guests arrive before 2pm arrival can put them under enormous pressure, which is something we try to avoid as we consider our housekeepers are a vital part to the running of our resort. I am pleased the rest of your stay was enjoyable and I have know doubt you enjoyed our beautiful part of the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

302 - 308 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just stayed there for three night mini-break. There was just the two of us. The house was very generously appointed and extremely comfortable. It was also surprisingly large, even with two of the bedrooms locked off.

Very good kitchen and laundry facilities. Extremely well designed with quality treatments.

Fantastic pool that you can actually swim as opposed to splash around in.

Lovely back patio and native garden which provided ample shade.

A real step-up from the adjacent accommodation.

Good model barbie, which had a sink attached to the water with an overhead light.

Minor grips :
i) towels were smallish and rather well worn
ii) could really do with a water cooler or bottles and towels in the gym.

Otherwise would highly recommend.

Room Tip: I suspect all the 'houses' are much the same. The ones on the beachfront have a small plun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orthosurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaBusselton, Front Office Manager at Aqua Resort Busselton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you Orthosurg for reviewing our resort. You will be pleased to know new towels are on the way and I very much liked your suggestion of a water cooler in the gym. I will refer that onto to the property manager. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Aqua Busselton is our favourite place to stay in this lovely resort town. This is our third time staying at Aqua and we can't wait for our next! Both the beach and the grove houses are lovely with opulent bedrooms, generous living spaces and always fastidiously clean. The 28 degree private plunge pool is a real perk! On the cost side, a bit expensive for a couple (although WELL worth it if you want to treat yourself), but if you can fill up a house it's about $60 each per night for astonishing luxury accommodation - can fully recommend if you're down in Busso with mates/family for a sporting event or otherwise.

By far the best place to stay in Busso, I like to complain but I can't think of anything bad to say (apart from the fact that the "sauna" would really be more properly characterised as a steam room - minor quibble!). Thanks Grant and Cathy!

Room Tip: All rooms are epic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richserishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaBusselton, Front Office Manager at Aqua Resort Busselton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Hi Richserishes. Thanks for the great review. One of our biggest compliments is when guests like yourselves return time and again. You have obviously made our resort your own and feel quite at home here. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Swanky, minimalist decor. Gorgeous kitchen, lots of glass. Kids loved it. We have 8 yo girl, 5 yo girl and 3 yo boy. Stayed in 21. 2 minute walk to the beach and the beach is clean, white and blue. Fabulous end to summer holidays. Terrible for kids are they aren't catered for in the house. Aside from a cot and high chair if u need it, at least some melamine/plastic crockery would not go amiss. Stingy with dish washing supplies. It is a self-contained accommodation, not a resort. I read all the reviews and was prepared so I had an awesome time. For the $ it is not worth it. I would expect more for $400+ a night but it was a last minute much needed trip so we closed one eye and paid up. Front desk needs to up their game. I didn't even get a receipt and their attitude I wishy-washy. A smile is all I ask after I've forked out more than $1600 for a few nights. It was very nice but I think next time I'll head to Forte Cape View for less than half the price (they were having site works). If all u want is a base to explore the marg river/dunsborough region and will be out most of the time I'd advise you not to bother but if ur looking for r&r within your rented space Aqua will fit the bill.

Room Tip: If taking 2 rm grove units choose from18 upwards. Morning sun disturbs no one but afternoon sun can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaBusselton, Front Office Manager at Aqua Resort Busselton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thanks Farah F for taking the time to write your review. Your suggestion for plastic tableware for smaller kids is a good idea and one we will consider. As your stay was during peak summer period the rates are higher. However we do often have specials and last minute rates, so for the budget conscious, well worth watching out for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Our family has been holidaying annually in Busselton/Margaret River/Pemberton for the last 15 yrs. To all other resorts in Busselton and the Geographe Bay region, pay attention.
The Aqua Resort, Busselton has raised the bar and set the standard. Already looking forward to our next visit. Grant and the team, great work and thank you.

Room Tip: Consider a villa with a private plunge pool, a really good option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GHSE2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaBusselton, Front Office Manager at Aqua Resort Busselton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you GHSE2014 for your praises. We are very proud to have recently been announced in the top 25 Hotels in Australia by TripAdvisor, and were the only Western Australian property in the list. Our high standards are definitely due to our wonderful dedicated staff. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Our trip down south over the Australia Day long weekend will never be forgotten.
Aqua resort gave us the perfect platform for what will go down as one of the best weekends I have had in my life.
The 4 bedroom grove house (number 18) was perfect. It felt like you were the only one on the premise when inside. The gardens are immaculate.
The modern open plan living of the houses were very social friendly and the finishing touches were modern and practical.The pool area was great and the beach was pristine.

We were four young couples (25-30) and we made some noise during the trip with singing and dancing. No one complained. All the guests had respect and so did we.
There were a lot of kids running around but it didn't matter.
If you want to go and enjoy the south with maturity and class this is the place for you.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaBusselton, Front Office Manager at Aqua Resort Busselton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Hi TomNay. Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. And what better place to celebrate the Australia Long Weekend. Our resort was fully booked and at capacity that weekend, and yet, as you pointed out, the houses maintain their privacy. And of course having the beautiful beaches of Geographe Bay at your doorstep is a bonus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Beautiful private feeling house for a large group of 10, only 100m from the beach. Plenty of room, so we were not crowded at night time, and it was really helpful having 3 full bathrooms and a separate toilet when it was time to get ready to go out. Could not fault our stay there. This was my second time at Aqua and I will be back again I'm sure of it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosieC9007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaBusselton, Front Office Manager at Aqua Resort Busselton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Hi RosieC9007. Thanks for your review. It is definitely the extra touches like plenty of space for everyone and ample bathrooms that make the difference between just a holiday and a truly relaxing holiday. We look forward to your 3rd stay and your 4th 5th 6th ..........

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Busselton
15.8 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Busselton
The Sebel Busselton
#3 of 14 in Busselton
659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayview Geographe Resort
Bayview Geographe Resort
#8 of 14 in Busselton
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abbey Beach Resort
Abbey Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Busselton
1,462 reviews
14.8 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Yallingup
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Resort Busselton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Resort Busselton

Address: 605 Bussell Hwy, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Busselton
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Busselton
Price Range: £247 - £404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Aqua Resort Busselton 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aqua Resort Busselton understated luxury accommodation on the shores of the pristine protected waters of Geographe Bay, in the beautiful South West of Western Australia. Nestled in eight and half acres of mature peppermint woodlands and complimented by beautifully landscaped grounds. Aqua Resort Busselton offers self-catering Beach House accommodation with uncompromising privacy and the best of contemporary indoor / outdoor living. Your holiday accommodation on the beach. With a choice from 1 bedroom to 5 bedroom luxury self-contained Houses, able to accommodate the largest of family gatherings to the most intimate of getaways. The Bay Beach Houses have expansive views overlooking Geographe Bay and Cape Naturaliste; while the Grove Beach Houses enjoy garden views with private lawned area. The Aqua Resorts world class Facilities include a beach front waterfall swimming pool, gynasium, sauna, spa and tennis court. Located a leisurely 2 and half hour's drive southwest of Perth, Western Australia through the coastal towns of Mandurah and Bunbury. The Aqua Resort is conveniently situated between the seaside towns of Busselton and Dunsborough; within the internationally acclaimed Margaret River Wine Region and all the Attractions the beautiful South West has to offer. Aqua - capturing the quintessential spirit of the Australian beach house holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Resort Busselton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing