We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aqua Resort Busselton
Nearby Hotels
Baudins of Busselton(Busselton)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Observatory Guest House(Busselton)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abbey Beach Resort(Busselton)(Great Value!)
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Martin Fields Beach Retreat(Busselton)(Great Value!)
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ithaca 1896 Manor(Busselton)(Great Value!)
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Esplanade Hotel(Busselton)
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Busselton Ithaca Motel(Busselton)(Great Value!)
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (509)
Filter reviews
509 results
Traveller rating
413
73
14
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
413
73
14
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolgrove housebedroom housegas firesteam roombig livingoutdoor showerlarge bbqmargaret riveramazing accommodationbeach frontluxury accommodationwe've stayedspent nights heretwo couplesdirect access to the beachself catering
Filter
Updating list...
352 - 357 of 509 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2014

On a first glance I was impressed. We stayed in a 4 bedroom house. The resort looks beautiful. It wasn't until we started to put food in the fridge that we noticed the fridge was warm. We were patient and changed the settings but in the end we realized the fridge was broken. It took several visits to reception before they got maintenance about 4 hours later to find a replacement fridge. The wi-fi was out of service for the entirety of our stay and we were not offered anything to compensate for this. The main bedroom mattress was soo hard that we had to layer extra doonas and blankets over the mattress so we could sleep, otherwise it felt like camping on a bare ground. I have stayed in hundreds of 5 star hotels and this sleep quality was the worst I have ever experienced. The bad quality beds puts me off staying here again, however if sleep quality isn't important to you then this place is pretty nice location wise.

Room Tip: the beds a rock hard but the rooms are nice
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank NinjaTravelator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaBusselton, Manager at Aqua Resort Busselton, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hi Ninja Traveler.

This morning when I read your review I was quite surprised with your comments about our beds.

As a result of your comments I asked all guests that checked out this morning (8 in total) how they found the beds. Not one agreed with your comment and I must say that it is unusual to have complaints about the beds. I guess everyone is different in their requirements and you like a very soft bed. Your comment that it was like camping on bare ground is untrue and misleading.

We have experienced some issues with our fridges. This usually arises when guests over fill the fridge with warm items. It can take a couple of hours to cool these down. On occasions the fridge does malfunction and not cool. If this is the case we have replacement fridges on standby. I agree we should have replaced your fridge a bit sooner than 4 hours.

We have had issues with our fibre optic wireless internet and house phones that are VOIP. It has been frustrating that the system keeps dropping out. Technicians have identified the problem and parts ordered. No one wants this working perfectly more than me.

The Aqua Resort is a beautiful, well kept property. Located right on the shores of Geographe Bay, it is the gateway to the world famous Margaret River region.

Kind Regards

Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Wonderful family get together at the AQUA Resort. 9 members of the family could easily fit in the self contained accommodation. Wonderful facilities, plenty of bathrooms for all of us, great kitchen and facilities and super outdoor area. Gardens, pool and spa areas very clean. Great place for a family get together.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SPBookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaBusselton, Front Office Manager at Aqua Resort Busselton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Hi SPBookie

Thank you for your lovely review. Our houses are designed to be shared, with 4 to 5 bedroom houses and spacious living areas. Whether it's sharing with family or a group of friends. I hope your family took away very fond memories of their stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed at Aqua Resort a few weeks ago. The Resort has a grand entrance and a modern feel to it, but I have to say our group was disappointed there was no on site restaurant or food outlet. Yes we had booked a self catered apartment, but the 10 minute drive into Busselton meant that one of the group had to miss out and be the skipper.

The actual apartment was nicely furnished, but wear and tear has taken its toll on some aspects and we found the shower leaked throughout our stay and mould in the grout is never pleasant to look at! When you pay such high prices, you expect 5 star service and accommodation and the bedding, hard mattresses and various appliances that looked like they had seen better days did not match up to the promise.

We also found the check in process to be a ‘get them in, I need to go home’ affair. No information on the local area or facilities at the resort. Due to this we spent the first hour looking for the onsite café only to be told by other guests that they went for breakfast at the larger resort next door and drove into Busselton for food.

I also found it strange that even thought you pay for your own lap pool, you are ordered not to use it after sunset. With the winter sun setting at around 5.30pm this doesn’t give you long in the evening and we decided to go in anyway. As the resort was pretty empty, we didn’t disturb anyone. Maybe management should consider that the resort is all year round and not just for those who visit in the Summer.

Wifi was patchy to say the least and should really these days be free, especially if the service is no quicker than the internet you get on your phone.

It was an enjoyable experience due to the company, but next time we venture down South for Gourmet Escape, we certainly will be looking for a more rounded resort, rather than the self catered apartments found at Aqua.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank CrispyDuck14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaBusselton, Manager at Aqua Resort Busselton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Hi Crispy duck14.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Our website provides the information of what is on site and we make no representation of having a restaurant. There are 3 restaurants within 5 minutes walking distance.( no need to drive when you can walk)

I disagree with your comment that wear and tear has taken its toll. The accommodation is in very good condition.

I apoligise if there was mould in the grout. I have instructed house keeping to detail all wet areas.

The bedding is of a high standard so I guess you have an unusual sleep comfort. Generally we do not have any complaints about bedding. All our appliances are new and modern so I have to disagree with you on that as well.

We supply a large range of tourism brochures in reception including local maps.

It is a local government requirement that the plunge pools are not used after sunset.

Our WiFi is patchy at present as we await parts from overseas.

Kind regards

Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We came to Busselton for a short break and were looking forward to our stay after reading the reviews. After a busy day sightseeing, we checked in around 3.30 - friendly check-in but didn't give too much information such as the reception will be closing in another 30 minutes............. and in the room it said another 90minutes before reception closed.

The rooms themselves were very clean and spacious although as they were big the heaters struggled to keep the large spaces warm and that was with them all on full and the fire on (which is really hard to light - where was the remote? We have the same at home with a remote and gives out more heat!)

When we arrived we found there wasn't a single coat hanger, the phone didn't work and although we had booked wifi, they didn't give us the password when we checked in. This was when we found reception wasn't open as said in the information book - after we had walked down and seen 'closed' on the door and seen different times there. We called one of the mobile numbers listed on the door (would be nice to have these in information book) and got a not too friendly person on the other end.

Coathangers came shortly after (all 6 of them for 4 of us for several days!) but the phone wasn't even looked at the whole stay. As for internet - don't bother paying the $20 - that and nothing is much the same - a lot of things we couldn't even do or open it was so slow - worse than dial-up, if you can remember that far back!

The bathrooms were great but freezing cold! The wonderful shower in the ensuite wasn't enclosed so when used, rendered that toilet useless to anyone else unless they wanted wet feet.

The place has great potential but it's the little things and definitely the service and extras that make the average stay a 5 star place - such as toilet rolls (not thin and cheap), bathrobes and slippers etc Also strange it called itself a resort - to us, it would have at least a restaurant on -site.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinkDiamondKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaBusselton, Manager at Aqua Resort Busselton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Hi PINK DIAMOND KT.

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We do close reception at 4 pm on Sundays so I assume you arrived on a Sunday. I agree that the Guest Service Directory in the rooms states 5 pm. We are in the process of upgrading these directory's.

All our houses are quite large as depicted on our web site. I disagree that the heating is insufficient. The main living rooms and all bedrooms have reverse cycle air-conditioning and the lounge room a gas heater as well. The gas heaters can be hard to light and we are only to happy to light these for our guests on request. We do not light them prior to guest arrival for safety concerns with small children.

I was disappointed to hear that you had no coat hangers in your house. We do supply coat hangers in all wardrobes but for what ever reason (theft or damage) they were not there. I was pleased that when you requested some they were provided and had you asked for more we would have supplied them.

Our phones operate by voice over internet provider. We have thirteen access points within the resort. We have undertaken a major upgrade of our internet, phones and television. At present we do have two access points down and are awaiting parts to complete the upgrade.

The after hours phone number is in the guest service directory.

In relation to the shower it is a design fault. We have contemplated putting in a shower curtain or glass screen but this would render the area a bit small.

I have raised all your issues with our department heads and collectively we will continue to work hard at making The Aqua Resort the premiere accommodation destination within the region.

Kind regards

Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality and spaciousness of the apartment. Absolutely fantastic. We particularly enjoyed the plunge pool which even in the dead of an inclement winter was still an enjoyable temperature for a swim.

Room Tip: Get one with a plunge pool.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waynetelevision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaBusselton, Front Office Manager at Aqua Resort Busselton, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Hi Waynetelevision

Thank you for your review. Yes the houses with plunge pools are very popular even throughout winter as they are gas heated to 30 degrees. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews