We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newtown House Restaurant - CLOSED

Newtown House Restaurant
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
456 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

My wife and I visited on a Wednesday and we ended up being the only guests for lunch that day. We had intended visiting the day before as we read that they were open on Tuesdays but we found out very late in the piece that that information was incorrect.

The restaurant is in a lovely old house. Lovely napery makes the place inviting. be aware, though, that the restaurant is BYO and doesn't sell alcohol at all.

The food we had - steak for my wife, paella for me - was delicious. There was no steak knife on offer but the steak was cooked rare (as requested) and easy to cut with a regular table knife.

It's not the best restaurant in the area but worth a visit if you have time.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank gfsc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Batam, Indonesia
Level Contributor
315 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Fantastic food & superb service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We had booked with friends for a birthday dinner and in spite that there was a party going on at the outside terrace we received excellent service during the whole dinner. The starters were delicious and served in generous portions The main course was wonderful and the caramel soufflé to die for. They have no wine & liquor for sale however you can BYO and for a small fee glasses & coolers will be supplied and the drinks being pored.

We understood that it was the last night of the present owner/chef so we hope that the recipe's over the years will be presented as nice as before. Try it out.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank terbangbelanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Souffle to die for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

This is the second time we've dined at Newton House and the second time the food has been nothing less than exceptional.

Old homestead transformed into a lovely little restaurant, its BYO but there is a bottleshop 200m away so never really an issue (and saves some money).

The chocolate souffle with salted caramel sauce and lavender Ice cream was just about the most amazing dessert we've ever had in our lives! Must try!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ozelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

7/12/13 six of us dined at Stephen Reagan's restaurant last night, and all enjoyed a superb evening. Service was prompt, courteous and friendly. Some shared an entree, others shared a dessert, and we all had mains. As experienced diners, who've eaten in Michelin starred international restaurants, we were hoping for a superior dining experience, and we were not disappointed. The venison, pork belly, caramel souffle and duck were standouts. The wine waiter professionally decanted our good red wine into an Elegant decanter. Whilst expensive, it is worth it as the user pays for quality ingredients and the experience and time the chefs put into preparation. The diner can save as it is a BYO. The old house that is the restaurant has charm. We will be back, and on a hot night will look forward to dining on the verandah adjacent to the lovely gardens.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busselton, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Always good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

We have been here a few times and the food is always amazing.

Menu used to be a little too repetitive, but lately you have been mixing things up - so we will be coming more often :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mazzaydc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Newtown House Restaurant also viewed

Busselton, Western Australia
 
Busselton, Western Australia
Busselton, Western Australia
 
Busselton, Western Australia
Busselton, Western Australia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing