We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aged Well !!!!”
Review of Abbey Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abbey Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Busselton
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Aged Well !!!!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Our recent stay at Abbey Beach Resort was a pleasant surprise. Even after over 20 years, this resort is still worthy of a 5 star rating. The facilities are up there with the best, having 2 outdoor pools, 1 indoor pool, a sauna, gym, tennis courts and a whole lot more. The fact that this resort is right on the beach adds to its charm. The Atrium Restaurant was great with a comprehensive menu and wine list. The Reflections Cafe was a good option for breakfast or lunch. We had a 1 bedroom apartment and it was not only well set out, clean and very comfortable, it had all the creature comforts you could ask for. Well worth consideration when taking a trip down south. Loved it !!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Mcanza, thank you for your comments on your stay with us at Abbey Beach Resort.

We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the array of facilities that the resort has on offer. As you were staying there is 3 pools, including our indoor pool, and Jacuzzi heated to 29c, as well as tennis and squash courts, a gym and a sauna there is plenty for our guests to do within the resort grounds. With the resort a stone’s throw from the tranquil waters of Geographe Bay, it is also ideal for guests looking to relax on the beach or walk on the boardwalk.

We are pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us including your dining experience at our Reflections Cafe. The Head Chef at the resort takes great pride in offering our guests a seasonal menu with many dishes featuring locally produced items, so that we are able to provide our guests a taste of what the South West has to offer.

We are also pleased to hear your comments regarding the cleanliness of the resort. As a resort we pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms and believe providing our guests with a daily service sets us apart from other resorts in the region.

Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Kind Regards

Jordan Palk
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    429
    197
    82
    60
See reviews for
407
610
31
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
perth western australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My Partner and i stayed recently for the long weekend from Perth city and were pleasantly surprised with the facilities and great location was Nice and peaceful also Having the beach in a walking distance also enjoyed a dip in the heated indoor swimming pool not to mention our room spa bath went down a treat .as to we had a complimentary upgrade to a 2. bdrm appartment on our stay we would highly recommeend to our family and freinds.And to anyone who participates in the region winetours.we definitly will stay here next time in bussellton.(if you dont like hard pillows i recommend you bring your own .lol.)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saltstar2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear saltstar2009. Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us at Abbey Beach Resort. We are glad you enjoyed our well-proportioned rooms.

We believe our spacious rooms give our guests the ideal environment to be able to relax & enjoy the surrounds of the resort. As a resort we do our utmost to provide our guests with the highest level of customer experience, so it is pleasing to hear that you appreciated your upgrade on arrival.

We are pleased to hear that you loved the resort’s ultimate beachfront location. Being just a stone’s throw from the tranquil waters of Geographe Bay makes us ideal for guests looking to relax on the beach or walk on the boardwalk.

We are delighted to hear that you were able to utilise the facilities that the resort has to offer, including the heated indoor pool (for when it is too cold to swim in the ocean), the gym, the tennis courts and squash court.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Kind Regards

Jordan Palk
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalyellup, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Excellent facility. Have stayed in both the rooms and the apartments. Both good value and clean.
The apartment was ideal for sharing with friends and the two bathrooms make them ideal for sharing. Queen beds were supplied in each bedroom. Good kitchen are made it ideal to stay in and eat if we wanted to.
Abbey Beach Resort is handy to all the great wineries and restaurants in the area.
Walking along the beach at the back of the resort, even when it was cold, wet and windy was refreshing.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms/apartments overlooking the pond are just as nice as those overlooking the ocean and cheape...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pia1355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Pia1355. Thank you for your comments on your stay with us at Abbey Beach Resort.

We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the array of facilities that the resort has on offer. Boasting 3 pools including our indoor pool and Jacuzzi heated to 29c, as well as tennis and squash courts, a gym and a sauna there is plenty for our guests to do within the resort grounds. With the resort a stone’s throw from the tranquil waters of Geographe Bay, it is also ideal for guests looking to relax on the beach.

We are pleased to hear that you found the resort to be very clean. One of the things we pride ourselves on at Abbey Beach Resort is offering our guests a daily service and is something we believe sets us apart from other resorts in the region. In offering this service we are able to maintain the cleanliness of the resort to the standard that our guests expect.

It is pleasing to read from your comments that you enjoyed the spacious and well-proportioned rooms at the resort. All of our Lakeside & Beachfront Apartments come with a fully equipped kitchen with all the latest amenities and laundry facilities in the Apartment. The Apartment also has its own private spa in the en-suite, large balcony with views across the resort and parking space adjacent to the Apartment.

As a resort we do our utmost to provide our guests with the highest standard of customer service throughout their stay, so it is very pleasing to read from your comments that you found or staff to be courteous and friendly.

Thank you once again for your glowing review of your stay and we very much look forward welcoming you back to Abbey Beach again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Jordan Palk
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Booking the room online was easy enough, even if a little painful at $569 per night. The entrance and large size gives you the impression of a grand breath taking hotel, but sadly it is not. Check in procedure was quick and we had a very friendly staff member. Our room was large with all the amenities you would expect which included; full kitchen, bathrooms in all bedrooms and plasma TV in the lounge room. The master bedroom would have been fantastic if it had a split system and a TV. The general decor and feel of the room is very 1980's, with the corded style remote on the aircon unit. There is a choice of three pools during the summer months and one indoor pool during winter. The outdoor BBQ's are the standard burn everything type, so don't bring any stunning produce here to cook. The Atrium restaurant was a true disappointment with disgracefully overpriced dishes, which included: $26 burger, $7.50 for bread, and many many more. When you can get some of the best burgers in the state at Rockpool bar and grill and merrywell in Perth, it mystifies me that busselton can come even close to price. The restaurant was touted as fine dining by the concierge staff but was far from fine dining (Except in price). Paper napkins and Lino style placemats should not be present at this price point. In stark contrast we dined at Leeuwin estate restaurant which is leagues above in decor, location and everything in between.
All in all an average stay but could be really fantastic with a renovation and update of the Atrium menu.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank perthaustins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear perthaustins , thank you for your comments on your stay with us at Abbey Beach Resort.

We are delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy the spacious Apartments that the resort has on offer. Our aim as a resort is to provide our guests with a relaxing environment in which to enjoy their holidays. All of our Lakeside & Beachfront Apartments are fully equipped with a wide range of amenities, such as laundry facilities and modern kitchen appliances. All of our rooms come equipped with their own private spa bath and private balcony with views overlooking the resort grounds. Our Apartments also come with their own private car parking bay adjacent to the Apartment so our guests can come and go as they please and enjoy all that the region has to offer.

I am sad to hear that you did not enjoy the BBQ facilities at the resort, as one of the most common comments we hear from our guest that is it nice that we have so many BBQ’s available for our guests.

Thank you for your comments regarding the décor of the apartments and resort. In 2013 we started a long term refurbishment plan of the resort starting with refurbishing all of our resort accommodation. We will be continuing with the refurbishments throughout 2014 with a refurbishment and upgrade of the decor is on the agenda. All our air conditioners have infa red remote controls for operating the ac’s, which are usually found on the wall or on the coffee table.

With Abbey Beach being a stone’s throw from the resort it is always great to hear that you were able to enjoy the beautiful Geographe Bay while you were with us. Even though the water was too cold for a swim, the sunset over the Bay is very popular with our guests.

Thank you for your comments regarding the food & beverage pricing at the resort. As a resort we undertake a great amount of market research & believe that our prices are if not comparable, competitive with other resorts & restaurants in the region especially as we look to provide & buy local produce as to give our guests the best experience of what the South West has to offer. This being said, I certainly will forward your comments to our Head Chef & to resort management. The price you comment you paid suggests you stayed at Peak time when both the Resort Restaurants are open however what you describe as eating in the Café menu which operates from the Brasserie Restaurant area during the week when the Brasserie Restaurant is closed, meaning you ate from the Café menu, not fine dining and you did not pay $569.00 per night for your stay?

Once again we are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not up to the standard that you had expected and we hope that we can welcome you if not back to the resort to the region in the near future.

Kind Regards

Jordan Palk
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We needed a getaway for a couples weekend and could not have found a better location. The spa room was warm, inviting and beautifully appointed. The bar selection could not want for what we required. Desk staff were efficient and friendly on check in and out that added to the relaxing nature of the resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sports_Traveller_198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Sports_Traveller_198, thank you for your comments on your stay with us at Abbey Beach Resort. We are pleased to hear that you had such a pleasurable stay with us; our ultimate beachfront location & being at the gateway to the Margaret River wine region makes us ideal for people looking to explore the South West.

It is also very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed the many facilities that the resort has on offer. Whether it is our 3 pools including our heated indoor pool, children’s playground or tennis courts and bike hire facility we ensure that our guests never get bored!

It is wonderful to hear that you were able to enjoy our bars, either the John Abbey Bar were you can watch the game and play a game of pool or the Atrium Lounge where you can sit and relax.
I am delighted to hear that you found the staff at the resort to hospitable and friendly. I will certainly be passing your comments onto the relevant heads of department and the staff. It is such comments as yours that make us continually strive to provide our guests with the highest level of customer service.

Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Kind Regards

Jordan Palk
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Myself, Husband & 8 month old daughter checked into this hotel at 2pm today for a 2 night stay & left 4 hours after check in! This place is the furthest thing away from luxury you could possibily find! It's states on it's website that they have luxury rooms & apartments!! Huge huge let down. False advertisement to the core! Indoor pool an absolute joke with no changing facilities! When we asked one of the staff where do we dry ourselves & our daughter & get changed in & out of our swimgear, she pointed to the disabled bathroom! This bathroom was down a long cold corridor! Needless to say we did not get into the pool for fear of our baby catching a chill or a disease from the poor hygiene! The one bedroom apartment had a stench of old smelly carpet & furniture, we could not put our baby on the floor! The kitchen area had holes in the awful cheap Lino. Chunks taken out of the cupboard skirting! Scuffs & filth everywhere on the walls. The travel cot provided was also dirty. Bed hard as a rock! Room was dark, old, smelly, depressing & so uncomfortable. When we asked the manager for a refund for the 2nd night as we were leaving because of the terrible conditions, We could not let our daughter spend another second here. She point blank refused! We were going to swallow the first night even though we only spent 4 hours at the hotel but to refuse us the 2nd night as we booked through a travel agent is criminal. we will be taking this further. Our wedding anniversary & family treat has been ruined. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eire12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Eire12345678,

It is disappointing to read your comments which in the most part are factually incorrect. The Resort has also responded to an email you sent to the Manager.
The indoor pool does indeed have changing facilities located near the Sauna and Gym area, where there is also a disabled toilet. Having spoken to the staff member in question they firmly believe they advised you where the changing area was for the indoor pool and also advised it was next to the disabled toilet. The changing area from the indoor pool is some 10 – 12 metres, under 3 floors of rooms and concrete so your comment of it being a long cold corridor is again incorrect.
Your comment regarding poor hygiene is factually incorrect. The indoor pool and spa along with the 2 outdoor pools ( when open in season) are checked 3 times a day with levels of chemicals recorded in a log book, that is checked by Shire / City Health inspectors monthly. Water is taken from these individual pools and spa and tested by the health department. If there were any unacceptable practises or levels of hygiene then the health authorities would deal with that in an appropriate manner!
I personally checked your unit following your ‘verbal abuse’ of the front desk and Duty Manager the following day, along with the Heads of Departments od Housekeeping and Maintenance and could not find anything other than a small ‘heel’ hole in the cork flooring( not cheap lino) in the kitchen and a couple of bag or scuff marks on the skirting boards, all these have been fixed and cleaned, hardly what anyone could call filthy, certainly there are no marks on the walls?
I also examined the porta cot, and again your comments are factually incorrect.
Your comment about the bed surprises me when you did not sleep the night and in fact only spent 4 hours at the Resort? The beds are a commercial Hotel bed and may not suit some guests however if there was a specific need then contacting Front Desk, would have had both Maintenance and Housekeeping attend to sort out the problem.
The comments regarding the room are again factually incorrect. All rooms across the Resort have a sliding door that leads to a balcony and opens to natural light.
Your comments regarding the conversation with the Duty Manager are again incorrect. The Resort has numerous cancellation policies in place year round and whilst there are different cancellation policies for different times of the year it makes no difference if a guest books through a travel agent or 3rd party operator or not, the cancellation policy for that travel agent or 3rd party is what you accept when making the booking.
It is disappointing you chose to write factually incorrect statements about the Resort, and even more disappointing to see that Trip Advisor will allow factually incorrect statements to be published.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel is located in a great spot in Busselton. It was disappointing to arrive and find that although the hotel was nowhere near full we were given a room with a view of the car park! I can understand this if you drive in by chance and the hotel is near capacity. However, I find it hard to understand when you book 6 months in advance and the hotel is practically empty the night you are there.

If we had been staying longer than one night I would have asked if another room was possible but didn't think it was worthwhile for a short stay. The kitchenette floor was sticky under foot and the shower leaked uncontrollably out through the bathroom to the kitchen! All in all this place was a bit disappointing for a quick stay down in the Margaret River area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of something other than the car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdelaney8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear rdelaney8, thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at Abbey Beach Resort.

We are sorry to hear that you were left disappointed with your room location. As a resort we do our utmost to offer our guests their room location preferences and would have been more than happy to have moved you to a more preferable location had we been made aware of your disappointment.

We are also disappointed to hear that the standard of accommodation that we offer our guests was not to the standard that you had expected. All of our apartments are cleaned, serviced and inspected on a daily basis, and one of the features that we believe sets us apart from other resorts in the region is offering our guests a daily service. One of the most frequent comments we receive from our guests is that the cleanliness of the resort is second to none, so we are baffled to hear that your kitchenette floor was sticky and the shower was leaking. As we have full time housekeeping and maintenance departments, had you reported the issues at the time we would have been able to resolve them.

Once again we are disappointed to hear that your stay with us was not up to the standard you had expected and we hope we can welcome you if not to the resort but to the region again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Jordan Palk
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Busselton
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Busselton
The Sebel Busselton
#3 of 14 in Busselton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayview Geographe Resort
Bayview Geographe Resort
#8 of 14 in Busselton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
16.0 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
2.0 mi away
Amalfi Resort
Amalfi Resort
#2 of 14 in Busselton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aqua Resort Busselton
Aqua Resort Busselton
#1 of 14 in Busselton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Beach Resort

Property: Abbey Beach Resort
Address: Abbey Beach Resort 595 Bussell Hwy, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Busselton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Busselton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Busselton
#3 Family Hotel in Busselton
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Busselton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Busselton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Abbey Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey Beach Resort sits on the beautiful Geographe Bay beachfront, set amidst four hectares of landscaped gardens and lakes, and just two and a half hours drive from Perth. The resort comprises 185 luxury units onsite with one, two and three bedroom apartments, plus studio suites. All apartments and studios are serviced daily and feature a private double spa, a bathroom with each bedroom, reverse cycle air-conditioning, Foxtel, private balcony and views over the lake/ocean/swimming pool, gardens, tennis courts and children's playground. Superb resort facilities include a complimentary 100MB per 24 hours per person of Wi-Fi throughout the resort, restaurant, cafe, two bars, a 25 metre indoor heated swimming pool and spa, outdoor pools surrounded by lovely gardens and shaded with gazebos and umbrellas, squash court, full size and half court tennis, gymnasium and sauna. Abbey Beach Resort has the largest and most versatile function centre, with conference and corporate facilities, in the south west. Meeting rooms and boardrooms of varying sizes, as well as a ballroom and atrium, are available for workshops, dinners, exhibitions, trade displays, events, conferences and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abbey Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Beach Hotel Busselton
Abbey Beach Busselton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing