We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant & relaxing stay”
Review of Abbey Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abbey Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Busselton
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant & relaxing stay”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Travelled with my partner. We booked well in advance, 2nights in a Studio Spa suite with "Weekend Interlude package", and closer to the date was offered an upgrade to 2bedroom Beach Front apartment for a small fee.

The 2 bedroom apartment was well worth it. It was huge and conveniently had 2 bathrooms. Kitchen was spacious and well appointed, with quality appliances and accessories (though we chose not to cook). We were on the 2nd floor, so had a view of the tennis courts/garden, behind which we could see the ocean. TV had foxtel channels, however image was grainy, whereas free-to-air channels were very clear. Audio system worked a treat. wifi was not available in rooms - I hope it becomes available in future.

It got cold in the evening, so the reverse cycle air-conditioner came in handy. I wish though the toilets had a rug, as the tiles were cold in the morning. No problems getting to sleep, pillows were comfy.

As we only stayed for a short time, I didn't get the opportunity to try the restaurant or swim in the pool. We did however play a few sets of tennis each day, racquets & balls provided by the resort, and it was great. Perhaps the court lines could use some repainting, as they were somewhat faded.

Check-in was a breeze, and check-out was even breezier (we used express checkout) which was excellent.

Overall the stay was great and relaxing amidst beautifully kept gardens, and victorian heritage style sandstone architecture. Being 5-10min drive into Busselton town centre, and half hour away from Margaret river - it made for a great base for doing day trips. I would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Beachfront apartments are close to the beach. 2 bedroom apartments are very spacious. No elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marsbars83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear marsbars83, thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay at Abbey Beach Resort.

As a resort we do our utmost to provide our guests with the highest standard of customer service throughout their stay, so I am happy to read that your check-in was efficient and the staff were friendly, therefore we are very happy that you were able to enjoy the upgrade offers we sometimes have available. We will certainly pass your feedback onto the relevant Heads of Department as such feedback is invaluable to us when training staff to reach the level of customer service that our guests expect.

With the regards to the issues you encountered with the television reception during your stay. Having assessed a number of guest feedback forms since your departure, I have noted that it seemed to be an issue resort wide & I have had our maintenance department look into the aerials at the resort. They could not find any fault, so we believe it to have been a problem with the main television tower in Vasse & have gone ahead and notified Foxtel of the issue. I am sorry to hear that this disrupted your stay.

Thank you for your comments with regards to the rug in the toilet and the repainting of the lines, I have passed these onto the management team, which will use them to decide on the next items which need to be upgraded and refurbished in the resort.

With regards the WIFI, as a resort we understand the need for resort wide WIFI and will be introducing it in the coming months. We have been in final negotiations with a service provider to provide our guests with resort wide WFI & wired internet to all rooms. We had been hoping to have this in place for our busy season as well as all preliminary wiring but due to the size & logistics of the resort this has been delayed by Telstra due to the placement of fibre optics; although we are pushing to have this in place in the coming months.

We are pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy our Beachfront Apartments with stunning panoramic views over Geographe Bay. Our spacious Apartments have all the latest amenities and a fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities for guests staying for a longer period. We also provide a car parking bay with the Apartment so guests can come and go and enjoy all that the region has to offer. As you have mentioned our Beachfront and Lakeside Apartments do not have lift access to the first and second floors, but one of our friendly staff would have been more than happy to have assisted you with getting your luggage to the room.

Thank you once again for your comments and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the resort again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Jordan Palk
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    429
    197
    82
    60
See reviews for
407
610
31
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Recently stayed five nights midweek. Fantastic break. We have stayed regularly over many years and Abbey Beach Resort has never disappointed us. Top drawer for cleanliness and facilities. The location is excellent for enjoying the region's offerings.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pools or lake is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carole212014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Carole212014 Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us at Abbey Beach Resort. As a resort we do our utmost to provide our guests with the highest level of customer service and experience and it is great to hear that we were able to achieve this during your stay.

We are delighted to hear that you appreciated the location of the resort. Being a short drive from Busselton and Dunsborough and at the gateway to the Margaret River wine region means we are ideal for guests looking to explore all that the region has to offer.

One of the things that we pride ourselves on at the resort is offering our guests a daily service in the belief that it enables us to make sure that the resort is cleaned and maintained to the standard that our guests expect of a resort such as Abbey Beach. Our maintenance staff also works tirelessly to ensure that our beautiful grounds are always in bloom for our guests.

Thank you once again for your comments and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Kind Regards

Jordan Palk
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

we have stayed here before many times, after trying somewhere new is dunsborough we check out of that place straight away and called abbey beach and they had a room free for us,

it was our honeymoon stay so booked a spa room, when we got to check in we found out we got an upgrade to a apartment room number 27 which was great and then once checked in we got welcoming choc's and drink which was a nice surprise,
the Spa worked great and the room was great, we were at the back of the complex so had a quick easy walk to the beach and had a great view in the morning.
after staying at this resort 5-6 times with family/friends and as couple, we will deferentially stay here again and again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukenAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear LukenAsh. Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us at Abbey Beach Resort.

We are delighted to hear that you appreciated the resort’s location to the beach. It certainly compliments the facilities that the resort has on offer perfectly. As a resort we do our utmost to provide our guests with the highest standard of customer service throughout their stay, so it is very pleasing to read from your comments that you found or staff to be very accommodating, it is also pleasing to hear that you appreciated your upgrade, sparkling wine and gourmet chocolate on arrival.

We are glad you enjoyed our spacious and well-proportioned rooms, our Two Bedroom Beach Front Apartment all of large master suites with queen beds, lounge with private balcony, full kitchen and we are very proud that every room has its own private double corner spa. We believe our spacious rooms give our guests the ideal environment to be able to relax & enjoy the surrounds of the resort.

Thank you once again for your comments and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Kind Regards

Jordan Palk
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Our recent stay at Abbey Beach Resort was a pleasant surprise. Even after over 20 years, this resort is still worthy of a 5 star rating. The facilities are up there with the best, having 2 outdoor pools, 1 indoor pool, a sauna, gym, tennis courts and a whole lot more. The fact that this resort is right on the beach adds to its charm. The Atrium Restaurant was great with a comprehensive menu and wine list. The Reflections Cafe was a good option for breakfast or lunch. We had a 1 bedroom apartment and it was not only well set out, clean and very comfortable, it had all the creature comforts you could ask for. Well worth consideration when taking a trip down south. Loved it !!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Mcanza, thank you for your comments on your stay with us at Abbey Beach Resort.

We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the array of facilities that the resort has on offer. As you were staying there is 3 pools, including our indoor pool, and Jacuzzi heated to 29c, as well as tennis and squash courts, a gym and a sauna there is plenty for our guests to do within the resort grounds. With the resort a stone’s throw from the tranquil waters of Geographe Bay, it is also ideal for guests looking to relax on the beach or walk on the boardwalk.

We are pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us including your dining experience at our Reflections Cafe. The Head Chef at the resort takes great pride in offering our guests a seasonal menu with many dishes featuring locally produced items, so that we are able to provide our guests a taste of what the South West has to offer.

We are also pleased to hear your comments regarding the cleanliness of the resort. As a resort we pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms and believe providing our guests with a daily service sets us apart from other resorts in the region.

Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Kind Regards

Jordan Palk
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth western australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My Partner and i stayed recently for the long weekend from Perth city and were pleasantly surprised with the facilities and great location was Nice and peaceful also Having the beach in a walking distance also enjoyed a dip in the heated indoor swimming pool not to mention our room spa bath went down a treat .as to we had a complimentary upgrade to a 2. bdrm appartment on our stay we would highly recommeend to our family and freinds.And to anyone who participates in the region winetours.we definitly will stay here next time in bussellton.(if you dont like hard pillows i recommend you bring your own .lol.)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saltstar2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear saltstar2009. Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us at Abbey Beach Resort. We are glad you enjoyed our well-proportioned rooms.

We believe our spacious rooms give our guests the ideal environment to be able to relax & enjoy the surrounds of the resort. As a resort we do our utmost to provide our guests with the highest level of customer experience, so it is pleasing to hear that you appreciated your upgrade on arrival.

We are pleased to hear that you loved the resort’s ultimate beachfront location. Being just a stone’s throw from the tranquil waters of Geographe Bay makes us ideal for guests looking to relax on the beach or walk on the boardwalk.

We are delighted to hear that you were able to utilise the facilities that the resort has to offer, including the heated indoor pool (for when it is too cold to swim in the ocean), the gym, the tennis courts and squash court.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Kind Regards

Jordan Palk
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalyellup, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Excellent facility. Have stayed in both the rooms and the apartments. Both good value and clean.
The apartment was ideal for sharing with friends and the two bathrooms make them ideal for sharing. Queen beds were supplied in each bedroom. Good kitchen are made it ideal to stay in and eat if we wanted to.
Abbey Beach Resort is handy to all the great wineries and restaurants in the area.
Walking along the beach at the back of the resort, even when it was cold, wet and windy was refreshing.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms/apartments overlooking the pond are just as nice as those overlooking the ocean and cheape...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pia1355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Pia1355. Thank you for your comments on your stay with us at Abbey Beach Resort.

We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the array of facilities that the resort has on offer. Boasting 3 pools including our indoor pool and Jacuzzi heated to 29c, as well as tennis and squash courts, a gym and a sauna there is plenty for our guests to do within the resort grounds. With the resort a stone’s throw from the tranquil waters of Geographe Bay, it is also ideal for guests looking to relax on the beach.

We are pleased to hear that you found the resort to be very clean. One of the things we pride ourselves on at Abbey Beach Resort is offering our guests a daily service and is something we believe sets us apart from other resorts in the region. In offering this service we are able to maintain the cleanliness of the resort to the standard that our guests expect.

It is pleasing to read from your comments that you enjoyed the spacious and well-proportioned rooms at the resort. All of our Lakeside & Beachfront Apartments come with a fully equipped kitchen with all the latest amenities and laundry facilities in the Apartment. The Apartment also has its own private spa in the en-suite, large balcony with views across the resort and parking space adjacent to the Apartment.

As a resort we do our utmost to provide our guests with the highest standard of customer service throughout their stay, so it is very pleasing to read from your comments that you found or staff to be courteous and friendly.

Thank you once again for your glowing review of your stay and we very much look forward welcoming you back to Abbey Beach again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Jordan Palk
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Booking the room online was easy enough, even if a little painful at $569 per night. The entrance and large size gives you the impression of a grand breath taking hotel, but sadly it is not. Check in procedure was quick and we had a very friendly staff member. Our room was large with all the amenities you would expect which included; full kitchen, bathrooms in all bedrooms and plasma TV in the lounge room. The master bedroom would have been fantastic if it had a split system and a TV. The general decor and feel of the room is very 1980's, with the corded style remote on the aircon unit. There is a choice of three pools during the summer months and one indoor pool during winter. The outdoor BBQ's are the standard burn everything type, so don't bring any stunning produce here to cook. The Atrium restaurant was a true disappointment with disgracefully overpriced dishes, which included: $26 burger, $7.50 for bread, and many many more. When you can get some of the best burgers in the state at Rockpool bar and grill and merrywell in Perth, it mystifies me that busselton can come even close to price. The restaurant was touted as fine dining by the concierge staff but was far from fine dining (Except in price). Paper napkins and Lino style placemats should not be present at this price point. In stark contrast we dined at Leeuwin estate restaurant which is leagues above in decor, location and everything in between.
All in all an average stay but could be really fantastic with a renovation and update of the Atrium menu.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank perthaustins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan P, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear perthaustins , thank you for your comments on your stay with us at Abbey Beach Resort.

We are delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy the spacious Apartments that the resort has on offer. Our aim as a resort is to provide our guests with a relaxing environment in which to enjoy their holidays. All of our Lakeside & Beachfront Apartments are fully equipped with a wide range of amenities, such as laundry facilities and modern kitchen appliances. All of our rooms come equipped with their own private spa bath and private balcony with views overlooking the resort grounds. Our Apartments also come with their own private car parking bay adjacent to the Apartment so our guests can come and go as they please and enjoy all that the region has to offer.

I am sad to hear that you did not enjoy the BBQ facilities at the resort, as one of the most common comments we hear from our guest that is it nice that we have so many BBQ’s available for our guests.

Thank you for your comments regarding the décor of the apartments and resort. In 2013 we started a long term refurbishment plan of the resort starting with refurbishing all of our resort accommodation. We will be continuing with the refurbishments throughout 2014 with a refurbishment and upgrade of the decor is on the agenda. All our air conditioners have infa red remote controls for operating the ac’s, which are usually found on the wall or on the coffee table.

With Abbey Beach being a stone’s throw from the resort it is always great to hear that you were able to enjoy the beautiful Geographe Bay while you were with us. Even though the water was too cold for a swim, the sunset over the Bay is very popular with our guests.

Thank you for your comments regarding the food & beverage pricing at the resort. As a resort we undertake a great amount of market research & believe that our prices are if not comparable, competitive with other resorts & restaurants in the region especially as we look to provide & buy local produce as to give our guests the best experience of what the South West has to offer. This being said, I certainly will forward your comments to our Head Chef & to resort management. The price you comment you paid suggests you stayed at Peak time when both the Resort Restaurants are open however what you describe as eating in the Café menu which operates from the Brasserie Restaurant area during the week when the Brasserie Restaurant is closed, meaning you ate from the Café menu, not fine dining and you did not pay $569.00 per night for your stay?

Once again we are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not up to the standard that you had expected and we hope that we can welcome you if not back to the resort to the region in the near future.

Kind Regards

Jordan Palk
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Busselton
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Busselton
The Sebel Busselton
#3 of 14 in Busselton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayview Geographe Resort
Bayview Geographe Resort
#8 of 14 in Busselton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
16.0 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
2.0 mi away
Amalfi Resort
Amalfi Resort
#2 of 14 in Busselton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aqua Resort Busselton
Aqua Resort Busselton
#1 of 14 in Busselton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Beach Resort

Property: Abbey Beach Resort
Address: Abbey Beach Resort 595 Bussell Hwy, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Busselton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Busselton
#3 Family Hotel in Busselton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Busselton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Busselton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Busselton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Abbey Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey Beach Resort sits on the beautiful Geographe Bay beachfront, set amidst four hectares of landscaped gardens and lakes, and just two and a half hours drive from Perth. The resort comprises 185 luxury units onsite with one, two and three bedroom apartments, plus studio suites. All apartments and studios are serviced daily and feature a private double spa, a bathroom with each bedroom, reverse cycle air-conditioning, Foxtel, private balcony and views over the lake/ocean/swimming pool, gardens, tennis courts and children's playground. Superb resort facilities include a complimentary 100MB per 24 hours per person of Wi-Fi throughout the resort, restaurant, cafe, two bars, a 25 metre indoor heated swimming pool and spa, outdoor pools surrounded by lovely gardens and shaded with gazebos and umbrellas, squash court, full size and half court tennis, gymnasium and sauna. Abbey Beach Resort has the largest and most versatile function centre, with conference and corporate facilities, in the south west. Meeting rooms and boardrooms of varying sizes, as well as a ballroom and atrium, are available for workshops, dinners, exhibitions, trade displays, events, conferences and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abbey Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Beach Hotel Busselton
Abbey Beach Busselton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing