We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do NOT Book a Room Direct with this Hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pagoda Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Como
Perth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Do NOT Book a Room Direct with this Hotel!!”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

My husband and I decided to enjoy Valentine's Day at the Pagoda Restaurant this year, so we booked two weeks in advance and were required to pay for the ENTIRE amount of our meal ($210.00) before the booking would be accepted. This transaction completed, I enquired about booking a room for the night under the $139.00 "Spa & Bubbles" Deal they had advertised on their website. I was advised that this special expired at the end of January and regardless of the money I had just forked out at their restaurant, would still be required to pay the full rack rate of $285.00 if we wanted a room for the night. They would not move on this rate.

I hung up in disgust without making a booking ... spent the next 15 minutes on Google ... and booked the EXACT same room at the exact same hotel through otel.com for AU$188.00! Customer service offered by the booking staff at this hotel leaves a LOT to be desired.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzzigirlPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    98
    68
    22
    13
See reviews for
39
96
9
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

The Esplanade River Suites are looking a bit tired, but overall the accommodation is reasonable. Unfortunately the service needs to be improved. After seeing a broken bottle next to the lobby car park entrance, it took 5 requests & for me to take the concierge to the location before all of the glass was removed. Room service consistently got our orders wrong. After informing them of our anaphylactic son's nut allergy, we received the wrong pasta complete with pine nuts. One mouthful could have been lethal for our son. Behind the restaurant bar the poor barman reminded me of Manuel from Fawtly Towers. He got orders confused, had to contend with a dodgy postmix machine & placed a $99 tip on a customer's account (without their approval)!
This place is ok if you need a bed, but don't expect too much else.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mallyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights on an excellent deal. Very comfortable large room and bathroom. Great facilities, a microwave and small fridge as well as bar fridge. Big bathroom, including washing machine. Beautiful view to the river and no traffic noise. Breakfast and a bottle of sparkling included, so was great value. Location was good for us as walking distance to friends, cafés and nice walks by the river. The staff were also helpful. All good, nothing to complain about.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chexz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed here for one night in late November whilst in Perth - arrived late evening off a flight from UK by car. Be warned ! This place is not easy to find in the dark when you are tired & jetlagged. The hotel is situated right by the Freeway to Freemantle & the River Swann but you need to exit the Freeway a fair way higher up. Service was excellent at front desk and the rooms fine with a large bathroom ( but no shower curtain !). Public areas look a bit tired but clean. Room was clean & quiet to say we overlooked the Freeway. Small kitchenette ( microwave, kettle & toaster). There is a handy footbridge over the Freeway to the excellent cycle track - great for running by the river. On street parking (free) just outside the hotel. To be honest we were so tired we could have slept on a park bench but this was a comfortable stay with good customer service & decent value (booked via Booking.com).

Room Tip: Try to get a room not facing the Freeway - noise want a problem but could be if you sleep with the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debseleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights. The appartments are spacious and clean, the location is ok as the bus is 5 Min walk and about 10 min bus ride. The price is justified. Very close is a small suburb shopping area where you get all you need

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goeast66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth, australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Had a works Christmas function, everything sounded great on paper what was on offer, the food was dismal, not enough, had to keep asking for refills (buffet), staff were nice but clueless. Paid good money for a very mediocre facility. Would not use again!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aljahael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Como hotels

Perth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We felt incredibly welcomed by the staff at the esplanade. Such a blessing. The rooms are comfortable and very clean. But what makes it are the staff, such a pleasure staying somewhere that welcomes you and nothing is any trouble.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Como
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#11 of 64 in Perth
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Metro Hotel Perth
#1 of 3 in South Perth
476 reviews
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#12 of 64 in Perth
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pagoda Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pagoda Resort & Spa

Property: Pagoda Resort & Spa
Address: 112 Melville Pde, Como, Western Australia 6152, Australia (Formerly Esplanade River Suites)
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pagoda Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pagoda Resort & Spa is superbly nestled on the banks of Perth's spectacular Swan River just 5 minutes to the CBD in South Perth, with easy access to freeways North and South, Perth Zoo and local restaurants and cafes. Offering a choice of Superior and Deluxe Rooms, One and Two Bedroom Apartments and Suites,all with spa baths and some with river, pool or parkland views. With extensive facilites available onsite including heated outdoor pool, fitness centre, conference and business facilities, secure car parking or free street parking and Waterwall Restaurant & Bar, Pagoda Resort & Spa is the perfect choice for the business or leisure traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pagoda Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade River Hotel Como
Broadwater Pagoda Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing