We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay at Silver Sands Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Silver Sands Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Great Stay at Silver Sands Resort”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We had a week at Silver Sands Resort, arriving 26 July. I stayed there with my husband. Prior to this we had a rather windy and sometimes wet holiday further south. We received a great welcome from the Receptionist - sorry I don't know her name, but she had not long moved to Mandurah with her family from Scotland. She was always very helpful every time we required information. We especially enjoyed the outings planned by the management as we had been travelling for three weeks alone, so it was good to interact with some new company that were there for the week. The unit had everything we needed. The outdoor pool was being refurbished, but that wasn't a problem for us and I'm sure it will be enjoyed my many when the weather gets warmer. The unit was very spacious and the kitchen had more than we needed for a couple, but would be ideal for families. A few days after we checked out I realised that I had left the cord to my laptop at the unit. I contacted the resort and they forwarded it on to me, nicely packed. I really appreciated this quick response.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room which we enjoyed. It was nice and bright. The units are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sh0na55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay at our Resort and we are thrilled that you had such an enjoyable time. We will advise Paula, our Scottish Receptionist , of your kind words and we look forward to you coming to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    60
    17
    7
    1
See reviews for
65
40
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Family of 4 adults and one toddler for nearly 2 weeks. Units clean and roomy. Indoor pool, gardens and BBQ area all great. Outdoor pool huge but empty due to renovations during our stay. Disappointed that no oven or even a convection / microwave to cook food. Just a small simple microwave and some hotplates. Restricted the food we could eat as we prefer home cooked meals mostly due to dietary restrictions. Tried using the "Crisp" tray in the microwave but ended up soggy. Beds were very hard especially the 2 singles in the second bedroom. BBQ area good but no protection from the wind. Playground area very good but not much else for toddlers ie no grassy flat area and could not let him out the unit without supervision due to a lot of steps around the area. Putt putt a bit cramped but very good. Squash good also. Treadmill in games room very slippery on the sides if doing interval training and very squeaky. No other fitness equipment. Disappointed with food at the Greyhound night. Barely warm and limited. Ran out of a lot of choices. IGA supermarket across the road along with several takeaway food places. Only given enough detergent for 2 washes of clothes and dishes so will need to buy/bring your own supplies if staying for a whole week.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you for your review of your time at our Resort.
We take this opportunity to remind all travellers that it is always worth speaking to our reception staff to see if we can assist with any special requirements during your stay. For example - the resort has a number of benchtop convection ovens available for use by our guests.
We have not had a gym on site for a number of years and the 2 treadmills are provided for those just wanting a simple workout. We do have an number of good gyms in the area who offer casual sessions.
Unfortunately as the Greyhounds restaurant is a 3rd party venue we are unable to rectify this issue ourselves but we have made them aware of your review.
As with most Timeshare Resorts we offer our guests a "start pack" of supplies to assist them until they do their shopping. Additional items can be purchased from Reception during your stay also.
We also remind travellers that information regarding their accommodation and what is provided/on site can usually be found on the Hotel/Resort website and will assist you in making decisions on your accommodation.
We wish you happy travels in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Can only check in at 4pm but thankfully the staff allow us to check in at 3pm. The setback is that there is no heater in the room and it was rather cold in the night during winter. There are washer, dryer and microwave in the room. Overall, a nice place to stay and to relax as silver sand beach is just at the back of the resort.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for your review and feedback? We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Just to let you know for your next visit that all of our apartments feature reverse cycle air conditioning which will warm your apartment on a cold winter night. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We are a family of 4 (myself, wife and 2 boys aged 8 and 11. We arrived 28 June and stayed for a week. From the moment we arrived, we can not fault the warm atmosphere we experienced. Brian went out of his way in making us feel welcome. His patience towards our boys was much appreciated. Although they were renovating we never felt that it affected our stay. Thank you Brian and your team. We will def be back. The Beens family

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonbeens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for your lovely review Anton. It was wonderful to have ou and your delightful family with us during your stay in Mandurah. We look forward to seeing you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

This resort has been operating for over 20 yrs and is still presented if built just a few years, been a member for 20yrs & only started using it recently (often spacebanked) gardens beautiful, units clean with all appliances one needs on holiday. Free very clean bbqs around the pool areas a must for outside cooking. inside & outside Pools spotless, on cooler days the inside pool is wonderful. We all loved sitting in the jacuzzis. Games room adequate, tennis and squash also. Take a walk around at night, fairy lights so pretty.
Plenty to do in the area.
Will come again.

Room Tip: Request downstairs if you have health problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chardsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSRes, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding our resort. We are delighted that you have found once again enjoyed a relaxing time with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We have been coming down to Silver Sands now for about 10 years and we just love coming down for our annual holidays in March. From the moment we arrive to the day we have to leave it's just like being at home. What can I say about the people who work at this great place, we are always made to so very welcome and looked after so fantastically well. My parents had been going down twice a year for the holidays and always loved being there as well. Last week when the weather was bad and we were renewing our Wedding vows (25 years) they even helped with an alternative just in case we couldn't make it to the beach in Rockingham. Thank you guys for looking after the family so well...... Till next year xx

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSRes, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
We appreciate your feedback and your lovely comments regarding our Resort and Staff. We are more than happy to assist you with any queries and hope that we provide the best service possible.
We look forward to seeing you and your parents in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We go every year. When my daughter was younger we swam, played put put golf, tennis, racquet ball, table tennis, pool etc all on the resort grounds. Now we are older we enjoy the relaxation and ambience of the resort. Everything is immaculate and if there is a problem it is corrected professionally and efficiently. There are rules within the resort but these are in place to ensure the safety of guests and provide a total holiday experience for all. Those that complain about these rules are quite happy let their children and teenagers run riot causing damage and making other guests experience unpleasant. I am pleased to say that the other guests I have met over the years have been friendly, happy and wish eveyone else in the resort having as much fun and enjoyment as themselves. This resort is suitable for families, couples, friends and if you just want to go alone. Management and all staff always greet you with a smile and happy to help you anyway they can. If you wish to explore there are walks along river boardwalk, restaurants, boat cruises, dolphins, markets, shopping, beaches, too many to list. Mandurah is only an hour from Perth. Check Silver Sands out and have a terrific holiday. You will meet guests from all over the world.

Room Tip: These are self contained two bedroom or studio rooms with plenty of room. Go to their web site and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjsteed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSRes, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and understanding that sometimes rules have to be implemented for the safety of our guests but also to ensure that everyone can enjoy their holidays.
We look forward to seeing you and your family on your next holiday to Silver sands Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandurah hotels
0.7 mi away
Seashells Mandurah
Seashells Mandurah
#1 of 7 in Mandurah
529 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quest Mandurah
Quest Mandurah
#3 of 7 in Mandurah
187 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Sebel Mandurah
The Sebel Mandurah
#2 of 7 in Mandurah
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atrium Hotel Mandurah
Atrium Hotel Mandurah
#7 of 7 in Mandurah
382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mandurah Family Resort
Mandurah Family Resort
#5 of 7 in Mandurah
37 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dolphin Quay Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Resort

Property: Silver Sands Resort
Address: Corner Mandurah Terrace & Adonis Road, Mandurah, Western Australia 6210, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Mandurah
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Mandurah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Sands Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully self-contained apartment accommodation is the ideal way to experience one of Western Australia’s most popular coastal destinations. Just one hour’s drive south of Perth, life in Mandurah is centered around its vast inland waterways and abundance of beaches. Surrounding this estuary is the beautiful Peel Region with the City of Mandurah its epicentre. Boasting an astonishing aquatic playground and cosmopolitan lifestyle it's no wonder Mandurah is so popular to visit and one of WA’s best tourist destinations.With delightful restaurants and cafes, crystal clear blue water, and an abundance of activities for the whole family, Mandurah makes for a great getaway!Silver Sands Resort includes the folowing free facilities to all of our guests:•Play a round of Mini Golf•Take a dip in the indoor or outdoor heated pools•Relaxing in the indoor or outdoor heated spas•Sweat it out in the dry heat sauna•Have a hit on the full size tennis courts or if that’s too much try the half court •Take a stroll on the walking machines•Get the tastebuds sizzling at one of our 4 BBQs•Challenge the kids in the children’s games room•Or maybe hide from the kids in the adults only games room•Borrow a book from our club lounge library•Have a drink with the Resort Manager (Monday Welcome Drinks)•Free tour and attraction booking serviceTennis Courts and Squash Courts are available from 8am – 6pm daily. Use your own equipment or free hire of Resort equipment (excluding tennis balls). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Silver Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Timeshare Hotel Mandurah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing