We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resting on its laurels.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silver Sands Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2014

No assistance to carry suitcases and groceries upstairs, apartments haven't had anything much done to spruce them up since probably 2000, no effort was made to keep small children's behaviour from becoming unruly and overly noisy. The indoor spa always looked foamy, oily and dirty.
Management was very rude.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cadaverini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. As you are aware Silver Sands Resort is a fully self contained apartment premises and as such we don't normally provide staff to carry luggage and groceries to apartments. However, any request for assistance of this kind is always provided whenever it is possible.
It is unfortunate that you have chosen to hold our staff responsible for the behaviour of guests children. If there is an issue that is causing a disturbance or a safety issue or staff are instructed to respond however the everyday behaviour of guests children is ultimately their responsibility.
In case you are unaware we have recently renovated approximately 12 two bedroom apartments and have now commenced the renovation program on our 1 bedroom apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed for a week, first greeted by welcoming staff. Nothing is too much trouble for Ivan and Wendy and staff. Whoever trains these staff is brilliant. Apartments are comfortable and located around a central pool area, with appropriate BBQ facilities incorporated. Most have good views of the outdoor pool. The adjacent indoor pool is also great. Help with tourism destinations and a great list of activities. We really enjoyed going to the greyhounds in the resort bus. What a great nigh for someone who had never been to greyhounds before. Hosted by the assistant manager Brian and family. A great time was held by all. There is just so much to do. Thanks for a great holiday. We walked to the beach in 4 minutes. Plenty of shops in the strip local shopping

Room Tip: We asked for a downstairs apartment, but could have have upstairs instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Bruce we are so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed a great holiday with us. I will pass on your kind words to all of our staff. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This place is beautiful. Apartments are neat and tidy and they are currently updating their accommodation. We got an older apartment but it was still neat and clean, with kitchen and laundry facilities. Lovely outdoor area by the pool. Close to the beach (Less than 5 minute walk) and local shopping and entertainment precinct. Not to far from Perth to enjoy the city. We would happily return again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurenwillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Thank you for your review. We hope that you will be visiting with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My family have stayed at silver sands for a week every January for as long as I can remember.
the rooms are all comfortable. quite basic but its kind of homey how everything isn't so fancy.
the only real bad thing is that I don't feel that they clean the units as well as they could, there was still hair in the bath room and also there was black stuff all over the floor in the kitchen. also the beds are incredibly uncomfortable, was quite glad I only stayed there for two nights this year as I wouldn't have been able to take much more.
the pool however is beautiful, it has just been retiled and looks fantastic.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eureekaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Silver Sands Resort. We are very proud of our renovation in the pool and spa areas and agree that they look fantastic. If you would have the opportunity to email me I would appreciate a few details such as your unit number and date of stay. This will allow me to check our rosters and follow up on the items you mentioned. Please forward your email to info@silversandsresort.com.au. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My family of four plus a baby stayed at the Silver Sand Resort for a week in Dec 2013. Silver Sand Resort is located at 178 Mandurah Terrace about 72km from Perth City Centre.

Our two room unit at the Silver Sand Resort is very comfortable and has full kitchen facilities, fridge, washing machine and dryers. The resort is well maintained and has a few barbecue pits, open and covered heated pools, games room, Tennis Courts, Children's Playground and some other facilities which we did not have time to utilize. There is a Shopping Centre, The Sand, located just across the road, a Bottle Shop and Tavern next door and the Silver Sand Beach just a few Blocks from the Resort.

Mandurah’s Attractions like the Board Walk, Dolphin Cruise and the Dolphin Quay are just nearby and there are many Restaurants and Eateries offering a wide range of food for your choice of meals. Fish and Chip Lovers will be spoiled for a choice as you can find Cicerello’s, Sharky’s, The Jetty’s and many other Fish and Chips Restaurants in Mandurah.

This is the second time we stayed at the Silver Sand Resort and we love it. We had a good time and wouldn’t mind staying at the Silver Sand Resort on our return visits to Mandurah.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyTay8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you for your review of Silver Sands Resort and the Mandurah Precinct. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Mandurah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This is an older style resort, resulting in generous living areas throughout the apartments; that are very well equipped for couples or family's. There is a beautiful outdoor pool area with numerous spas, complemented by an indoor heated pool and spa area. The only downfall with the pool is that the pool cannot be accessed before 8 o'clock in the mornings so serious swimming can be disrupted by early rising children. There are numerous immaculately kept barbecue areas, and seating is generous but shade can be of a premium. A car is necessary as major attractions in the area are not in close proximity to the resort: although a well stocked supermarket and a number of fast food outlets are just over the road . To top off the position there is a large pub next door with an extensive food menu, and plus for beach lovers a block away from an extensive beach area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank happy1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Thank you very much for your review and lovely comments regarding Silver Sands Resort. We love to hear that our guests have enjoyed their holidays and the Resort facilities. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The positives for us were: Close to where our daughter lives, the space of the apartment, the pools and spas. Negatives were the very uncomfortable beds and pillows. We had hoped that our daughter would stay overnight with us, but the beds were so bad that she could not. Our son who flew over from NZ with us and stayed for the first week also said the beds were terrible. Comfortable beds should be a priority for people who are on vacation/holiday. The three seater sofa bed was also very uncomfortable to sit on. And, honestly the units need upgrading. Buy cheap, get cheap.

On the day when I wanted to go into the adult lounge to look for a book, there were workmen. I did not see the sign informing of it being closed and even if I had, I would not and cannot understand why I was not allowed to choose a book as the bookcase was just inside the door. I was informed that I may have tripped over something. Well at the time I was there, there was nothing to trip over and, in fact, what about all the stairs in the resort and the gardeners with carts? Could I not have tripped over them? Common sense would be great and customer service is everything.

We went to western Australia to celebrate our daughter's 21st and my 57th, but when on checking in I told the manager (?) that, I had no response. Wouldn't it be great if these timeshare places made people feel special. The fact that they didn't really celebrate the Melbourne Cup was a let down also. There are rules and rules and rules, but what about creating a sense of community!

Anyway, as my title stated, good memories. When people are on holiday they will put up with a lot. This resort is OK, its pool and spas are its selling point, but it could be a lot more.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel5657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSRes, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for the taking the time to review your stay at Silver Sands Resort and your feedback regarding the furnishings.
Given the size of the Resort it is not financially feasible to refurnish every apartment at the same time. As with the majority of accommodation providers around the world, the resort does have a rolling replacement cycle for all furnishings which sees replacements carried out each and every year.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our pools and spas and we are very proud of what we have achieved with the refurbishment of these areas this year.
Unfortunately Workplace Health and Safety requirements prevent us from allowing guests into areas, internal or external, where maintenance is being carried out as was the case with our Adult lounge. This area was being repainted and contained scaffolding, ladders and other maintenance equipment and as such the decision to lock off the area was made with guest safety in mind. I do understand that you were provided with access to the adult lounge a few hours later to obtain a book from our free guest library.
Melbourne Cup is a wonderful day in Australia’s social calendar and we would love to be able to stop our normal day to day activities to provide special events on this day. Unfortunately, we do not have a function area on site which would facilitate these events and many guests and club members still require the attentions of our office staff to our normal daily duties.
We did ensure that all of our guests were aware that we were running a Melbourne Cup sweepstakes and of the many restaurants, pubs and cafés in Mandurah that were holding Melbourne Cup luncheons.
Overall it appears you enjoyed your time in Mandurah and have good memories to take home which is exactly what we all hope for from our holidays.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandurah hotels
1.1 mi away
The Sebel Mandurah
The Sebel Mandurah
#2 of 7 in Mandurah
1,009 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seashells Mandurah
Seashells Mandurah
#1 of 7 in Mandurah
548 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atrium Hotel Mandurah
Atrium Hotel Mandurah
#7 of 7 in Mandurah
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quest Mandurah
Quest Mandurah
#3 of 7 in Mandurah
245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mandurah Family Resort
Mandurah Family Resort
#6 of 7 in Mandurah
37 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dolphin Quay Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Resort

Address: Corner Mandurah Terrace & Adonis Road, Mandurah, Western Australia 6210, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Mandurah
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Mandurah
Price Range: £108 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Sands Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully self-contained apartment accommodation is the ideal way to experience one of Western Australia’s most popular coastal destinations. Just one hour’s drive south of Perth, life in Mandurah is centered around its vast inland waterways and abundance of beaches. Surrounding this estuary is the beautiful Peel Region with the City of Mandurah its epicentre. Boasting an astonishing aquatic playground and cosmopolitan lifestyle it's no wonder Mandurah is so popular to visit and one of WA’s best tourist destinations.With delightful restaurants and cafes, crystal clear blue water, and an abundance of activities for the whole family, Mandurah makes for a great getaway!Silver Sands Resort includes the folowing free facilities to all of our guests:•Play a round of Mini Golf•Take a dip in the indoor or outdoor heated pools•Relaxing in the indoor or outdoor heated spas•Sweat it out in the dry heat sauna•Have a hit on the full size tennis courts or if that’s too much try the half court •Take a stroll on the walking machines•Get the tastebuds sizzling at one of our 4 BBQs•Challenge the kids in the children’s games room•Or maybe hide from the kids in the adults only games room•Borrow a book from our club lounge library•Have a drink with the Resort Manager (Monday Welcome Drinks)•Free tour and attraction booking serviceTennis Courts and Squash Courts are available from 8am – 6pm daily. Use your own equipment or free hire of Resort equipment (excluding tennis balls). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Timeshare Hotel Mandurah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing