We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silver Sands Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Have just spent a week at this resort in the off season, so it was not swimming weather. Even though it was full, it was very quiet.
Arrived in pouring rain, but managed to get one of the under cover bays next to the front entrance.
Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Not being a hotel, there are no luggage porters, but trolleys are available. Our unit was downstairs so no real hassles with luggage.

The 2-bedroom unit was reasonably spacious with a kitchen/diner, lounge, two bathrooms and laundry. Doesn't look too bad as the resort is nearly 30 years old.
It is fully airconditioned, though we didn't need to use it during our stay.
TV has all the Perth digital channels and some Foxtel. Also a DVD player and there is a DVD library at reception. Perth newspaper can be delivered every day.
The mattresses were rather hard to us (as in most hotels). We are tuned to latex.
Other aspects of the apartment were not totally perfect. See comments at the end.

The inward-looking resort has a superb pool area, but probably noisy during day time school holidays. Most units have a view over the pool area.
A number of other facilities are available, including tennis, squash, mini golf, sauna etc. Every Tuesday evening there is a trip to the local greyhound races. Lot of fun. Good value.

A car is essential for touring, but you could stay here without one as there is a shopping centre just across the road, a Bottle Shop and Tavern next door and the Silver Sands ocean Beach is about half a Km from the Resort. A 2Km walk is needed to get you to the main estuary and old town centre.

Comments and suggestions:
The old style kitchen cupboards are very noisy on closing. Easily fixed with nylon noise buffers.
The main benchtop is taken up with the TV. The TV should be on a mobile trolley.
There are no printed instructions for the TV or DVD player.
There are no wall hooks for coats and hats etc. Suggest some near front door and in both bedrooms.
A second suitcase rack in each bedroom would be useful.
No WiFi available in apartments.
Future furniture addition: A small table and office chair for a laptop.

Room Tip: Downstairs units easier with luggage.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdandjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at Silver Sands Resort. We are pleased to receive comments and reviews such as yours and we are glad that you were delighted by our service and our Resort.

We couldn't agree more that there is lots of great things to keep you entertained at the Resort and in the Peel region.

We looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for Silver Sands Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

We found Silver Sands to be a wonderful place to stay, with its resort atmosphere but also feels like your at home and not in some motel. The pool's and spa's are beautiful and the games rooms, tennis courts and squash court are a fantastic bonus that other places don't usually offer, the kids as well as adults can have fun without even having to leave the resort. The staff are friendly, the rooms are lovely and the extra bathroom and huge bath are great, also the convenience of the location to Mandurah's inner hub is fantastic. We woulnd't hesitate to stay here again and again, Rochelle, Darren, Shakira and Heath :-)

Room Tip: We stayed on the main road side up stairs which is a little noisy with the traffic but if you shut t...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rochelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Thank you for staying with Silver Sands Resort and for sharing your experience with us. It is our pleasure to receive comments and good ratings. We look forward to welcoming you and your family once again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The resort is small, with units arranged around the pools, on two levels. Most of the units are 2 bedrooms, and are very spacious with plenty of cupboard and shelf space. The outdoor amenities are lovely, with sparkling pools and waterfalls, and also an indoor pool. The reception area is very well laid out and reminiscent of a top hotel, but it is the staff who really make this place special. I have read the bad reviews about the staff and cannot believe them, as we found everyone super friendly, helpful and always a smile. Every question was answered courteously and immediately, and we had lots of help with luggage to and from our upper floor unit. You only have to ask! There were always staff around the grounds cleaning and tidying, and the unit itself was spotless. Definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dinkydi26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you so much for your time in providing this review and also for your lovely words regarding our staff and resort. The management and staff are very proud of our property are always willing to assist you wherever possible.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Great location in Mandurah. The beach is a few minutes walk away. A few minutes drive to the foreshore and town centre. The Resort was nice with nice pools, spas and a sauna. Good room with full kitchen.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KeithDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you for providing your review of Silver Sands Resort. We are very lucky to have such a beautiful spot in Mandurah that is so close to the sensational Silver Sands Beach and the main shopping and dining precinct of Mandurah. We take great pride in providing a wide range of top class amenities for the use of all of our guests and are pleased that you enjoyed the use of some of them during your stay. We look forward to greeting you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

>> Clean and tidy.
>> Furniture not updated since probably the 1980's - 1990's.
>> Receptionist didn't even as much as say a hello when I arrived at front desk. She just continued to do her work despite knowing that someone had approached the reception. So much for a "warm welcome"!! A major turn-off!!!
>> Pool is well maintained.
>> Foxtel is available.
>> Nothing stands out that would bring me back here. Quite a few other fish in the sea!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Silver Sands Resort.
As with many hotels we run a refurbishment program at Silver Sands Resort which enables us to refurbish our apartments on a rotating basis. This year we will be refurbishing all of our one bedroom apartments.
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed our pools as we carried out extensive renovations on those areas in 2013.
We hope that you will consider visiting with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

No assistance to carry suitcases and groceries upstairs, apartments haven't had anything much done to spruce them up since probably 2000, no effort was made to keep small children's behaviour from becoming unruly and overly noisy. The indoor spa always looked foamy, oily and dirty.
Management was very rude.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cadaverini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. As you are aware Silver Sands Resort is a fully self contained apartment premises and as such we don't normally provide staff to carry luggage and groceries to apartments. However, any request for assistance of this kind is always provided whenever it is possible.
It is unfortunate that you have chosen to hold our staff responsible for the behaviour of guests children. If there is an issue that is causing a disturbance or a safety issue or staff are instructed to respond however the everyday behaviour of guests children is ultimately their responsibility.
In case you are unaware we have recently renovated approximately 12 two bedroom apartments and have now commenced the renovation program on our 1 bedroom apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed for a week, first greeted by welcoming staff. Nothing is too much trouble for Ivan and Wendy and staff. Whoever trains these staff is brilliant. Apartments are comfortable and located around a central pool area, with appropriate BBQ facilities incorporated. Most have good views of the outdoor pool. The adjacent indoor pool is also great. Help with tourism destinations and a great list of activities. We really enjoyed going to the greyhounds in the resort bus. What a great nigh for someone who had never been to greyhounds before. Hosted by the assistant manager Brian and family. A great time was held by all. There is just so much to do. Thanks for a great holiday. We walked to the beach in 4 minutes. Plenty of shops in the strip local shopping

Room Tip: We asked for a downstairs apartment, but could have have upstairs instead.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Bruce we are so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed a great holiday with us. I will pass on your kind words to all of our staff. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandurah hotels
0.7 mi away
Seashells Mandurah
Seashells Mandurah
#1 of 7 in Mandurah
537 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quest Mandurah
Quest Mandurah
#3 of 7 in Mandurah
210 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Sebel Mandurah
The Sebel Mandurah
#2 of 7 in Mandurah
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atrium Hotel Mandurah
Atrium Hotel Mandurah
#7 of 7 in Mandurah
387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mandurah Family Resort
Mandurah Family Resort
#6 of 7 in Mandurah
37 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mandurah Quay Resort
Mandurah Quay Resort
#4 of 17 in Mandurah
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Resort

Address: Corner Mandurah Terrace & Adonis Road, Mandurah, Western Australia 6210, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Mandurah
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Mandurah
Price Range: £70 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully self-contained apartment accommodation is the ideal way to experience one of Western Australia’s most popular coastal destinations. Just one hour’s drive south of Perth, life in Mandurah is centered around its vast inland waterways and abundance of beaches. Surrounding this estuary is the beautiful Peel Region with the City of Mandurah its epicentre. Boasting an astonishing aquatic playground and cosmopolitan lifestyle it's no wonder Mandurah is so popular to visit and one of WA’s best tourist destinations.With delightful restaurants and cafes, crystal clear blue water, and an abundance of activities for the whole family, Mandurah makes for a great getaway!Silver Sands Resort includes the folowing free facilities to all of our guests:•Play a round of Mini Golf•Take a dip in the indoor or outdoor heated pools•Relaxing in the indoor or outdoor heated spas•Sweat it out in the dry heat sauna•Have a hit on the full size tennis courts or if that’s too much try the half court •Take a stroll on the walking machines•Get the tastebuds sizzling at one of our 4 BBQs•Challenge the kids in the children’s games room•Or maybe hide from the kids in the adults only games room•Borrow a book from our club lounge library•Have a drink with the Resort Manager (Monday Welcome Drinks)•Free tour and attraction booking serviceTennis Courts and Squash Courts are available from 8am – 6pm daily. Use your own equipment or free hire of Resort equipment (excluding tennis balls). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Timeshare Hotel Mandurah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing