We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Silver Sands Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great short break”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

we had a one bed unit, very handy on the ground floor, nice and clean, plenty of hot water, excellant linnen, friendly staff when we checked in. adults lounge very clean and welcoming, pools all excellent, will go back , very well kept throughout.

Room Tip: two bed appts have spa baths the one bed units only have a shower, but worked well for us:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rayanne_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Silver Sands Resort. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    60
    17
    7
    1
See reviews for
64
40
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Silver Sands Resort in july 2014 and l can honestly say that it was clean with great amenities. The rooms can do with a slight update as there were chipped floor tiles throughout and the grout was coming out on the bathroom vanity, I also found the pillows pretty uncomfortable. The only other downfall is that I had my niece stay for the day and parking for her car was an additional ten dollars .

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Silver Sands Resort. We are pleased that you enjoyed use of the Resort facilities and amenities during your stay. We do provide free parking for one vehicle per apartment. Parking charges only apply for additional vehicles as we need to utilise the adjoining additional car park to accommodate these vehicles.
We hope to see you and your family again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katanning
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our family of two young children and two tired parents escaped for a mid-winter mini-break recently in June. The attraction of the Silver Sands is that it has both an indoor pool and spa (and sauna though not used) and an out door lagoon style pool with an additional two spas. This is an all weather venue! Normally we have stayed in summer and fully utilised the tennis courts, BBQ's, mini golf etc. but with torrential rain over three of the four days we really got to appreciate the other joys of this resort. The manager and staff were very accommodating and went above and beyond when my 4 year old daughter discovered the 'Princess Diary' series; we hired the first DVD and then they found the second installment in their personal collection from home. The resort is located a 2 minute walk from a local IGA supermarket, chemist and takeaways. A 15 minute walk or a 3 minute drive and you are on the main street of Mandurah. Coffee in hand it is very easy to enjoy the esplanade; awesome bike path and playground. We had takeaway from the Silk Thai (ok), had grilled fish and amazing chilli mussels from Cisserellos (sp.!) and did a canal cruise (fun). The units are well laid out with very comfy beds and occasional furniture. A well equipped kitchen and laundry meant that the day-to-day tasks of family life were easy to keep on top of. The bottom units are the pick particularly if you have prams and baby gear like us. There is plenty of bedding and reverse cycle air-conditioners in each room. Really all you need to do is bring your clothes and a beach towel. Although cabin fever set in by day 4 (there is only so many times you can clean up kids from puddle jumping) we had a nice stay. We normally stay in March with five other families for a week and this is really when the resort comes into its' own. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Bottom floor away from central steps; good access to pool, spa and bbq's from the unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KidsCanCamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Silver Sands Resort. It's fabulous to hear that you were able to enjoy a great time with us in the stormy weather and that you had an opportunity to use facilities you hadn't before. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again in the near future.
PS Hopefully we can find another great movie series for your daughter to enjoy next time as well :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockingham, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My family and i have stayed at Silver Sands resort 4 times.
Its a fantastic place to take your children, so much for them to do. Adults can just sit back and relax. The accomodation side of things are excellent very spacious and aways spotlist.
The staff are friendly and very accomodating to your needs and request. Over easter you were full booked out, I needed to furfill my terminal friends wish and have her last holiday at Silversand.. I dont know how your amazing staff did it but they got us in. You made a sick cancer patient a very happy person. I highly recommend you to anyone.
A very happy customer.. Kind regards Christine Wiseman

Room Tip: the room near the front of pool is great if you have kids. The upstair room are wonderful for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 825Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review and kind words. We remember you and your friend very well Christine and were delighted to be able to assist you with this special time together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Our family stayed at the Silver Sands from 02/05/14 until 16/05/14. Arrived after hours but no problem accessing our unit as we had contacted them and advised our arrival time. Our unit was one of the ones yet to be refurbished on a top level overlooking the pool. The were 5 of us staying and the unit was clean and comfortable. All the staff were friendly and helpful, (especially reception). Minor issues were delt to, and the resort has great amenities, is well cared for and maintained. The only issue is car parking, (only one car per unit). We had two cars and had to pay extra to park our second car on land owned by the resort. It was expensive and I had never come across this before in any other resort we stayed at.
Our unit was serviced between the 2 weeks and we had a good time staying there.

Room Tip: Choose a top unit as they have much better views over the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for staying with Silver Sands Resort and for sharing your experience with us. It is our pleasure to receive comments and good ratings. We look forward to welcoming you once again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

As a timesahare member of this resort we have only great things to say about it,
the maintence is of very high standard,it still looks the same as when we joined over 30 yrs ago, just amazing, the outdoor pool area has that exotic resort feel about it, the units have all been refurbished many times over the years and are spacious, clean and ample kitchen appliances and utensils..
Their are 3 outdoor spas and 1 indoor along with the heated indoor pool and sauna.
Also a squash court, tennis court and half court tennis.
Would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank wanty_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Silver Sands Resort and for the good rating and high praise that you gave us. We are delighted that you have been enjoying the Resort for so many years and look forward to many more visits from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Have just spent a week at this resort in the off season, so it was not swimming weather. Even though it was full, it was very quiet.
Arrived in pouring rain, but managed to get one of the under cover bays next to the front entrance.
Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Not being a hotel, there are no luggage porters, but trolleys are available. Our unit was downstairs so no real hassles with luggage.

The 2-bedroom unit was reasonably spacious with a kitchen/diner, lounge, two bathrooms and laundry. Doesn't look too bad as the resort is nearly 30 years old.
It is fully airconditioned, though we didn't need to use it during our stay.
TV has all the Perth digital channels and some Foxtel. Also a DVD player and there is a DVD library at reception. Perth newspaper can be delivered every day.
The mattresses were rather hard to us (as in most hotels). We are tuned to latex.
Other aspects of the apartment were not totally perfect. See comments at the end.

The inward-looking resort has a superb pool area, but probably noisy during day time school holidays. Most units have a view over the pool area.
A number of other facilities are available, including tennis, squash, mini golf, sauna etc. Every Tuesday evening there is a trip to the local greyhound races. Lot of fun. Good value.

A car is essential for touring, but you could stay here without one as there is a shopping centre just across the road, a Bottle Shop and Tavern next door and the Silver Sands ocean Beach is about half a Km from the Resort. A 2Km walk is needed to get you to the main estuary and old town centre.

Comments and suggestions:
The old style kitchen cupboards are very noisy on closing. Easily fixed with nylon noise buffers.
The main benchtop is taken up with the TV. The TV should be on a mobile trolley.
There are no printed instructions for the TV or DVD player.
There are no wall hooks for coats and hats etc. Suggest some near front door and in both bedrooms.
A second suitcase rack in each bedroom would be useful.
No WiFi available in apartments.
Future furniture addition: A small table and office chair for a laptop.

Room Tip: Downstairs units easier with luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdandjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delene P, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Sands Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Silver Sands Resort. We are pleased to receive comments and reviews such as yours and we are glad that you were delighted by our service and our Resort.

We couldn't agree more that there is lots of great things to keep you entertained at the Resort and in the Peel region.

We looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandurah hotels
0.7 mi away
Seashells Mandurah
Seashells Mandurah
#1 of 7 in Mandurah
526 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Sebel Mandurah
The Sebel Mandurah
#2 of 7 in Mandurah
974 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quest Mandurah
Quest Mandurah
#3 of 7 in Mandurah
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atrium Hotel Mandurah
Atrium Hotel Mandurah
#7 of 7 in Mandurah
375 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mandurah Family Resort
Mandurah Family Resort
#5 of 7 in Mandurah
37 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dolphin Quay Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Resort

Property: Silver Sands Resort
Address: Corner Mandurah Terrace & Adonis Road, Mandurah, Western Australia 6210, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Mandurah
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Mandurah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Sands Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully self-contained apartment accommodation is the ideal way to experience one of Western Australia’s most popular coastal destinations. Just one hour’s drive south of Perth, life in Mandurah is centered around its vast inland waterways and abundance of beaches. Surrounding this estuary is the beautiful Peel Region with the City of Mandurah its epicentre. Boasting an astonishing aquatic playground and cosmopolitan lifestyle it's no wonder Mandurah is so popular to visit and one of WA’s best tourist destinations.With delightful restaurants and cafes, crystal clear blue water, and an abundance of activities for the whole family, Mandurah makes for a great getaway!Silver Sands Resort includes the folowing free facilities to all of our guests:•Play a round of Mini Golf•Take a dip in the indoor or outdoor heated pools•Relaxing in the indoor or outdoor heated spas•Sweat it out in the dry heat sauna•Have a hit on the full size tennis courts or if that’s too much try the half court •Take a stroll on the walking machines•Get the tastebuds sizzling at one of our 4 BBQs•Challenge the kids in the children’s games room•Or maybe hide from the kids in the adults only games room•Borrow a book from our club lounge library•Have a drink with the Resort Manager (Monday Welcome Drinks)•Free tour and attraction booking serviceTennis Courts and Squash Courts are available from 8am – 6pm daily. Use your own equipment or free hire of Resort equipment (excluding tennis balls). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Silver Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Timeshare Hotel Mandurah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing