We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value - not posh but clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mandurah Motel and Apartments
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Mandurah
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good value - not posh but clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2009

This hotel is not very prominent from the main road (Mandurah Terrace) and in fact we missed it initially. However it is in a good location, and a very short drive (< 5 mins) away from restaurants and the Tourist Information Center.
We took up a 2 bedroom apartment. The rooms were cozy and comfortable. Cleanliness was good. The rooms were not very large, but the 2nd room could sleep 3 adults comfortably - we had 3 children so no worries here.The kitchen and dinning/sitting area was just average. Still clean, but not as cozy and comfortable as the bedrooms. A small CRT TV is mounted on the wall in the dining/sitting area - nothing fancy here.
In the kitchen you will find a microwave and 2 hot plates for cooking. Tea/coffee making facilities and a toaster complete the kitchen. Full cutlery and plates, etc provided.
There is one bathroom/toilet. No spa, but there is a shower enclosure.
This place has a tennis court, mini golf for children and a swimming pool. All within the hotel premises, and a few steps from the apartment. Parking was also very convenient, within the hotel compound and just in front of the apartment.
We booked direct with the hotel website, and for the price paid ($157 for a Saturday night), we consider it good value indeed.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_no_more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    32
    24
    14
    16
See reviews for
33
43
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2009

My family and i stayed at The Mandurah Gates Resort for a break. On our drive down to Mandurah from Perth we received a phone call, informing us the resort reception closed at 2pm and if we did not arrive before then we would have to wait until 6pm to check in. We were told upon booking that checkin was from 2pm.

We arrived in the nick of time. We were then informed of a $200 deposit. We paid the deposit and the room rates (2 nights stay) . We drove around to the parking area.

We were suprised our room entrance was from a dark smelly hallway. The door looked like it had been kicked in and tacked back together. We opened the door and were extremely disappointed. At first glance the room had seen better days. It was almost like the rundown apartment from the movie Coming to America., without the stray cats and rats and chalk outline of a body. The carpet had stains which looked simliar to large blood stains. There were phonebooks without any phone. The phone among other things were possibly taken from what looked like an old crime scene. It was as if the crime scene tape was removed and we entered to stay.

The room had a musky not ventilated smell. Even when i tried to air it out my toddler kept leaving the room as the dodgy flysrceen had no lock and slid right open.
The bed smelt like someone had slept on it without a sheet change. The lamps beside the bed were blown. The only entertainment was the television with local channels.
The bathroom was disgusting and we were even supplied insect spray so we could combat the ant infestation in the bathroom and outiside the room. I thought i was on holiday not taking a job as pest control for a rundown hotel.

The cleanest place for my children to sleep was in the porta cot i had brought from home. I even had to go to Kmart to buy a blowup mattress for my four year old.

The pool was not heated, there were no other guests on our first day, the second day a family were spotted and shared our disappointment.

We spent our weekend avoiding our hotel room as it was a disgrace. Working in the hotel industry I do not recommend anyone to stay as it was depressing and rundown. Given a refurbishment and new mangement this place could of been great. Unfortunately this will not ever be a full operational hotel as they are selling off the rooms and apartments privately.
Shocking stay, Shocking hotel, Shocking Service. Not a family orientated place to stay

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank randafromperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mandurah hotels

Perth
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2008

We stayed here for a bit if escape from Perth for our 1 year anniversary, there doesn't appear to be a lot available accommodation wise in Mandurah, but this place seemed inviting with an informative website, so we gave it a shot.

I booked a spa suite via there online booking service, problem was there was no spa suite option to book, even though I know they had them from reading other parts of their website. So when I booked I noted to be charged extra and book us for a spa suite. I got a call a few hours later confirming all the details, and it was sorted.

A few weeks later, 1 week till we were due to arrive, we get a call saying the spa suite we had booked was no longer available. This was due to the room's owner wanting to do some upgrades, and not the fault of the hotel manager, sort of. We got upgraded to an apartment suite free of charge. No spa however. (But there is a outdoor spa and pool for guests)

Check in was easy with a friendly smile, and we were given our room key quickly and shown the way with a good clear map.

The rooms themselves were clean as they could possibly be, without refurbishing them. There were noticeable stains on the floor and kitchen, and the room looked generally "used" for many many years. The beds and pillows were comfortable and clean, and the linen provided was pretty good. The shower was simply horrible, it was tiny, with hot and cold flushes happening randomly during a shower. The couch/sofa bed was very uncomfortable and we had to use a blanket from the spare room to act as a cushion. The TV was old and the reception was average with no free foxtel or movie channels. It did have a DVD player and I was surprised that it actually worked.

One thing that was very odd, was that there was no phone in the room, so reception was pretty much unattainable for any requests, even though there was a phone plug in the room.

These rooms are 'self contained' so there is no house keeping.

The grounds of the hotel were par, the grass and gardens look well kept, but there were plenty of dirty light fittings and blown bulbs. The pool and spa areas were generally clean, there was once a pool bar and sauna, but by the looks of it these had been converted to store rooms a long time ago.

So overall a nice place to call base while you experience the surrounding area, but not a place you could stay in and enjoy for a long period of time

  • Liked — Nice family owned business
  • Disliked — The off milk, the stains in the room, generally messy grounds
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hertz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2007

The apartment that I stayed in was very nice and comfortable. There was a bathroom, two large bedrooms, kitchen, t.v plus a dvd player. It felt very luxurious.

All apartments were surrounded by the pool, sauna and tennis courts. They even had a heated spa which you could really enjoy and relax in when there no guests around!

On the premises there was an indian restaurant but unfortunately I didnt go there.

In town the Slug and Hare Ale House was a very nice bar to go to.

The Dolphin Quay has a great waterfront full of market stalls, shops, cafes and restaurants. The pedestrian footbridge, which connects the North and South Harbours and provides a direct link to Mandurah's city and cultural precincts

This place is located 5 mins walk from the city center and just 45 minutes away from Perth.

  • Liked — The rooms are great
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SamIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandurah hotels
1.1 mi away
Quest Mandurah
Quest Mandurah
#3 of 7 in Mandurah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seashells Mandurah
Seashells Mandurah
#1 of 7 in Mandurah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atrium Hotel Mandurah
Atrium Hotel Mandurah
#7 of 7 in Mandurah
3.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Sebel Mandurah
The Sebel Mandurah
#2 of 7 in Mandurah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandurah Family Resort
Mandurah Family Resort
#6 of 7 in Mandurah
3.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.6 mi away
Foreshore Motel
Foreshore Motel
#4 of 7 in Mandurah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandurah Motel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandurah Motel and Apartments

Property: Mandurah Motel and Apartments
Address: 110 Mandurah Tce, Mandurah, Western Australia 6210, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn Mandurah)
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Mandurah
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Mandurah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mandurah Motel and Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort style living with a delicious restaurant onsite - Sunbreakers open from 8am - 9.30pm enjoy a meal in the restaurant or room service is also available with full menu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandurah Motel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing