We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homeward Bounders...!”

The Merchant Tea and Coffee
Ranked #2 of 8 Coffee & Tea in Mandurah
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Homeward Bounders...!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Coffee & a BLT by the river. Great service & food with a wonderful view of the estuary. Well worth a visit if you are coming to MAndurah.

Helpful?
Thank Bbbubbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    46
    10
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Coffee at the Merchant”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Once again our coffee was a great disappointment. We ordered cappucinos and were presented with the usual Merchant fare. Weak, watery, cool and unpleasant coffee. The only taste was from the chocolate syrup on top. We visit the Merchant frequently because it is dog friendly but only once received a worthwhile cup of coffee. That was when I managed to speak to the barista direct, and asked for a coffee we could actually taste. The manager tried to stop me from speaking to the barista and said if I wanted coffee with flavour I had to pay for a double shot. Once again, today, we received the usual pale and wishy washy overpriced ghastly coffee.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Prijon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
287 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“The best location and coffee”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The Merchant has a wonderful location in Mandurah, right next to the water. It also has an enormous tree right outside which provides welcome shade from the sun. A great spot to sit, relax and enjoy.

We've only ever had coffee here but the selection of cakes and savouries in the cabinet looks delicious and very tempting. Looking around, the meals that were ordered by other patrons did look attractive and plentiful. Wait staff were pleasant too.

We really like the coffee here - lovely flavour.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshMaiden_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
106 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good tripadvisor tip”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Glad we went with Tripadvisor guidance on this one. Terrific breakfast pretty much right on the water in Mandurah. Lovely ambiance, beautiful setting and very friendly staff.

Whilst I found eating out in WA generally pricey, my companion and I each had the big breakfast, one vego and one not, both good value and plenty of variety.

The vego big breakfast consisted of beans in a tasty, slightly spicy tomato sauce, eggs to your liking, avocado, baby spinach, mushrooms and toast. Excellent coffee also on both mornings that we were there.

The Merchant appears to be well frequented by both locals and visitors alike and it is easy to see why.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank est_888_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“good service”
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

A busy well run place there is usually a bit of a wait to order especially on the weekend but the fast service means you dont wait long before your drink and food arrive. Which good and tasty.
The setting is fantastic on the edge of the estuary.
Well worth a visit

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank fremantle32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Merchant Tea and Coffee also viewed

Mandurah, Western Australia
Mandurah, Western Australia
 
Mandurah, Western Australia
 
Mandurah, Western Australia
Mandurah, Western Australia
 

Been to The Merchant Tea and Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing