We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and friendly staff”
Review of Cafe Coast

Cafe Coast
Ranked #11 of 186 Restaurants in Mandurah
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Mandurah, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Welcoming and friendly staff”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We visited Cafe coast on a Sunday morning, and it has a very comfortable laid back feel. The staff are friendly and helpful, and we didn't wait too long for our order. Being a cool sunny morning we sat close to the modern inset gas fire which fits in well with the decor. This was a pleasant way to spend an hour or so on a Sunday morning and we will be back again without hesitation.
Either outside overlooking the water and boats, or inside are both ideal spots to eat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kollectem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    68
    12
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“usually really good”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

CAFE COAST generally does amazing food and the service is great ,i love there lunch specials, and ive neva had a bad meal or service until my most recent time there.

i had a reservation for my birthday ,we all arrived on time and the place was very busy.they did have a huge booking which clearly there were not enough chefs to accommodate to all the tables.

our server didnt have the best mannerism ,and the manager didnt seemed to be to proactive and had a "what do you want me to do about it" attitude! We waited 1hr 15mins for 5 dishes which included 2x salads ,pasta,fish n chips,parmy, n 2kids meals .not once were we apologized to while waiting for our food and the server kept telling us "oh it will be a few minutes" without even checking in with the kitchen.after speaking to the manager he did say waiting over 1 hr for food isn't good enough "but what else do you want me to do about it".he did offer us complimentary drinks but we had already ordered drinks which were fare to strong even after asking for them to be topped with lemonade.

All the dishes were nice except 1 the seafood pasta was swimming in warmish sauce the linguine was broken up and the prawns n fish were over done and i found a piece of what look to be burnt coating of a fry pan? or burnt slices of something of a cast iron pan? I told the server who said she would show the manager .she never reported back to me what the manager said even tho i asked her twice what he said and she just told me "if you wanted to you can speak to the manager" and pointed towards him.

the manager found it hard to engage in conversation with me as i had to make the first move.he did say that the server had spoken to him about my meal.I told him it wasn't good enough to find that in my food after waiting so long for it ,he didn't seem to care he never apologized about it just said "well i didn't see it" .i did tell him i had worked in busy restaurants before so i understand everyone is under the pump but that shouldn't compromise the quality of food or service,. he ended up agreeing not to charge me for the meal, but still charged us all for our drinks that we ordered when we first sat down!

If we received a more apologetic and genuine service we would of felt less annoyed and more understanding.they should tell there customers if there is going to be a long wait on food !

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kiraleejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockingham, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“great venue”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

was visiting a friend at port bouvard marina and decided to stay for drinks and dinner at Café Coast, wow great service and food and view overlooking the marina

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We found Cafe Coast by mistake while looking for somewhere to just sit eat and relax
The Cafe itself doesn't look inviting but once you are in the restaurant wow !
You are shown to your table with the most pleasant and friendly smile
A great array of food on the menu plus they are licensed
Just a real nice relaxing atmosphere overlooking the water and marina

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VicRoyJa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Excellent service and meals plus lovely views.
The curry and the warm squid and prawn salad were to die for - compliments to the chef.
We'll be back - thank you

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loub52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Coast also viewed

Mandurah, Western Australia
Mandurah, Western Australia
 
Mandurah, Western Australia
 

Been to Cafe Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing