We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great inside - smelly out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mandurah Quay Resort
Certificate of Excellence
perth
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great inside - smelly out”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Recently had five nights here. Guaranteed room rate was disputed until I produced confirmation despite deposit having been paid. Guaranteed restaurant voucher was also refused. Restaurant not open for breakfast till 9am. Which I thought was strange for a resort at peak time of year.
Advertised that crab nets were available but when went to hire them was advised only three and they had already been taken.
Rooms nice and roomy, very clean and comfortable however toilet in one bathrooms did not flush.
Outside a different story. Big dump bins full and with rubbish spilling out onto the roadway and bin lids unable to be closed because of build up of rubbish.
Outside area grubby with paper plates, plastic water bottle and plastic bags clearly visible outside of room in garden beds. Smell from fish or crab offal permeated pool area.
Would think twice about staying here at busy times. Also spoke to other pool users who were not guests but locals who purchased yearly membership for pool and gym area who also brought visiting friends with them.
Overall rather disappointed in outside area which let the whole place down as it seemed in need of proper and regular cleaning and maintenance.

Room Tip: Upstairs room best less noise and more fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dustoff70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    32
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
41
10
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
286 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Stayed here for a wedding and arrived a couple of hours before - time to shower and get ready. We were horrified to find the apartment full of furniture, it was obviously being used as a store room. I knew the place was fully booked and was unsure what would happen. We clearly couldn''t use any of the downstairs area with a couch blocking the kitchen.
The staff dealt with the situation promptly however, quickly moving us to another apartment before emptying the apartment of all the furniture ready for the next guests. They offered and we accepted a complimentary breakfast for the family. However we did waste precious time sorting the situation out.
Apartment itself was great, very clean, had everything we needed and over looked the pool.
The pool was really lovely but many items in the gym didn't work - treadmill wouldn't start and couldn't get the computer to work on the exercise bike. That was disappointing as we always start our day in the gym.
The wedding was held in the grounds and was fabulous. A lovely setting overlooking the water. We couldn't fault the staff who worked tirelessly serving drinks, canapes and then the meal itself. We enjoyed the meal.
Breakfast the next day was good and we found staff to be very friendly which makes all the differance.
All up we would go back if we had to stay for a special occasion but wouldn't choose it for a family trip. This is simply because we want to use all amenities so if a place advertises a gym, we want to use it.
We had no problems with the staff so I hope the employer appreciates them.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrswinendine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We stayed at the resort over the weekend for a wedding.
The reception staff were lovely, however they did point us in the wrong direction for the wedding which was being conducted on their grounds. The apartment itself was nice and clean, but didnt much like the fact we had to put the outdoor furniture on the veranda ourselves. the stairwell leading up to the room could do with a bit of personality and a good clean. We ound the bar staff to be surly and miserable, I have neer been to a wedding where you are told that they couldnt serve drinks at the bar as they were too busy serving food, which was at best a poor average, the prawn bisque tasted like tomato soup with a piece of prawn toast placed in the middle, we couldnt find the potato gnocchi in the mains and the cheese board looked like the selection ones you buy from Woolies when you are having a bbq. The bar closed at 9.30 - the staff were tired.. poor servce guys - not recommended..

Room Tip: There is nothing I can recommend - the resort is right on the water's edge, but the rooms do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerthTravelmode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
f0110wer, Director of Sales at Mandurah Quay Resort, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Hi there

We would like to say thanks to you for your comments both constructive and positive. On hearing of your issues from your guest comment we did try to contact you, and left messages but unfortunately at this stage we have not had any response.
As part of our philosophy, if a guest does not feel they recieve the best service then we like to follow this up with our staff members as we understand that we are only as good as our weakest link. Therefore follow up is important to us.

It is very disapointing that you were not happy with the bisque, it is a dish that is an aquired taste. In a wedding we are very mindful that all meals go out as quickly as possible so have all hands on deck to ensure the nights timeline goes on as close to plan as possible. However, your feedback has definately been noted and we will look to ensure that someone remains in the bar during service of food in case of this sort of event occurs again.

The bar did close at 9.30pm as that was the request of the wedding party on that particular evening. However, we really wanted to speak to you personally on this as you would have been able to purchase your own drinks if you required to do so.

Once again our team really appreciates all feedback so thanks for taking the time to let us know
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We have stayed at this resort for an annual conference for the past three years and always love returning. The apartments are spacious with really comfortable king size beds in the master room. We also love the spa bath :). What particularly stands out for me compared to other apartment hotels we've stayed at in WA is the service. The staff at the front desk and particularly the restaurant are so friendly and helpful. They bend over backwards to help and were very accommodating of our baby. We always look forward to staying here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stresslesscate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We went to this resort as it was supposed to be 4 star. I would say it is more like 2 or 3 star. The concept is good, nice apartments all overlooking the pool and gym, but it has been left to age. The gym was worn, treadmill not working and a rowing machine with blocks of wood as the footrests. The apartment had everything you need, but ours smelt very musky. The dining room seats were holed. Even the bedspread had holes to the liner. Such a shame, because this place could be great.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sazzle73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We have stayed here many times to visit family in the area, we are from interstate, It is in a nice quiet area but away from the CBD so you will need a car to get around. The apartments are clean, comfortable and spacious. The staff are friendly and you can enjoy a coffee and cake at their on site restaurant by the water. The kitchen is fully equipped, but there are no ovens. The pool area is lovely and there is a tennis court and gym. We won't stay anywhere else in Mandurah.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nedkellie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We needed a break and took up their eco kids package the accommodation was great for the kids they had time swimming in the pool and played tennis. We took the kids on the walkway although we did not do the whole distance it was great for the kids to try and find the birds. the rooms where comfortable and clean too.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kianna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandurah hotels
2.7 mi away
Seashells Mandurah
Seashells Mandurah
#1 of 7 in Mandurah
515 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Sebel Mandurah
The Sebel Mandurah
#2 of 7 in Mandurah
942 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quest Mandurah
Quest Mandurah
#3 of 7 in Mandurah
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Atrium Hotel Mandurah
Atrium Hotel Mandurah
#7 of 7 in Mandurah
368 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mandurah Family Resort
Mandurah Family Resort
#6 of 7 in Mandurah
37 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dolphin Quay Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandurah Quay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandurah Quay Resort

Property: Mandurah Quay Resort
Address: 40 Marina Quay Dr | Erskine, Mandurah, Western Australia 6210, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Mandurah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Mandurah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandurah Quay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beautiful Peel Inlet beach, Located only 70 km from Perth airport. Mandurah Quay Resort is the perfect place for your holidays or a corporate getaway. The Mandurah resort and marina sit on 155 sq kilometres of protected inland waterways. It is surrounded by unspoiled bird conservation areas with great hiking trails. Mandurah Quay Resort offers a spectacular function centre and accommodation which holds up to 200 people. Located in a beautiful setting, delectable cuisine and great service goes hand in hand at Mandurah Quay Resort. The self contained spa villas offer spacious accommodation whether it be for a corporate business person, or a family of 6. All the Villas overlook: 22 metre free form swimming pool Gymnasium 2 full sized tennis courts. The ambiance of the Waterside Restaurant located at Mandurah Quay Resort allows guests to relax outdoors or in, while gazing at the beautiful private marina and estuary. The cuisine is the focus of this restaurant and the team look forward to creating a memorable dining experience for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandurah Quay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Mandurah
Mandurah Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing