We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Bother!”
Review of Karri Forest Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Karri Forest Motel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Pemberton
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't Bother!”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This motel was terrible and it should be knocked down. When my partner and I arrived, the reception was dark and no one was around to greet us. Instead a bell was on the reception counter with a message saying to press for service. A couple of minutes later after pressing the bell, a male came to the counter. This male, whom I'm assuming was the motel manager, was very strange, unfriendly and hardly made eye contact with me or my partner. He was very brief, abrupt and unprofessional in manner. An odd character. We did not feel welcomed, especially after the long tiring drive from Perth.

The room was clean and tidy. The air conditioner however, was one of the old school units built into brick and it was terrible!! Noisy and blowing hot air so we had to turn it off. Worst of all, there was no one around to make a complaint about this issue!

There was a sign outside the motel's Restaurant saying it was closed due to "the chef's injury". My partner and I thought this was ridiculous and unprofessional placing a sign like this for guests to read.

I would never stay at this motel again and do not recommend it to others.

If you can afford to spend a little more than $140 per night, then do it and spend your hard earned money elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    66
    48
    18
    24
See reviews for
33
107
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed here for a week as we could self cater. The whole place is a bit old and tired, however it is in a good location, is clean and tidy except for the powerful room deodoriser that the cleaners used. Asked not to use it they complied without question. Our room had an old in-the-wall air conditioner which we didn't need to use, thank God. Some other rooms had splits so I suppose ours was on the list. Did not use the restaurant although it had a good reputation. Happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Connor2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

At the reception, we waited for quite some time after ringing the bell at the desk. And the "manager"(only person there with no name not bother to greet and introduce himself). Rooms were dirty, with cobwebs all over. We rejected the room and he threw up a big fuss. Rude and idiotic maniac with a huge ego! Don't ever go to this place....ever!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pemberton hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We were just stopping for one night and needed something easy, cheap and cheerful.

This is it.

Nothing special but perfectly fine. Very clean.

Walls are not very sound proof and an unpleasant odour wafts by occasionally. Also smelt this same odour around town and it would seem the septic tanks are perhaps still in use here ??

But the shower was hot, the bed comfortable and we had the lovely sounds of chickens next door to wake us in the morning :-)

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BronaJoy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We were happy with our room. It was clean, a good size and also we found a lovely cat to pat. Nothing extreme but more than adequate for our needs. Would recommend to others and stay there again. There is a restaurant on site which although we did not eat there appeared to have a good menu and the pool area and surrounding grounds are lovely.

Room Tip: Front rooms have lovely outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This was a very unfortunate experience as part of our three month tour of WA. To say this was a filthy dirty, unkempt istablishment with a very unpleasant owner. We moved out with immediate effect of being shown our room, we tried to point out the failings of the rooms with the owner, he appeared totally oblivious of the failings. I also have some reservations with regard to the tourist information centre in Margaret River who offered this as an option, although they did not actually recommend this motel, neither did they appear to have any reservations of offering it as an option, they must have had many complaints in this respect, as they did from me the following morning

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manjimup
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2013

this motel gave 30 elderley residents a free lunch with all the trimmings ,and they made such a difference ,all these elderley residents came back with a smile on there faces and raved about the great service and food .a very big thank you to all
they deserve to be recognized for there generosity and great food .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pemberton
0.9 mi away
The Forest Lodge Resort
The Forest Lodge Resort
#1 of 6 in Pemberton
178 reviews
10.3 mi away
Karri Valley Resort
Karri Valley Resort
#2 of 6 in Pemberton
485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Pemberton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gloucester Motel & Restaurant
14.5 mi away
Kingsley Motel
Kingsley Motel
#2 of 5 in Manjimup
59 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rainbow Trail Chalets
Rainbow Trail Chalets
#3 of 27 in Pemberton
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karri Forest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karri Forest Motel

Property: Karri Forest Motel
Address: 20 Widdeson Street, Pemberton, Western Australia 6260, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Pemberton
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Pemberton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karri Forest Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic town of Pemberton, on 2 acres of cottage gardens, around pool & BBQ area, this 3.5 quality motel is just the place to center your visit to WA's South West. National Parks, Bibbulmun Track, Gloucester Tree, Tree Top Walk (1.5 hrs drive), 4WD & River Tours, World Class Wines and local arts and crafts all on your doorstep. Also award winning Silver Birch Restaurant on site - an experience in itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Karri Forest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Pemberton
Pemberton Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing