We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Second time back. Had almost forgotten how good...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Marri House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Pemberton, Western Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Sandgrope...
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Second time back. Had almost forgotten how good this place is!”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Arrived and was struck again by how clean, tidy and well setup the house is. Stumbled across the complimentary fruit bowl which had some of the most amazing stone fruits I have tasted. The fire was set ready to go, and the fridge was stocked with fresh eggs from the chickens and some milk ready for breakfast. Super comfortable beds and luxurious linen made for a very comfortable stay. Seems the region is really embracing its foodie culture with some great local produce.
Great house, great location. Will be back again for sure. Thanks again Kathy and Don.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2015
Thanks, Blaise - we look forward to seeing you back again soon & hope to have some fresh new seasonal produce from the garden for you!
Kind regards,
Kathy & Don
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandview...
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“WOW! We were blown away!”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

From my first inquiry Kathy has been prompt, warm and welcoming with her responses.

We were arriving late on a cold afternoon. Kathy kindly provided us with detailed instructions on how to navigate to Marri House, let ourselves in and light the fire that only required a lit match to get it going because she wasn't going to be back until after our anticipated arrival.

We also had a flock of Kookaburra's greet us in her absence - 6 in total. How impressive!

Marri House is stunning. We had planned to do a number of walks during our 3 night stay but only managed 2. We loved hanging out at Marri House. So relaxing and peaceful.

Nothing has been overlooked and I mean NOTHING. Everything you could want for is there which makes self catering delightful.

90% of our holiday accommodation is always in self-catering properties and we have never come across anything like Marri House in our travels here in Australia or overseas.

Congratulations Don and Kathy for creating a very special place for visitors to enjoy. A home away from home in fact.

We will certainly be telling all our friends and will certainly not hesitate in staying at Marri House should we be visiting the area in the future.

We were so sad that we only had 3 nights here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful & relaxing ambience; how beautifully furnished, equipped and welcoming Marri House is.
Liked least: If I had to be picky - no window furnishings on the windows/door from kitchen to outdoor area.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgewas...
1 review
“Awesome accommodation, home away from home.”
Reviewed 6 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Kathy is amazing!! Goes above and beyond!! Beautiful house, beautiful service. Will make your stay well and truly worth the value. Can't wait for next year x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2015
What a lovely comment - thank you. It is our pleasure to look after all of our wonderful guests. We look forward to welcoming you back next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missnoi
1 review
“Great house ,Best service”
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We loved Marri House eventhough we stayed only one night,we got very nice and warm welcome from Kathy.My kids love the game and board game she provide in the living room. All three Bedroom were all nice and very clean. The kitchen has evething I need. Stay with Marri House , it makes our days in Pemberton was perfect! Thank you so munch :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2015
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are glad you found Marri House clean, well equipped and everything to your liking and that you enjoyed your stay (albeit short) in Pemberton in the beautiful Southern Forests of Western Australia. We look forward to welcoming you back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisamac2
2 reviews
“Incredible house and hospitality!”
Reviewed 22 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed here for a weekend with 4 adults and 2 children and it was ideal! The cleanliness, layout and functionality of the house was perfection. Everything was provided for our arrival and stay, including fresh eggs, a local bottle of wine, coffee pods and even sauces! Kathy and Don have thought of everything! Our personal welcome was great, followed by Kathy showing our girls how to find eggs and helping us select a venue to go for dinner. The location of Marri House is also perfect, nestled in a quiet street only a short stroll from town. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer! Will definitely be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2015
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and found Marri House to your liking. It was fun for us that the girls enjoyed the chickens and exploring the garden. We enjoyed meeting the family and look forward to welcoming you back! Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rlfbark
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Luxury holiday House!”
Reviewed 17 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Stayed with 3 friends from interstates for 3 nights.
From reading TA reviews, I knew it's going to be luxurious place but it well exceeded my expectation.

Marri house is situated less than 1km from centre of town and edge of Forrest.
It was beautiful to walk many walking tracks around. Lovely outdoor lounge with hammock and BBQ & outdoor table to relax.
Immaculately clean and beautifully decorated incorporating Marri timber & pattern.
Everything in Marri House is very high quality/standard.
Chef kitchen with high quality appliances, pots & pans, utensils, plenty of cutlery, crockery, glassware.
Fully equipped laundry also.
The owner Kathy and Don think of everything and they asked for more suggestions which we couldn't think of any. There is absolutely everything we needed. To mention few; Washer & Drier, Iron & Iron board, dishwashers, rice cooker, sandwich maker, toaster, Nespresso Coffee machine. I've been travelling a lot but never seen such well-furnished /equipped accommodation before.

Kathy sent us very detailed email after booking is made and another one few days before our arrival. She really made us so welcome and comfortable, I will definitely go back to Marri house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Chef Kitchen
Liked least: None to mention
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2015
Thank you for your generous comments - we enjoyed meeting you & your friends & look forward to welcoming you back any time! It's great that you found the location so convenient & all the quality items you needed. We take pride in keeping Marri House spotless & contemporary, & are lucky to have good friends who designed & made all the beautiful furniture using local Marri timber. We love having guests in Marri House! Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theobald...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Could not be bettered”
Reviewed 6 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed for a couple of nights last week. There is really not much more to be said than the heading above: everything was pretty much perfect. The place is spacious and spotless, well-planned, well-kept, well-presented. It's on a quiet and leafy road about ten minutes walk from the town centre, so fine for both access to town and for peace and quiet.

The charming and helpful owners asked for feedback for improvements, and the only thing we could think of was to point out that one of the bathroom soap dispensers had jammed. If you want to stay in comfort in Pemberton, this is the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing