We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't be disappointed!”
Review of On The Beach Noosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
On The Beach Noosa
Ranked #29 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Noosa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This property is located right on the main street of Noosa, about 2/3rd along the beach from the eastern end and has absolute water frontage. We spent 4 nights at the end of May in room 15, a royal suite on the first floor facing the beach. From the moment we arrived right throughout our stay the staff were absolutely fantastic- Anita and Jana on the front desk, ever ready with a smile, were full of helpful information and local knowledge about Noosa, and Ann, the manager, who showed us to our room couldn't do enough to assist us throughout our brief stay.
The room was presented in an immaculate condition. Clean and tidy, all the modern conveniences you would expect from a property of this stature. Even beach towels were provided at check in! Our room overlooked the beach from one floor above the Bistro C restaurant and although an extremely popular eatery, there was no appreciable noise. The large balcony consisted of a private jacuzzi, table with four chairs and two sun chairs plus BBQ.
There is a easily accessible carpark located directly below with more than enough room for a standard car.
The pool, whilst small, is certainly adequate plus a rare feature- steam room- is adjacent to the pool. Access to the beach via a door means you are less than a minute from room to Noosa's famous beach.
We had a problem with the glass shower door not closing properly. Once brought to the attention of the cleaning staff, management responded promptly and fixed the door within 30 minutes.
One huge plus of this property is its convenient location to Hastings Street, particularly to a fabulous bakery at your doorstep (opens 5:30am) along with a fairly well stocked small supermarket. A quick dash down each morning for an early morning coffee was a real treat.
I can't fault this property and although not necessarily cheap, the location, staff, presentation all add up to excellent value along a street with enormous competition. This place is ideal for couples and although children will be well accommodated here, we didn't see any families during our stay. In fact, we were told by management that the occupancy was around 60% BUT we didn't see anybody else, save for one couple swimming in the pool!
We enjoyed our stay at On The Beach so much that we are coming back next May for 10 nights.

Room Tip: Room 15, 16 on the first floor have large balconies facing directly to the beach with excellent view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M0ntauban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

We have just got back from Noosa. It never fails to please. On the Beach was comfortable ,accessible and peaceful. A great beach view and didn't have to go far to experience the food or the beach.
This is the first time we have stayed at On the Beach and staff and accom were very pleasant.
We would recommend 2nd floor, Penthouse 25 was very nice.

Room Tip: Make reservations to eat out online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Spent 3weeks there in February again in March. April . We have been visiting
Noosa and staying beach front for around 28 years. Having tried most of the resorts we have spent the last 5years at On The Beach. Not being a good sleeper I have been known to go for a stroll at night . Having met the security guard on many an occasion, it's good to know he regards On The Beach as the safest and most secure place in Noosa.
The staff are more than competent ,able to handle many a situation and help whenever asked.
The pool and accommodation are spotless and the domestic staff the most pleasant crew that I have encountered anywhere.
Needless to say I highly recommend this place ,especially for couples both young and old .
J from Tasmania
Have already booked to return for two stays next year. The royal penthouse with 2spars . Can't wait.

Room Tip: All rooms have that romantic feel. All have a view and great spas .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

On the Beach is located off Hastings street - Noosa's main strip. It is one of a limited number of properties in Noosa which truly offers beachfront access. It is literally two steps across the walkway from the front of the property to the edge of the beach.
We were in a penthouse apartment which featured a second floor area looking directly out into the bay. The area also had a spa bath and meals preparation area. It was a really perfect way to end each day having a drink and taking in the view. Our apartment was well appointed and very comfortable. The amenities, including the pool were also very good. We would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Planning for my better half's "big" Birthday began months ago.

Actually making bookings and reservations... not so much. ("Is it April already? %*$^!").

Hence we ended up at OTB (On The Beach) pretty much by default, as it was a long weekend and Noosa was heavily booked already. I was keen to have a relaxed beach weekend, and we achieved that- and more- in spades.

I was a little apprehensive as it had not been my first pick, but I think it was an outstanding hotel. We had a 'penthouse' with a rooftop spa and BBQ area, and it was amazing. The decor was up to date, the room as clean as a whistle, and the lovely chaise longue just perfect. The rooftop area was beautiful: we did not make it up there during daylight, but were pleased to see that there was plenty of shade available for those of us with easily burned complexions. Tip: we filled the spa at sunset and then watched the stars come out from in the spa- so very romantic and lovely.

The location cannot be beaten: the beach is at your door, and it is so nice to be able to immediately come back off the beach to your room (although we managed to detour by the pool most times). Bistro C is downstairs as is a convenience store ("supermarket") downstairs for any essentials plus fruit, bread, milk, cereal. There is a pharmacy across the road, a food court maybe 50 metres down the road and easy walking access to most of Noosa's attractions. We didn't hire a car, and we didn't feel we needed to.

Reception staff were helpful and cheery: Jana organised Limo transport for us at the very last moment which was excellent customer service.

Another nice touch was that the 'guest lounge' includes a shower (complete with towel and basic shampoo and body wash) so that after you have checked out, you can still go to the beach and swim without having to worry about boarding a plane with sand between your toes (and other body cavities). (Which sounds romantic but would be bloody uncomfortable, especially on Crapstar's tiny seat pitch).

Small nit-picking: the rooftop kitchen area did not have any utensils so we had to troop back downstairs to get them. Perhaps the BBQ tongs and basics (like a bottle opener) might be an idea. There is not a grill or oven, only the cooktop and a microwave (so no cheese on toast-ies!). There are no basic condiments (salt and pepper might be nice). The shower does leak a little, so make sure you have the mat near the door. Finally the roller blinds whilst funky, have an inch-wide gap between them and the morning sun is STRONG especially when you are a tad hungover.

Now many of the bad reviews fro this place seem to hinge on two things: first, the placement of the shower, and secondly, the size and location of the rooms.

To answer the first- well, yes, it IS an odd location. But it is also funky, and, if the walls were opaque, it would add to the impression that the place was even smaller. I actually liked it, and I'm fairly body conscious (read: I'm fat). For the second- yes, the rooms are on the smaller side, but I thought there was some excellent points: the balcony roof shaded the 'lounge' area of the room so that the room did not end up feeling like an oven despite facing the sun all day (snaps for passive solar design), and the throughflow of light from the massive windows made up for it. No, one does not have an uninterrupted panorama of the beach, but it is still a mighty fine view. And by going for a very short walk, you are ON the beach itself!

Finally, this is a serviced-apartment style accommodation, not a 5-star flipping chain hotel, so, yes, you do occasionally have to do things for yourself (like open doors and push lift buttons). Yes, the pool is deep and a trifle small, but there is an enormous, flippingly lovely BEACH just outside, so maybe be brave and go outside of the gate. Yes, it is on the high side dollars-wise, but there is plenty of budget-minded accommodation in Noosa, and the beachside location does NOT come cheap at any establishment.

Small nit-picking (and this is really fine-print stuff): the rooftop kitchen area did not have any utensils so we had to troop back downstairs to get them. Perhaps the BBQ tongs and basics (like a bottle opener) might be an idea. There is not a grill or oven, only the cooktop and a microwave (so no cheese on toast-ies for which I had an unaccountable craving!). There are no basic condiments (salt and pepper might be nice). The shower does leak a little, so make sure you have the mat near the door. Finally the roller blinds whilst funky, have an inch-wide gap between them and the morning sun is STRONG especially when you are a tad hungover.

Overall, my better half thought it was his best birthday... EVER. OTB played a huge role in that and I'm oh-so-glad my shoddy last-minute booking habits got us there. Bravo.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the centre will have better views. The rooftop spa is worth the extra cash, as stargazi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I booked the Corner Beachfront Suite but was disappointed to pay nearly $400 a night only to find that due to the design of the building, the definition of 'beachfront' here actually means 'at the rear of the complex closer to Hastings Street'... far away from the beach, with no view unless you lean over the railing. Although generally it was a nice room, the balcony was small, had uncomfortable chairs and was basically unappealing. There's many good things about On The Beach and for the price you'd expect there would be, but unfortunately I can only remember the flaws, such as the parking garage's oppressive 40 degree heat that smelt of fishy garbage (we held our breath and ran for the car only to breathe once back inside the car. We laugh about it now but it really was awful), or the baked bean smell that came out of the ensuite each morning (on the first occasion my wife accused me of this until I advised I hadn't used the loo yet). The design of the rooms is a bit odd as the shower is right next to the bed which usually left water on the floor (not to mention the discomfort of having someone watch you having a shower). The pool area was small and closed in by high perspex walls giving that 'fishtank' feel, but it felt so small that having more than one group of people there felt like you were intruding on the others. Jana on reception was nice. I've stayed all along Hastings Street and feel that there is better value elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't choose the Corner Beachfront Suite - its not on the beachfront at all. I also wouldn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We have just returned from a month in Australia & one of our highlights was " On the Beach "
Beautiful accomadation equipped to a high standard ,fantastic location ,our Royal Penthouse was amazing.
So wonderful to wake in the morning & lay in bed gazing at the view .
We could not believe a few ( very few ) bad comments made on the trip advisor page when we were researching our accomadation ,its as if these people were writing about completly different aptos.
We found every thing to be of the very highest standard ,the apto was beautifully furnished everything you could ask for was provided & on a long holiday it was great to be able to do our washing & drying in the laundry.
So many places to eat we were spoilt for choice but nothing beat eating under the stars on our upper terrace using the bar b que provided ,so romantic .
Another thing we really liked was the bedroom / shower /bathroom layout , the shower was spacious & added to the romantic feel of the whole layout.
We enjoyed the pool & sunbathing area ,good to be able to find some shade from the sun on the beach just outside the pool gate ,this place lives up to its name ," On the Beach."
Beach towels were provided as & when required as well as bathrobes .
We had the pleasure of meeting Ann the manager who makes a point of greeting all guests at some point during their stay .
Her team of staff were equally charming & helpful.
One plus for us was the lack of children ,there is nothing for them & it really is a romantic stay for couples or friends wanting peace & quiet .
We had booked for 6 nights but were so reluctant to move from this amazing accomadation we extended for an extra two nights ,
Thank you everybody ,we will be sure to return one day.

Room Tip: Royal suites are fantastic ( only 2 ) but we viewed some smaller suites & all were fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magic71421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Noosa hotels
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Noosa
The Sebel Noosa
#7 of 10 in Noosa
734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tingirana Noosa
Tingirana Noosa
#18 of 140 in Noosa
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Netanya Noosa
Netanya Noosa
#6 of 10 in Noosa
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Seahaven Noosa
Seahaven Noosa
#2 of 19 in Noosa
266 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Mer Beachfront Apartments
La Mer Beachfront Apartments
#2 of 7 in Sunshine Beach
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison Noosa - Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On The Beach Noosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On The Beach Noosa

Address: 49 Hastings St | Noosa Heads, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Noosa
Price Range: £252 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — On The Beach Noosa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At On The Beach Noosa Resort with the luxury apartments you will discover understated yet elegant couples style accommodation which is designed to compliment the natural beauty of our surrounds and perfect Noosa beachfront location. Every room at On The Beach Noosa, facilitates the requirements for your perfect weekend escape or complete Noosa holiday at its best. On The Beach Accommodation Noosa provides the perfect vantage point for our guests. We are located right on the beachfront of Laguna Bay and in the heart of Hastings Street, it's a short walk to a variety of restaurants and shops. There are so many ways to fill a day. Swim at secluded crystal bays, enjoy perfect waves, explore the National Park and walking trails or take in the magnificent views of the coastline and hinterland ranges, from our doorstep. Noosa's stunning natural elements are the very essence of On The Beach, where you will feel the magic of Noosa from the first moment you arrive, slip off your shoes and into your swimmers....relax, unwind, explore the sandy foreshores of Laguna bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your On The Beach Noosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Beach Noosa Hotel Noosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing