We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are planning a visit - Book now”
Review of Wasabi

Wasabi
Ranked #70 of 337 Restaurants in Noosa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$80 - US$150
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Wasabi restaurant & bar, overhanging the scenic Noosa River, opposite the Noosa Recreation Reserve, is the brainchild of owner and Young Restaurateur of the Year Award recipient Danielle Gjestland. The entirely waterfront dining space has spectacular river views with amazing sunset vistas by day and a warm, contemporary, intimate dining space by night. Voted Queensland's #1 regional restaurant for the 2015 Good Food Guide, awarded two chefs hats, listed in Gourmet Travellers top 100 restaurants, and voted Queensland's Hottest Restaurant in the Australians Hot 50 List, Wasabi's food has a contemporary sensibility that is still deep rooted in Japanese purity.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“If you are planning a visit - Book now”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I had a wonderful meal here with my good friends on the long weekend. My party was greeted warmly by Danielle who keeps a watchful eye over everything going on in this very stylish, yet calm and relaxing restaurant. The decor and dinnerware are in keeping with the Japanese aesthetic and there is an option to eat Japanese syle. The restaurant showcases the freshest local produce and the staff are very knowledgeable. We opted for one of the banquets for two and were not disappointed. The winelist is very good and for those who like their bubbles there is a wonderful array of champagne. DO NOT MISS.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatienceSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    92
    38
    28
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tuross Head, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great food and efficient very friendly service”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The service from our waiter was impeccably efficient and very friendly and helpful. The texture and flavours of the dishes were very well balanced - I had delicious gyozo dumplings filled with pork, bamboo shoot, with yuzu zest, a spicy ponzu dipping sauce and seasonal vegetable pickle. I also had the tempura dish of prawns, rock oyster and local reef fish with umeboshi, honeysuckle hill's shishoto pepper and lotus root, served with kambu salt and tentsuyu sauce. My infused creme anglais dessert with raspberry sorbet was fantastic.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gwyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Country Vic
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food and Service”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We ate here on a recent holiday - 5 of us choosing the degustation plan, which included a range of dishes.

The highlight was the third in the series which was incredibly thinly sliced sashimi, topped with an amazing array of flavours, and herbs, dripped in a grapefruit like and soy dressing. It danced on the tongues and I would go back just for that.

The service was also a highlight. The waiting staff were very knowledgeable and helpful, allowing us to taste wines and recommend matchings. A beautiful Pinot - by Farr from Geelong was stunning.

Overall - a great experience highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LovesAWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely sensational”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

You definitely get what you pay for at this restaurant. Nothing is cheap, but everything is outstanding. The ambience is romantic and sophisticated, and seating areas are private. We ordered a number of smaller entrée dishes, and kept ordering more as we finished the last. The waiter knew the menu well, offered a great recommendation for complimentary wine. We holiday from WA, and Wasabi is the first booking we make after booking our flights back to the Sunshine Coast.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Tasmania
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Hard to fault”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We chose the 7 course, chef's choice menu with matched drinks. We actually ended up with 9 courses, if one includes the complementary amuse bouche and dessert, and about 15 drinks after we demolished the sake menu.

Places of this quality are rare. Chatting to some of the other diners, it's clear people are prepared to pay up for what is, a special experience.

It was a deliberate decision to leave the choice up to the chef, as the menu is studded with little gems, and it's nearly impossible to build something as balanced, perfectly presented and sublime as what we were served.

The best Japanese I've ever had, including in Osaka, Kyota and Ashiya.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank morewine21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wasabi also viewed

 
Noosa, Sunshine Coast
 
Noosa, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Wasabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing