We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where did the spices go?”
Review of Mystic India

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mystic India
Ranked #164 of 334 Restaurants in Noosa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Where did the spices go?”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

In spite of the very good service, we found the food lacked any flavor that resembled an Indian spice. Very plain, very boring. and even food requested 'medium' or 'hot' was banal. Also I began to wonder how well the chicken pieces had been cleaned - they certainly weren't breast of chicken. I can't recommend an alternative Indian, but I can suggest visitors try one.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Otsale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    19
    7
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good Indian food”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Really liked this place - the dishes were a bit on the unusual side; service is very good and the nan is some of the best I've ever had.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank maddie1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Indian in Noosa”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Very good authentic Indian food, the whole family love it and we have been going for take aways since it opened

Helpful?
Thank Copa2251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosaville
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best Indian food I have enjoyed anywhere in Australia”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I have now had the greatest of pleasures of being able to say that I, my wife and our friends have had many opportunities over the last couple of years to have tasted, between us, nearly every dish available at this little restaurant.
Honestly, it hasn't been 100% all of the time, which is understandable, but, it is extremely good mostly. In the couple of years we have been going here we have had to send back only one dish.
The chef/owner Khan is a delightful and very friendly man that goes out of his way during the latter part of the evenings to personally visit the tables and talk to his customers. He has two particularly lovely young girls serving there and they have remained loyal to the restaurant over a number of years.
Everyone's taste expectations do vary, particularly with curries. I like mine hot and I am never disappointed. In general the curries, to me, seem milder than listed. I think his medium curries are mild, so that is why I always order the hot. I particularly like his prawn dishes which are full of so much flavour with succulent fresh Mooloolaba prawns used in the dish.
Don't expect a upmarket classy establishment. This is a 'locals' favourite situated behind the main street of Noosa Junction. It is small and can get very noisy if seated inside as the conversations are loud and there is always a big TV in the background belting out a Bollywood Dance movie. A seat outside should be requested particularly if it's a pleasant night.
One big plus - NO COCKAGE, so bring as much as you like or there is a bottle shop a short walk away.
Another big plus for us as my wife has coeliac disease is that the food here is GLUTEN FREE.
We just keep going back time after time.
They do close early. The last patrons are usually off by 9.30pm. They also can get very busy so it is advisable to book ahead.
They have a web site at: http://www.mysticindianoosa.com.au/

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank markrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gymea, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic Authentic Indian Food”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this authenticly decorated Indian restaurant, tucked around the back street of Noosa Junction, the service was great, the menu offered extensive variety and the food was just fantastic, like no Indian I have ever eaten before. A must try!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mystic India also viewed

 

Been to Mystic India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing