We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful, honest Indian food! Great attention to detail” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaali Gourmet Indian Restaurant

Kaali Gourmet Indian Restaurant
Ranked #105 of 333 Restaurants in Noosa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$35
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We have been tantalising the taste buds of locals as well as Tourists since 2009. We do have a range of house specialities like Kashmiri lamb Shanks, Prawn & Fresh mango Balti, Lamb Rarha ,Beef Nilgiri and many more . We have a good selection of Beers and wines to compliment the food. Do visit us in your next visit to Sunshine Coast, Noosa, Queensland. We currently are in the process of building a website and do not take responsibility for photos or information uploaded by third party. For correct information please call ,happy to help and assisit in any query. Thanks.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful, honest Indian food! Great attention to detail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Went to Kaali for dinner while holidaying in Noosa. Would not hesitate to recommend this lovely restaurant. Loved the complimentary amuse bouche soup...and were very well looked after by the delightful ladies. Exquisite chicken tikka and prawn pakora to start, followed by incredibly tasty lamb curry and elegant chicken goan. Pumpkin naan a surprising delight. Great value and lovely ambience and service. And we are very picky when it comes to Indian food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    68
    16
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Very nice food. It tastes fresh and smells amazing.

I'm addicted to their pumpkin naan bread, I have yet to find any other Indian restaurant with naan bread as tender as theirs. I wish I had some now...

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan2103, Owner at Kaali Gourmet Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 February 2015
Dear Guests,
Thanks for your kind words.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your meals and the hospitality.
We will be delighted to see you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I won the battle of Hastings (street Noosa)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Alerted by the aromatic fragrancer, we discovered at the quiet end of Hastings street, near the Spit is the delightfull Indian restuarant, with probablby the only good value food in Hastings st. Dont expect to pay $10.66, main courses are all about $20 - much less that the other expensive ripoff joints in hastings. We walked out of 2, horrified at having to pay $40 to $45 for a main meal each, and another $45 for a bottle of wine. Kaali is BYO, only charging $3 for corkage, and the food is delightful. Try the Kashmiri Lamb Shanks curry. Only criticism is they insisted on bringing all the mains at once, which meant they got cold.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CliffByron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan2103, Manager at Kaali Gourmet Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 January 2015
Dear guests thanks for your valuable time to post a review
. Team @kaali would like to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“GOOD HASTINGS STREET ALTERNATIVE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Having been to some of the more expensive restaurants in Hastings Street, we were looking to eat out somewhere a little lighter on the wallet. We ended up at Kaali and did not regret it. While nothing in Hastings Street is cheap this Indian restaurant was better than most. Our meals were delicious and the service was attentive. The restaurant is at the quieter end of the street and we spent an enjoyable evening eating outside under a tree watching the passing crowds. A take away menu was also available.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jools315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan2103, Manager at Kaali Gourmet Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 November 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your time to post a review.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed the food and service on multiple occasions in our restaurant .
See you soon!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Waking past this Indian restaurant (we have never had indian before) the smell was making our mouths water. With some help from the waitress we had the most delicious meal, even our 10 year old enjoyed it. We ended up going back a couple if nights later and will certainly be back when holidaying up here again!!!!Well worth it .

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendles71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan2103, Manager at Kaali Gourmet Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 January 2015
Thanks for your valuable time to post comment.
Team@kaali would like to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kaali Gourmet Indian Restaurant also viewed

 
Noosa, Sunshine Coast
Noosa, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Kaali Gourmet Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing