We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignorant”
Review of The Sebel Noosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sebel Noosa
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Noosa
Certificate of Excellence
Noosa, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Ignorant”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit for a special occasion with several other couples. All of us live on the Coast & thought given the idea of dinner & a few drinks, to stay at the Sebel would compliment the celebrations. We were hesitant to stay here again, our first experience was far from enjoyable with our room in Block 4 next to the lift & above the council bins which are emptied early & very loudly (Sunday). We are not ones to complain, though upon check out after being asked how was our stay, we did happen to mention this & promised if ever we were to return, being locals, this would never again happen. Low & behold, upon checking in again for the 2nd time we mentioned our previous experience & were promised we had a better, quieter & more appropriate room. Bollocks! It was a complete sham & we were in an identical room with the identical problems woken at the same time by the bins & listening to the lift well cascading up & down all night from our room. To be lied to is what was most upsetting, especially since my wife has only recently been able to socialise again with our friends after recovering from a long term illness. We saved for numerous months for this one night & feel as if we have been fleeced. Thank you Sebel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank SpiderPig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camjeffery2014, General Manager at The Sebel Noosa, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Sorry SpiderPig S,

Thank you for your response. Sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable stay.

It is extremely rare that I disagree with a guest, but having managed this team for four years now, they are the most delightful people I have had the pleasure to work with, and they are far from 'ignorant' and a 'sham'.

As discussed at the time of check out, we only have 5 rooms on each floor, so all rooms are not far from the elevator. The elevator machinery is in the basement also, so they do not produce any noise on the floors, and there are no bells and chimes, so we are not really sure what noise they actually produce. If anything we get guests say that they sometimes miss the elevator if they are not paying attention as the doors will open, then close before they notice the elevator has arrived.

In regards to the room assigned, you were placed in the room that you purchased. The rooms poolside are classed as our deluxe poolside rooms. I looked back at your booking, and you again specifically booked a room that was facing the road, and subsequently would have the council refuse truck go by, which is only a 5 minute procedure.

While you may not choose to stay at the hotel again. Whenever travelling please contact the hotel directly and give specifics of what you require and they will book you into the appropriate room. Our team here are highly trained to ensure every guest gets what they are after, even upon arrival, never hesitate to ask for a room move if it not the room you are after. Waiting until checkout is too late us to help you get into the room you are after.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Regards,
Cameron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    300
    96
    34
    6
See reviews for
192
374
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

The Sebel is well located in the middle of the shopping and cafe district, a block back from the beach. Our room was spacious, comfortable with a huge bathroom. The table was set, ready for us which made a welcoming touch. It is a bit of a stretch to say it had a full kitchen as two hot plates and a microwave doesn't mean a full kitchen to us and the cafés and restaurants around are very pricey. There is no restaurant or food outlet attached to the hotel so although it is part of the Accor group, you can't use the card for food discounts. The staff were very helpful and we would make a return stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CandAseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camjeffery2014, General Manager at The Sebel Noosa, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you CandAseven,

Thank you so much the feedback, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again sometime soon.

For those reading the reviews, to explain the kitchens are gallery kitchens in the One bedroom Apartments, meaning it has everything except an oven. They have a 2 burner stove, full size fridge, dishwasher, all the pots, pans, bowls etc to cook just about anything. The microwave is a convection oven which you can bake just about anything...it says you can do a roast...but I might give that a miss! In our Two bedrooms, they have the same, but a 4 burner stove and a full sized oven also.

All apartments also have a washer/dryer also which is sometimes a huge bonus.

See you again soon,

Regards,
Cameron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter Valley, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Sebel Noosa. Very nice apartments ideally located on Hastings street. Not on the beach but next best thing across the road. Spacious well maintained and clean with nice pool and car parking underneath. Courteous helpful staff at check in all good, would return

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebelNoosaGM, General Manager at The Sebel Noosa, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you Michael,

You are spot on, we are right over the road from the beach, and because we are not right on the beach, our rates land lower than those hotels. You get an affordable holiday, and one of Australia's best beaches only metres from your door.

Also, thanks for recognising the carpark...it sure is the unsung hero! Very rare do you find a hotel carpark that has more spaces than rooms...and it's undercover, secure and free!!!

See you back here soon.
Cameron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here on the 6/02/2014 to the 21/2/2014 and had a great stay
The room was clean and modern and the bed was very comfortable
the location was great.
When i was searching for hotels on hasting street noosa, i wanted daily housekeeping and not many hotels offer daily housekeeping and i was please when i found that the sebel had daily housekeeping...Only thing i will say, our housekeeping did arrive in the afternoon. it would have been nice if it was done in the mornings...but that is a small thing.
We stayed on the 3rd floor and it was Real quite

We extend out hotel stay by 5 days and the Girl who did the booking was happy to give me those extra 5 days at a special rate, which i was really happy with.

The only minor thing i will say is the pool times , the pool closed at 7PM. It would have been nice if we could go for a Night Dip in the pool on the hot nites.

I would recommend if anyone is going to stay on Hastings street, come to the sebel!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linahawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebelNoosaGM, General Manager at The Sebel Noosa, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you linahawk,

I enjoyed reading your response, even more so this morning reading it out to the team. Thank you.

It is sad to see that daily housekeeping is dying out in resort properties. Completely understand that in resorts that are apartments that having daily housekeeping can be a bit of an overkill, but here at The Sebel we like to look after our guests. In regards to timing, as our rooms are huge they take a long time to clean, and we madly go about cleaning all the change over rooms before our guaranteed arrival time of 2pm...then once we have all of those rooms done, we go about cleaning all our daily cleans. Due to staff availability, it is the only effective method...plus we found our guests like to sleep in, and 11am was still too early.

The 7pm closing time of the pool was also decided after some intensive discussions. Quite a number of the apartments look over the pool, and the complaints from noise coming from the area while guests were relaxing on thier balconies/rooms prompted the 7pm closure. It would be nice if it was just a couple going for a swim, but if it is a couple of kids, they can produce a lot of noise at times. Whenever I think of this subject, I keep remembering that National Lampoons Holiday movie when Chevy Chase's character jumps in the cold pool at night, and wakes the entire hotel up! Great movie!

See you again soon,
Cameron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My partner and I stayed at The Sebel Noosa, for 4 nights in February 2014!

On our arrival, the ladies at reception greeted us with a smile, and were absolutely lovely!

Our one bedroom apartment was very nice, and very pleasant to be in! We only really spent time in our room to shower etc. The bedroom/bathroom in our room was very nice, and daily house keeping was awesome. We also loved hanging out on the sun beds around the pool, which were great! The Sebel in my opinion has a great Pool setup!

Location, location, location! The Sebel is located in one of the best spots on the main drag of Hastings St. Don’t forget about the great Café “Aromas”, directly in front of the hotel.

Out of all the places I’ve stayed in Noosa over the past 10 years, this is by far the best hotel so far me in Noosa.

I will be back again in the near future!!

A

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebelNoosaGM, General Manager at The Sebel Noosa, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you Andrew,

I really enjoyed reading out your feedback to the team this morning...you actually got a cheer! Well done.

Thank you for recognising the great staff here...they certainly make it a joy to manage them each and every day.

I do hear many varied comments about the pool, and I completely recognise that every guest has different wants when it comes to hotel pools. While we will never have the largest resort pool in the world...I do hear a lot more happy comments than unhappy ones. I think on the whole...we don't have an olympic sized pool, nor slides or jumpy inflatable things...and that is what I love about it! It is a pool where you can swim, float and then lie on a 'mattress like' sun lounger. I am glad you liked the facility.

Andrew...I hope you have booked your next visit, having just walked through the pool areas, there are quite a number of sun loungers empty...so get out of the office, and head back up. The weather is absolutely glorious!

See you soon,
Cameron
General Manager

p.s. speaking of Aromas, I'm just heading down for my morning coffee...seriously the best coffee ever! I love working here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Noosa hotels
0.4 mi away
Noosa Blue Resort
Noosa Blue Resort
#3 of 10 in Noosa
520 reviews
2.3 mi away
Noosa Sun Motel & Holiday Apartments
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Noosa Pacific Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Peppers Noosa Resort and Villas
1.2 mi away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
1,195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Netanya Noosa
Netanya Noosa
#6 of 10 in Noosa
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Noosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Noosa

Property: The Sebel Noosa
Address: 32 Hastings St, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Noosa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Noosa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Noosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Noosa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just moments from Noosa’s main beach and surrounded by world-class restaurants, cafes and boutique stores, The Sebel Noosa is an oasis in the heart of cosmopolitan Hastings Street. Take the opportunity to lounge by the pool or bask in the sun along the beach, or simply escape in our Hampton inspired apartments, which are perfect for families, couples and groups. Free parking is available and entry to car-park is available from Noosa Parade, Noosa Heads. The Sebel Noosa aims to exceed guest expectations and ensure their experiences are memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sebel Noosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Resort Noosa Hotel Noosa
The Sebel Hotel Noosa
Sebel Noosa
Sebel Hotel Noosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing