We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lesson, very worthwhile” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merrick's Noosa Learn to Surf

Merrick's Noosa Learn to Surf
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great lesson, very worthwhile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had a great morning. 2 hours for $60 each.
The instructor was great, friendly, new his stuff and filled us in on safety first.
I would do this again, we both loved it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pinklizard84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    11
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great surf school in fantastic location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Good safety practices, our group had perfect learning conditions in small waves, two great instructors, everybody standing (to some extent) by the end of 2 hour lesson. The business of watching the students on each wave and providing feedback was taken seriously, but made fun too.

Some little suggestions for improvement:

- mobile EFT-POS for payment
- paper cups for the water at half time
- 2 min wrap up talk at the end. Chance to thank group & be thanked, get further bookings

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GREAT beginners lessons - ask for Grant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We were a little disappointed as these guys seemed a bit disorganised: I booked a surf lesson for three of us online several days before our trip, and we we're asked to turn up at 8:50 sharp. When we turned up on time we we're told the lesson had been overbooked and asked to come back at 1:30 - this messed up our day a little as we were hoping to hike to Alexandria Bay in the afternoon, and we ended up hanging around main beach all morning waiting for our lesson. HOWEVER the lesson was totally worth waiting for - Grant was our instructor he was a really great teacher, and managed our group (with mixed abilities) so everybody got some time with him and made progress in the lesson. Everybody learnt lots, had fun and felt very safe. We will definitely be heading up to Noosa for more surfing lessons from these guys! You should check them out!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Girlo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eumundi, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Amazing !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Everyone in the group stood up and actually SURFED...yayyy!!! Really fun and excellent instructions!!! Kids to much older travellers would enjoy this...safe......boards are soft so no bruises!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great lesson highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Our two boys 8 and 12 attended a two hour lesson, having never surfed before. The lesson was excellent and both boys were able to stand on a board by the end of the lesson. The techniques taught were easy to follow and the boys have been able to build on these following the lesson.
Thanks very much - highly recommend

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank KangoTodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Merrick's Noosa Learn to Surf also viewed

 
 

Been to Merrick's Noosa Learn to Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing