We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly hostel with personality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Halse Lodge Guesthouse YHA
Ranked #3 of 19 Noosa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly hostel with personality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

I stayed a few nights at Halse lodge, was welcomed by friendly staff and had an informative welcome meeting, free wine and a bit of history and "housekeeping" details. The rooms are a it cramped, and it lacks some of the amenities that newer YHAs have, but they do their best to look at the positives. Also very nice to offer safe mobile charging at the front desk. Yum cheap meals at the restaurant and good coffee! But also a manageable clean kitchen. Had nice daily activities ( cheap or free) overall I had a very nice experience here, friendly people and beautiful beach!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    139
    54
    22
    11
See reviews for
15
76
120
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

The lodge is next to the beach, that's nice. But I went to take a shower and I over heard a girl saying she wants to steal this red bandana. It was my bandana and I had to POp my head out an tell her it's mine. Weirdo. Then the receptionist made me go around the building with wet hair and in a towel bc she wanted me to give her a "bond" for a hairdryer. Rude. The jam doughnut shots with the bartender were fun tho. And only 5$. If u want friendly considerate services and u don't like watching over the shower door to see if anyone is trying to snatch ur tooth brush, stay elsewhere like the noosa motel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalseLodge, Manager at Halse Lodge Guesthouse YHA, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Hi Alisamike,
We are very sorry to hear that you had that experience. We do try to encourage an environment of trust and security, and we have very few incidents of theft. The large majority of people find that other guests are trustworthy and respectful of their belongings. Of course there is always a risk, no matter where you stay, that you may encounter someone who is not 100% trustworthy. We are sorry you were disappointed about being asked for a bond for the hairdryer. We do have a policy of taking a $10 deposit to ensure that items are always returned promptly, so that other guests may use them. We’re glad you enjoyed our bar and location, and we’d love to have you if you are ever in town again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
177 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Small hostel which seems adapted to be hostel. Kitchen too small for the hundred people that they can support. We had to wait several times to cook. Very difficult to find the kitchen clean. The dish cloths were a horror show, much dirtier than some floor rags. Besides the people staying at the hostel they accept vans with travelers that can also use the facilities of the hostel which burdens the already small space.Since it a historic and old building the rooms have no point of electricity to charge the equipment. They offer to do it for you in the reception. Linen spotlessly clean. Laundry place reasonable. Everything is made of wood including the floor, the rooms have open breather then gets very noisy. All the noise ends at 23:00 but if someone wakes up somewhere in the building to go to the bathroom everybody listen. Let's not even mention the sounds of love. There is no place to lock your luggage in the room. The beach is 200 meters from the Noosa National Park is 1 km, the nearest supermarket too. There is an ATM at the hostel and also a restaurant. The place is very beautiful and, as always, the staff is great and helpfull.Internet paid and not cheap one, pool table also paid. Free shuttle to and from the bus station to the hostel.
We paid $ 31 / AUD 29 for a dorm with 4 persons

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vania T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Never go on to write reviews but to be honest the service I got from Sarah over the last few days was just incredible..any help or any questions there was nothing she didnt want to help me with!

Cant thank you enough for everything...you deserve a raise.
Thanks for making Noosa sucha beautiful place

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Outside all wooden panels and inside the same, had old style look to it but not run down looking. Food in hostel tasty, little on pricey time. Good location 2mins from beach and 10mins walk from main shopping street. Free Shuttle to and from hostel which is nice. No air con, but there is fans. One major plus to this hostel for me was large lockers could fit backpack and more in and individual lights with each bed, also free storage of bag while left for one night.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monamahony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights in a three bed room with two friends. Room was small and had a bit of a.... strange smell. Still managed to get a good sleep. Probably down to the beer and drinks that I had chatting to the bar man. Food was actually very good too. Good location a short stroll from the beach and main street.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

i stayed at halse lodge for ten days at the start of February, we were greeted as soon as we stepped off the bus and shown to a shuttle bus which was a nice touch as it was quite a walk from the bus station .the hostel itself is a fair size with a homely feel
the building itself is really nice and in a great location to the beach ,national parks ect although a little bit of a walk to the main supermarket . the staff at the hostel are all very friendly and willing to help especially the Irish guy on the desk who was a great help in deciding what to do in Noosa and fixing broken suitcases !! we ate breakfast and dinner at the hostels restaurant which was excellent food but slightly over priced for backpackers ! the bar on site was very good with a good group of people most nights ! the room itself was good quiet at night with a comfy bed however no power points ! the best ting about this hostel is its location and general vibe i absolutely loved my time here and would recommend it to anyone !!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Noosa hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Noosa
The Sebel Noosa
#7 of 10 in Noosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.3 mi away
Noosa Blue Resort
Noosa Blue Resort
#5 of 10 in Noosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra French Quarter Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Noosa Pacific Resort
0.1 mi away
Netanya Noosa
Netanya Noosa
#3 of 10 in Noosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
1.2 mi away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halse Lodge Guesthouse YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halse Lodge Guesthouse YHA

Property: Halse Lodge Guesthouse YHA
Address: 2 Halse Lane, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Noosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Halse Lodge Guesthouse YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing