We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that bad at all”
Review of Noosa Blue Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Noosa Blue Resort
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Noosa
Certificate of Excellence
Geelong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not that bad at all”
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We stayed here for our honeymoon after finding a nice little package on discoveraustralia.com for six nights and breakfast included.

The place is obviously a little old but they've made the best of what is available. Check-in was without fuss and that's pretty much the last we saw of anyone unless we had to approach reception to ask for something. We had a garden suite which is the basic suite but all of them come with large spa baths in the bedroom.

It is very much a self contained unit with kitchenette which is the sort of thing we like. There's a room service booklet which is a local service that can pick-up and deliver dishes from local restaurants or take-away places to your door. The one flaw I found was with some of the printed information. The little pamphlet in the room said that the resort cafe 'Ebb Bar & Bistro' was open until 10.30 daily for breakfast. On our first morning it was approaching 10am and we received a phone call from the cafe asking if we'd be coming for our included breakfast as they close at 10. But in the info it said 10.30. It turned out that was on weekends and during the week it's 10am. Also on the room service booklets we tried to order from once place to be told by them that they no longer use the restaurant we wanted to order from.

Other than that minor flaw, there wasn't really much else to complain about. The TV and stereo in the suite is rather basic, no wide screen plasmas or whiz bang iPod compatible sound systems. My wife did however find the bed rather uncomfortable. It is noticeably quiet around the place and we didn't really run into any other guests in our travels other than breakfast in the cafe. The pool area is quite big but was quiet during our stay possibly due to it being winter.

The breakfast dishes in the cafe include either your choice of a continental buffet (fruit, cereal) or some plated dishes. They were all delicious. Help yourself to toast and juice is included.

The location is quite good. 'The Reef' hotel is right across the road and has a bottle shop open until 10pm weeknights and midnight Friday/Saturday. Hastings Street is about a 10 minute walk down the hill where you'll find a heap of swanky restaurants, a few takeaway places and a range of boutique specialty shops. Also of course down this way is the main beach of Noosa Heads which is patrolled for people to swim with access to the Noosa Heads national park.

About a five minute walk the other way you'll come across Noosa Junction which is a small little shopping village that you'll find all your mainstream stores. There's a Coles supermarket, pharmacy and a Target for you to grab any supplies etc. you may need for your stay.

Another fault was that our room was missed for servicing. Rooms are serviced for every three days for any stay of about a week or more. It didn't matter too much as anything we needed to grab like washing detergent or toilet paper was available at reception. There's also a washing machine and dryer in the suites.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TH_Geelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    172
    46
    29
    31
See reviews for
41
345
29
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2011

Clean and comfy enough, and not too expensive. Virtually no staff - a bit more self catering than hotel. Short walk (down a steep hill) to the beach and great bars and restaurants. Noosa is simply stunning.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank five_belliez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2011

We stayed here for our first wedding anniversary and from the resorts photos thought our room would be romantic and luxurious. I also asked for an ocean view months in advance. What a disappointment that we were put in aroom right at the back of the resort no nice view 5 minute walk to room and the room was small and pokey with old and dated furniture. The TV and CD player look 10 years old there's no mini bar and the furniture was scuffed and bathroom mirror tarnished. Worst of all what drew us to the resort in the first place - the rooftop terrace with spa was filthy! About 1 years worth of leaves were all over the terrace (which could have been swept up by staff in 5 minutes had they bothered to check) the spa was cold, sun lounges mouldy, and outdoor setting old and tatty. The only saving grace was the beach and restaurants in Noosa that we could escape to away from our apartment. The complimentary brakfast at the resorts cafe is nice enough though. Overall very very disappointing and not recommended. Not a nice way to spend a wedding anniversary.ure.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EarthVegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

We were looking forward to staying in what we thought was still one of the better resorts in Noosa. However the rooms and the buildings other than the reception were tired looking and the smell of our room was a big turn-off. We tried opening all the windows and then we tried the airconditioning because we thought it may have just needed airing but the smell was there constantly. Not sure if it's the cleaning products used or just an ingrained tired wet Chux kind of smell but it spoilt what could have been a pleasant stay. The pool looked nioce.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redwineBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

We stayed in a penthouse suite with a rooftop spa and it was great. The bedroom which had a spa as well was separate to the living area and bathroom which was great. No it's not brand new anymore but it was clean and had everything. The staff were all lovely. The pool was awesome. I was the only one in it the whole week but there are shaded parts also and there is a little kiddie pool with a slide. We had a hire car so we didn't walk into Hastings Street at all but i would say it;s a 5-10 minute walk down the hill.
I would definately stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winnie2078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at Noosa Blue after spending several nights at a significantly more expensive hotel located in Hastings Street. We had booked a previous stay at Noosa Blue approximately a year ago and found the the facilities were fine but the hotel had "service related issues". Deciding to stay again we were pleasantly surprised to find the resort was under new management which made all all the difference. Breakfast was perfect with the staff in the EBB cafe friendly and cheerful. They even cooked my favourite omelette to order the way I asked for it! Counter staff were friendly and efficient and we even received an upgrade to a Penthouse apartment for no extra charge! I would recommend Noosa Blue to anyone. Facilities and our room was clean and well presented. The pool was something else and we enjoyed reading our books in the shade. We are looking forward to returning later this year. All in all a great holiday.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ming701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2011

We booked a trip over Valentine's Day at Noosa Blue after a travel agent suggested it. After booking it we came home to find really really awful reviews about the place. We were really nervous about going to Noosa Blue but once we got there we were completely satisfied with the hotel. The hotel does seem a little bit old but it was no where near as bad as we expected. Our room was very clean and really nice, we went to the gym one night which was really well equipped, a very enjoyable stay overall. The only complaint we had was about the jacuzzi on the rooftop balcony- it said it was 35 degrees but it was no where near to that, was not a good jacuzzi at all.

We did not experience anything nearly as bad as the other reviews- perhaps we were lucky. The hotel is nice and definitely caters all needs.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie-Lee-16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Noosa hotels
0.4 mi away
The Sebel Noosa
The Sebel Noosa
#7 of 10 in Noosa
722 reviews
2.1 mi away
Noosa Sun Motel & Holiday Apartments
0.3 mi away
Peppers Noosa Resort and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
1,195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Noosa Pacific Resort
0.5 mi away
Netanya Noosa
Netanya Noosa
#6 of 10 in Noosa
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noosa Blue Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noosa Blue Resort

Property: Noosa Blue Resort
Address: 16 Noosa Dr | Noosa Heads, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Noosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Noosa Blue Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Noosa Blue Resort, is a stylish boutique resort located on the crest of Noosa Hill with magnificent hinterland and water views, just 450 metres from the famous dining precinct of Hastings Street and Noosa's Main Beach. Noosa Junction is also only a short stroll from the resort for coffee shops, grocery shops, post office and other local amenities. The resort features 65 spacious fully furnished self-contained one bedroom suites, including 24 penthouses complete with private rooftop terraces with individual barbeque facilities and 4 person hot tubs. The Resort can accommodate functions from an intimate Rooftop Terrace wedding overlooking Noosa North Shore to conferences for up to 220 theatre style in its purpose built conference centre. Guests have access to three outdoor heated pools, poolside heated spa, fully equipped fitness centre, lifts to each floor and free secure undercover parking. Free Wi-Fi is available in the rooms and public areas and tour desk facilities are available at reception. We can also drop guests to Hastings Street in our courtesy car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Noosa Blue Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omac Noosa Blue Hotel Noosa
Noosa Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing