We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clearly it didn't suit me” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra French Quarter Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mantra French Quarter Resort
Ranked #8 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Noosa
Mykonos, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clearly it didn't suit me”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

I booked the Mantra through Accom Noosa.When I picked the keys up ,I was told no parties ,no pets and no cigarettes ,no mention of enjoy your stay.I really needed a quiet break.Upon arriving at a unit that had clearly been decorated by the owner with endless pics of First Point and and a surf board attached to the wall.The unit was clean ,but clearly the cleaners duties stopped at the balcony doors,dirty table,stained chairs and two very tired and thirsty pot plants.The first morning,work started 10 metres away on a building site,so the endless sound of nail guns,drills and electric saws hardly added to the quiet break I was looking for.Having discussed this issue with Accom Noosa they appeared to be ignorant of that fact.I might add they would be the only business on Hastings street who were not aware of the situation and given that they are an accommodation specialist .Go figure. They failed to reply to a subsequent email.Its a smoke free venue,however i was told I could on the balcony.Not an ashtray in sight and I rarely travel with one .
.Subsequently I spoke to Mantra management and was informed that Accom Noosa managed my unit for the owner,had Mantra been managing the property,they said I would have been moved from the building site room or offered some sort of compensation.Clearly this problem lies with the management of Accom Noosa,who have to date still not responded to my email .Their attitude and lack of service was disgraceful

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paraga65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQGM, General Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Hello and thanks for your review of Mantra French Quarter. Yes, you are correct, we do have a few individually owned units at the resort that are not managed by Mantra. Unfortunately we have no control over how those units are managed or maintained. We are sorry that your stay was not what you were hoping for. Hopefully we can welcome you to a Mantra resort in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    506
    210
    78
    57
See reviews for
569
474
37
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

My son and I stayed in a Deluxe 1 bedroom the which was Amazing!! Staff are so friendly and helpful! We can not wait to stay her again!! Front desk staff are so helpful with any requests and TJ the cleaner who was there where checking out was so lovely and so happy!! Extremely Clean and our room was a great layout with everything you would need or want!
We will be back again very soon :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LCoates2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQGM, General Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Hi and thanks very much for your kind review of Mantra French Quarter. We will pass your comments to our team and I know TJ will be elated to receive a special mention. We look forward to welcoming you back to a Mantra resort again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

I initially booked a standard two bedroom apartment ,after arriving and seeing the room was shocked at the shabby state of the apartment,was horrible and my mother who i was travelling with agreed we could not stay there ,we straight away upgraded to a deluxe room which was simply beautiful , could not believe the difference and for a little extra was well worth the money. was so nice we extended our stay for 3 extra nights making 11 nights ,in a fabulous quiet location to close to everything.great staff to very helpful.

Room Tip: Book a refurbished room much better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQGM, General Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Hello & thanks for your review of Mantra French Quarter. We appreciate all forms of feedback and we are really glad you and your Mother had a nice stay. We hope to welcome you again to a Mantra Resort soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We (husband/wife) spent 2 nights at French Quarter recently and wish it could have been longer. Lovely, roomy, 1st-floor unit with well-equipped kitchen and beautiful view through palms over big, pretty pool. Staff were immensely friendly and helpful on our first night, which was VERY busy (31 August -- Jazz Festival on). We were able to have morning, afternoon and evening walks on the beach and boardwalk, and ate at two excellent restaurants (Cafe le Monde and Season) within a stone's throw of the resort. Taking in the delightful shops along Hastings St without having to worry about parking was a bonus. (Lamington's and Newton's Apple and their staff are treasures, along with the date and cinnamon scones at a bakery near the latter.) Our unit at French Quarter was in good nick and paying a little extra for restful and convenient accommodation is worth it in our book.

Room Tip: We liked 2nd floor (East quarter) -- good view of pool and feasible to use steps instead of lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret3366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQGM, General Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Hello and thanks for your review. We appreciate all forms of feedback and our team will be delighted to hear of your experience. We hope to see you again at a Mantra resort in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This accomodation is well positioned on Hastings Street but unfortunately is dated and in need of a makeover. I presume the units are individually owned so the quality may vary but the one I stayed in was quite dated and not particularly clean. The carpet in the bedroom needed a good vacuum! I found the reception staff quite indifferent when checking in and not helpful in helping with an appropriately postioned room. Being a solo traveller it seems odd to place me right near the pool on the ground floor. Would have been better for a family. Also quite noisy as the pool opens at 7am. I dare not ask to change though!! I wouldn't stay here again as it's really not good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayitisAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQGM, General Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. We are disapointed to hear your feedback regarding our Front Dest staff and I will address this with that team to ensure we are delivering the kind of service we should. Also, my apologies regarding your room allocation, I can appreciate your concern. We do pride ourselves on having passionate staff representing us on the front line and as such, it would be helpful if you could advise me of the individual you are referring to. This will assist us in implementing some development for this individual where needed. My email is steve.mcpharlin@mantragroup.com.au Many thanks for your feedback as it does assist us in constantly improving our product and service.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed in the 2 bedroom deluxe room which has been refurbished to an extent. New floor tiling and kitchen bench tops are nice but some things still need attention like the couch which was ripped at one end and the foam sticking out, bedroom TV didn’t seem to get many channels (couldn’t even find 7,9 or 10). Bed, carpet, and throw overs could do with an upgrade as they seem old.
On the positive side, the staff are professional and friendly and the building is located in a great spot. You can walk out onto Hastings street and turn left to walk down past all the restaurants and cafes, or go straight ahead and you are on the beach. Alternatively you can go right and walk along the path to the National Park. We stayed when the Jazz festival was on which was an added bonus as it is all located in walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQGM, General Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Hi and thanks you for your review. Our apologies regarding your comments on the furnishings in your room. Our units are individually owned and it would be helpful if you could advise us of the room number you stayed in so we can rectify the issues with the owner. My email is steve.mcpharlin@mantragroup.com.au Thanks again for your feedback, it will assist us in constantly improving our product and we look forward to welcoming you back to a Mantra Resort again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Didn't feel that the French Quarter represents good value in comparison with other places we have stated in Noosa and our room was not clean. Wouldn't return again which is a shame given its excellent location on Hastings Street.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozzyking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQGM, General Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. We apologise you did not feel the resort was up to standard and I have passed your feedback onto our Housekeeping Team to focus on. We respect your point of view and will constantly strive to improve our product and service as feedback such as yours is helpful. Thanks again and hopefully we can welcome you back to a Mantra resort again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Noosa hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Noosa
The Sebel Noosa
#7 of 10 in Noosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.4 mi away
Noosa Blue Resort
Noosa Blue Resort
#3 of 10 in Noosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Noosa Pacific Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Noosa Resort and Villas
0.1 mi away
Netanya Noosa
Netanya Noosa
#4 of 10 in Noosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra French Quarter Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra French Quarter Resort

Property: Mantra French Quarter Resort
Address: 62 Hastings St, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia (Formerly Breakfree French Quarter Resort)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Noosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra French Quarter Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Hastings Street, Mantra French Quarter is the perfect place to enjoy a seaside escape to Noosa. Mantra French Quarter is set back from the hustle and bustle of Hastings Street yet offers direct access to the shopping, dining and entertainment hub, making it the perfect place to enjoy the best of Noosa. Mantra French Quarter offers self-contained One and Two Bedroom Apartments or opt to pay a little extra for one of our One or Two Bedroom Deluxe Apartments which have been refurbished. All accommodation offers reverse cycle air conditioning, kitchenette including a stove top, microwave, bar fridge, toaster and tea and coffee facilities, in-house movies and cable TV. There are also laundry facilities and a balcony or terrace for relaxing in the fresh air. At the centre of Mantra French Quarter is a pool, spa, sauna and outdoor barbecue picnic area with a children's wading pool that can be accessed from your room via pathways surrounded by resort gardens. Noosa's famed restaurants and shopping boutiques are literally on the doorstep, with beaches and the National Park just a short stroll away. Within the Sunshine Coast and easily accessible from Noosa is the world's largest sand island, Fraser Island as well as Underwater World, the southern hemisphere's largest oceanarium and Australia Zoo, founded by conservationist Steve Irwin. At Mantra French Quarter you're sure to find an accommodation style to suit your Noosa holiday needs, whether it's a short or long stay you have in mind. Maintenance Notice: Mantra French Quarter will be undergoing pool, sauna and change room maintenance works. The resort sauna and change room/pool toilet facilities will be closed from 30 January until 24 March 2017. There will be alternate change room and toilet facilities within the complex however there are no alternate sauna facilities. There will be remedial works being carried out throughout the pool area and complex, however the pool will remain open during this time. There will be noisy works occurring during the hours of 0830-1700 Monday – Friday. We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause and look forward to launching our new and updated sauna area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mantra French Quarter Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree French Quarter Hotel Noosa
Breakfree French Quarter Noosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing