We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“some fine tuning required”
Review of Wood Fire Grill

Wood Fire Grill
Ranked #84 of 337 Restaurants in Noosa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$28
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Drawing inspiration from leading gastro pubs and authentic local family eateries, Wood Fire Grill has designed a diverse and accessible menu to share amongst friends and family.
Noosaville, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“some fine tuning required”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We dined at the Wood Fire Grill on a Saturday night and enjoyed the ambiance, particularly sitting inside for winter with the open kitchen and grill. We were less enthused with the banquette style seating with the next tables less than a foot away.

As a starter the Organic marrow bone, garlic, parsley, sourdough toast had heaps of flavour (& plenty of garlic). We had the Cape Grim eye fillet, which was of excellent quality and cooked to perfection, and the Cape Grim grass fed striploin ‘baseball cut’ 200g which was a little undercooked and a grisly piece found. The food is uncomplicated but generally high quality produce. Price is at the top end for Noosa, and we look forward to trying the Wagyu burger sometime for lunch.

It was nice to see a good wine list that had plenty of choice, was well balanced across variety, price and styles and had some interesting small and medium size producers represented. One of the better lists in Noosa.

Service was spasmodic & we went with empty water glasses most of the night and even poured our own wine on once occasion which is probably unacceptable at this level of venue. What made the service issue worse was the Canadian waiter mentioned in these pages. Her section clearly ended with the table next to ours and she seemed to serve that section well. Unfortunately a severe case of 'section-itis' meant she would not touch our table at all and seemed to make every effort to avoid eye contact with us when our table clearly needed attention. No 'i' in team as they say....

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickysnoosa, Public Relations Manager at Wood Fire Grill, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thanks so much for your feedback, very valid points and we'll certainly be taking it on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    38
    25
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Went to this Restaurant recently to celebrate a friends birthday.Having been to many restaurants on the Sunshine Coast found the wood fire grill at Ricky!s extremely disappointing,Food very average, over priced for what you got, and service poor. Would not go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickysnoosa, Public Relations Manager at Wood Fire Grill, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Very regretful to hear of your experience with us, thank you for your honest feedback,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“New York comes to Noosa!”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Brilliant food and atmosphere. Can't beat it. Steak cooked to perfection. Great lychee and basil cocktails. I love this place very much. I live in NYC and this place reminds me of Balthazar, an old favorite.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LBDessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickysnoosa, Public Relations Manager at Wood Fire Grill, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Yowzer, awesome compliment, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eerwah Vale, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Warm, Delicious and Friendly”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My first visit here was lunch during the recent Noosa Longweekend and it was like stepping into a dream. The decor has definitely Scandinavian with logs decorating one long wall but it was the sight of the open fires over which our pork was spit roasting which drew gasps of pleasure from the other 50 diners as they entered. The cold weather outside was forgotten with the warmth from the numerous heaters around the whole dining area. We were made so welcomed by Chef Luke and his team and while waiting we could watch out meal being prepared right in front of us.
The pork, served with deliciously marinated fruit including figs was mouth watering and then came the absolutely decadent chocolate slice dessert. The wine flowed as people stayed on, enjoying the ambiance long after I had to leave. Up there with the very best among Noosa's restaurants

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EileenW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickysnoosa, Public Relations Manager at Wood Fire Grill, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thanks ever so much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traralgon
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent Steak!!!!”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Enjoyed a dinner for 4 people, scallops were great as we're the fresh oysters. The highlight however was the Cape Grim eye fillet and rib eye steaks, all were cooked to perfection as we're all the sides. Great casual feel and service was professional and freindly. Look forward to returning soon!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnno1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickysnoosa, Public Relations Manager at Wood Fire Grill, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thank you for your feedback, its extremely valuable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wood Fire Grill also viewed

 
Noosa, Sunshine Coast
Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Wood Fire Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing