We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roll of the Dice in Hastings St- avoid on weekends”
Review of Hotel Laguna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Laguna
Ranked #17 of 141 Speciality Lodging in Noosa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here a number of times since 1990. It has a large pool area which is an amphitheater for noise. The lack of lifts may be a disincentive, as well as the door slamming of the stair wells.

However as mentioned by others, the noise from some rooms is tolerated inexplicably by management.

You can get noisy rude people anywhere, but the boganisation of the Sunshine Coast continues unabated.

This was a busy weekend for conferences and weddings.

This SHOULD still be a good three star place. But it's not.

If you are deaf and like watching kids bike race around the pool, you will love it.

Or come mid week.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank anecessaryevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJedynak, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thankyou for taking the time to comment on your experience and as you mentioned on such a busy weekend. We are sorry that the pool area was less than tranquil for your stay. It is difficult to monitor the behaviour of all guests and their children and you hope that the parents would be mindful of other guests around the pool. Slamming doors in stairwell is unacceptable and we agree is inconsiderate of other guests and if brought to our attention we can certainly deal with the issue instantly. Hotel Laguna prides itself on offering our guests a memorable experience and we hope you will come and see us again and give us the chance to offer you and more pleasurable weekend away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

We have just returned after staying at Hotel Laguna for 5 nights. We had a studio room with river view balcony, which was perfect for our needs. Room was very clean, fresh towels every day. and the bed was so comfy. Tony was always very helpful and obliging whenever we required assistance. Thanks. Location was perfect, being able to walk to ferry, beach, restaurants and shopping. Highly recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waralene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJedynak, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

We love offering great service and great value to our customers and we are glad that you were impressed with Hotel Laguna. Our recent renovation of the restaurant has now completed and we will continue to keep our Resort looking modern and appealing to our guests. Please come and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Recently spent 3 nights here while in Noosa for a wedding. Very happy with our choice for accommodation. Perfect spot with easy walking access to all the beach spots and top restaurants. Lovely management and staff. Rooms were comfy and cool and quiet and had all we needed. Pool area is very relaxing and comfortable with BBQ options etc. Plus we hear a new restaurant opening up will offer room service. If coming back to Noosa we would definitely come back to Laguna.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chomper2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJedynak, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for your great review! You will be pleased to know that the restaurant - Miss Money Penny's is now up and running and offering the additional room service to our guests. We are now offering a 5 star experience at a 3 1/2 star price! We pride ourselves on customer service and hope you come and enjoy the additional comforts on your next holiday to Noosa. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I spent 4 nights here at the end of September with a friend of mine it is a great centrally located Hotel on the main street in Noosa. We had a 1 bedroom River view room. Staying in this hotel we were able to relax and chill out.

Positives
* River view room has Such a beautiful view and is really peaceful to sit on the balcony.
* In the 1 Bedroom the bedroom is at the back of the hotel which faces the river - very quiet.
* Very friendly managers/owners
* Room was Renovated
* Pool is great
* The beach is just across the road
* I would recommend this hotel to anyone. A great stay
* Due to the renovations they were kind enough to offer us a complimentary night. Great customer service

Negatives
* Hotel is currently being renovated so the front of the hotel is noisy - If you stay request a room away from the renovations. We didn't hear anything staying at the back. Though during the day we were at the beach most of the time.
* They could do with some more comfy lounge chairs to lay on in the pool area

All in all a positive stay and I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Choose a river view room and ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTW2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJedynak, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for you kind comments. We agree that we are in the best location and we offer an affordable alternative to travellers who just want to be in the hub but not pay through the noise for the privilege. The restaurant renovations are now completed and we are back to normal, offering great value and a comfortable 'noise free' stay. We hope you come and visit us again when you choose to come to Noosa. Have a great day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This time we 'upgraded' to a 'superior 1 bedroom apartment' on the riverfront.

What we liked:
1. The location.
2. Tony's friendly greeting on arrival.

What we didn't like:
1. Being awoken around 2am by an unruly guest repeatedly pounding on a locked door of the unit above ours, shouting at the top of his voice for it to be opened, then cursing and swearing so loudly when it wasn't. When this event was mentioned to a front-of-house staff member the next day, disappointingly she brushed off our concern as "probably just some poor guy who'd had a good night out on the town and had locked themselves out".

2. Being awoken again by someone drilling through concrete in an adjacent unit at 8am another morning.

3. Tradesmen taking up the hotel's very limited guest car parking spaces with their trucks. 6 of them doing this one day!

Note that this is not a serviced hotel in the traditional sense but rather look-after-yourself apartments. During our 8 night stay our towels were changed only once - rather than every 2 days as the in-room documentation promised. Also, once the meagre 'starter-pack' (2 toilet rolls, 2 tiny bathroom soaps, 2 sachets of dishwashing liquid) is used up, you are on your own.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myles_and_Jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJedynak, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write regarding your recent stay at Hotel Laguna. We are sorry that your experience was not as pleasant as your previous stay and hope that your newly renovated 1 bedroom apartment met your expectations. The disruptive guest was spoken to by our staff member and he was very apologetic for disturbing surrounding guests. As you have mentioned, we are still in the process of further room upgrades and apologise for the inconvenience caused by the builders. There is never a good time to renovate, but we do try to minimise noise as best we can. Parking is also of a premium and with a full house on the weekend, and we appreciate your frustration. The 1 bedroom apartments are advertised as self contained and guests can purchase additional ammenities from reception at a small charge (which is industry standard). These ammenities are replenished on the weekly service. The major renovations will be completed by the end of October and hope you consider visiting us again. Please call us directly so we can advise you of any expected distruptions to ensure your next stay is a pleasant one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

An ok experience, nothing better really. Best part was the view over the river from the room balcony. Room itself was a bit basic and badly in need of refurbishment. Overall it was very, very "tired".Good position on Hastings St, though. Don't think I'd return.

Room Tip: A refurbished one. Overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROBERTBARGOED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJedynak, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

We apologise for not meeting your expectations, but your group booked in prior to our renovations and unfortunately not all the rooms had been completed prior to your stay. This is an ongoing process and our owners are mindful of keeping up the standards of Hotel Laguna. Unfortunately we are unable to do all the rooms at once and we hope you do consider coming back in the future and we will ensure that your next stay will be in one of our fully renovated apartments. We hope you enjoyed your tour following the football in Australia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Firstly let me say the view over the river from our room was beautiful. The friendly birds landing on the railings of our balcony also made for a pleasant afternoon sitting in the sunshine.

Besides that though I found the room to be dated. Wooden panels surrounded a giant mirror. Kitchen and bathroom were old. Bed was comfortable enough which was nice. Saying all of this though I did notice that they are renovating. I didn't look into it much as I was only staying there over night for business. Hopefully they will get to all the rooms and update a bit.

Other than that the room was very quiet and reasonably clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room, preferably on the third floor. Also make note this hotel doesn't o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeashaAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJedynak, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

We apologise for the dated room, but you are correct in stating that we are currently renovating and this is an ongoing process. Our owners are striving to keep their units to a superior standard and unfortunately we cannot do them all at once. We are pleased that you enjoyed the birdlife from your river balcony and hope you consider staying with us once all our renovations have been completed. Our pool and its surrounds, the guest laundry and reception will be having a complete make over in 2014 and our new restaurant opens early November - so there is a lot happening at Hotel Lagun that we hope will encourage you to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Noosa hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Noosa
The Sebel Noosa
#7 of 10 in Noosa
757 reviews
0.4 mi away
Noosa Blue Resort
Noosa Blue Resort
#4 of 10 in Noosa
559 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peppers Noosa Resort and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Noosa Pacific Resort
1.2 mi away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
1,277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra French Quarter Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna

Address: 6 Hastings St, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 141 Speciality Lodging in Noosa
Price Range: £101 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laguna 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in the real Noosa experience at Hotel Laguna. Our friendly, vibrant resort is nestled in the heart of Hastings Street, with both the river at our back door and the beach just a stone's throw away. Laze by our tropically surrounded pool or step outside our front door into a sea of restaurants and boutique shopping...We have something for everyone... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Laguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Hotel Noosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing