We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay”
Review of Hotel Laguna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Laguna
Ranked #15 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Noosa
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Short stay”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We recently stayed at the Hotel Laguna over the weekend and it was fantastic. Great location with privacy and beautiful surrounds of Noosa River and Hastings Street. Staff are more than happy to help and assist in our requests and were friendly and accommodating to our needs. We had no noise, were directly opposite the pool and had the option of strolling along the river board walk or the vibrant hastings street during the day and night. Would stay here again and would happily recommend to others.

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justine_johnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJedynak, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for your kind comments on your recent stay at Hotel Laguna. It is a great accolade for our staff, management and owners to know that we do offer great value and service and not to second guess ourselves. We understand that a minority of guests will disagree and will vent via social media forums and not allow us the opportunity to address their concerns during their stay. Hotel Laguna strives to offer our guests the best possible experience on their vacation or weekend away and know that we do not always get it right, but that does not stop us from improving our product as best we can. We hope you come and see us again after our next phase of renovations - the upgrade of our pool and BBQ area and we are pleased that you would not hesitate to recommend Hotel Laguna to your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    109
    36
    13
    5
See reviews for
52
159
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Agnes Water, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I sincerely hope I got the worst room in the hotel because if there were worse then I would drop the star rating even further. First impression: the reception was a mess, things sitting on the floor or propped up against the wall. There was no work going on so I can only assume it was a work in progress - looks very bad. Our room was on the first floor, on opening the door the first thing that greeted us was a light fitting hanging out of the ceiling - very dangerous as it was still connected to power. The room was dark and dingy and not very clean. The balcony looked straight onto the roof of the restaurant below so there was absolutely no view, we could have been in the slums of India for all we knew. At $155 this is a major rip off, at $100 maybe bearable because of location on Hasting Street. There are rooms that face the pool area and these are probably ok, we were not offered on of these. The reason for picking this hotel was to go to Miss Moneypennys restaurant below, which was great.

Room Tip: Request a pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotabbots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJedynak, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Management appreciate you taking time to write a review on our resort. We apologise for our renovation impeding your first impressions at reception. Unfortunately it is difficult to renovate without making a mess and we tried to keep disruptions to a minimum and tradesman do not work on weekends, so they cleaned up as best they could. It is disappointing that you did not mention the dislodged light fitting on the ceiling on your departure or during your stay. The fitting was fixed immediately by our maintenance department. Hotel Laguna is a north facing complex and all our rooms are light and airy and the best value on Hastings for $155 per night and unfortunately some of our studios do face over the new colour bond roof of Miss Moneypenny's. Your comment that our rooms are dark and dingy is not correct and will mislead other readers as no room is impeded by this roof . The room you booked was our cheapest room and also our most requested. If you choose to stay with us again and you feel the room you have booked is not to your satisfaction, management would appreciate the opportunity to meet your requests and avoid negative reviews. We hope you enjoyed your experience at Miss Moneypenny's and recommend that you book our more expensive riverfront units to avoid not having a room with a more attractive view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italy
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

stayed there for 10 days and at arrival the windows were dirty and never got cleaned! tiny bathroom, poor facilitys. "free WIFI" worked only in the lobby and not in the room as offered in booking. two times the room wasn't made
complaints were ignored. unfriendly staff.
Good position at the end of hasting street!

Room Tip: river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJedynak, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
We appreciate your feedback and disappointed that your stay back in April 2013 was not to your expectations. Unfortunately all our studio rooms have small bathrooms and I would recommend booking a 1 bedroom apartment for a 10 day stay (which is quite spacious) and would have been more comfortable for such a long stay. Our sliding doors and windows are double glazed glass and over the years sea salt has got in between the two panels and damaged their clarity and is not an oversight by our housemaids. Since your stay in 2013, our free WiFi has been upgraded to an additional hotspot around the pool area for our guest's convenience. Unfortunately due to the concrete walls, the WiFi signal will never be able to penetrate into the studio rooms, but all 1 and 2 bedroom apartments can access WiFi from their pool balconies. We apologise if you felt our staff ignored your above complaints, but the items you mentioned are unavoidable and could not be rectified to your satisfaction and also frustrate management. We hope you travel to Australia again and if you choose to stay with us, we will ensure that your stay is a more pleasant experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We recently stayed at Hotel Laguna and while we were really impressed with the size and cleanliness of the room, the location of the hotel so close to Hastings Street and the beach and the lovely pool facilities, we were quite dissapointed with the amount of noise coming from the bars downstairs until midnight every night. If we were to stay again we'd definitely stay in one of the river view rooms on the other side of the complex to avoid the noise. There was also a sensor light shining straight from the back of the bar downstairs into the room which also went off at all times of the night. There were no instructions on how to work the air conditioning in the booklet in the room either so we were very hot on the first night and couldn't open the windows/doors because of the noise. With no 24hr reception there was no-one to ask questions after hours. I think we were in one of the last rooms to be renovated too so would be great to see one of the renovated rooms. Staff seemed very impatient and frustrated with minor questions/feedback. However, overall a nice couple of nights and would stay there again in a river-view room.

Room Tip: River View Rooms much quieter. No lifts so ground floor rooms have less stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMC18685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJedynak, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and congratulations for winning the 2 nights accommodation at our resort with the recent promotion we sponsored with Tourism Noosa. We are sorry that your stay was disrupted with the issues voiced. Management were unaware of the sensor and we immediately addressed the issue with the adjoining restaurant and they apologise for the sensor light and have disconnected it and have locked the door so their patrons cannot disturb Hotel Laguna guests. Our compendiums actually advises guests of the air conditioning switches and also our after hours contact numbers if you require assistance. Unfortunately we do not have 24 hour reception, but we also leave our contact number on our reception area for guest assistance. We hope you will come again and enjoy the river view apartments that are set well away from Hastings St and most of these apartments have completed their renovations and look amazing. Please visit us again so we can offer you a better experience and great value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We booked for the Australia day long weekend at the last minute when limited availability around Noosa. Pleasantly surprised by the great facilities and service and will now use this as our favoured hotel. Stayed in room 214 (river view suite) very large one bedroom apartment with fantastic modern living space and fully equipped kitchen. Beautiful river views and well away from the noise of hastings St which we assume may get quite loud for the other side of the complex. Location is brilliant just a short stroll to anywhere on hastings. Loved our stay. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shez44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJedynak, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for your positive response and we are glad that your stay at Hotel Laguna was above your expectations. Hotel Laguna owners pride themselves on keeping their apartments appealing and 214 has been recently renovated. We hope you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Reasonable priced hotel for the second weekend in January 200 aud per night. Right in Hating St where all the shops,cafés and restaurants are. Parked the car on arrival and walked or took the ferry boat to all locations.
Room needs a refurb, as it is starting to show its age.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TBF57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJedynak, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thank you for taking time to comment on your experience at Hotel Laguna. Our owners are very conscious about keeping their apartments fresh and new and over 90% of our rooms have been completed with the balance to be completed in May when we renovate our pool & BBQ area. Our location is second to none and I hope the convenience of not having to drive anywhere was a welcome relief. We hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Had an excellent time here. The hotel is super close to everything. The beach is just across the road and Hastings street shops are just outside the door.
I stayed in a fiver view apartment and was able to watch all the boats along the river. The room was clean and had everything I needed for the few nights I stayed. There was an excellent microwave in the room and a bar fridge. There is also a sink in the kitchenette which is handy. The bathroom is very small. There is almost not enough space to fit on the toilet! Everything gets wet when you run the shower.
The pool was disappointing. The area around it is nice,although there could be some more seats the pool is quite small and only 1.4m deep. Car parking was also tricky as it's first in, best dressed and there is not neally enough for when the hotel is at capacity as it was when I stayed.
I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Get a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alysha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJedynak, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thank you for your review of our river front studio apartments. We are glad that you took advantage of the amazing view from your balcony. The studios are well equipped for their size and unfortunately the bathrooms are on the small size, but the rest of the apartment is quite spacious. We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Noosa hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Noosa
The Sebel Noosa
#7 of 10 in Noosa
724 reviews
0.4 mi away
Noosa Blue Resort
Noosa Blue Resort
#3 of 10 in Noosa
520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Noosa Pacific Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Netanya Noosa
Netanya Noosa
#6 of 10 in Noosa
529 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peppers Noosa Resort and Villas
0.3 mi away
Mantra French Quarter Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna

Property: Hotel Laguna
Address: 6 Hastings St, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Noosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laguna 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in the real Noosa experience at Hotel Laguna. Our friendly, vibrant resort is nestled in the heart of Hastings Street, with both the river at our back door and the beach just a stone's throw away. Laze by our tropically surrounded pool or step outside our front door into a sea of restaurants and boutique shopping...We have something for everyone... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Laguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Hotel Noosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing