We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not great!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Laguna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Laguna
Ranked #14 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Noosa
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not great!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

The women at reception was rude and unhelpful, I asked for a late check and she wouldn't even consider it. The room was ok, it overlooked the roof of the restaurant. The bathroom wasn't cleaned properly. Don't count on a car park, it wasn't available and I had to park quite a distance away, the only upside is the position a quick walk to the beach. I wont be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bushwalker_43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJedynak, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
We apologise if our receptionist was rude and unhelpful when you asked for a late check out. Whenever possible we are happy to offer late check outs, but during the Easter school holidays and weekends we have been fully booked and could not afford to delay incoming guests their rooms on time. Unfortunately some of our Hastings St studios do overlook the new restaurant below, but most are not impeded by the roof. Parking is always a premium at the resort and we do our best to accommodate all guests with limited spaces and ask guests to park next door if we are full. We are glad that our position on Hastings St was convenient and hope you choose to stay with again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    107
    34
    13
    5
See reviews for
50
157
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Biggera Waters, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed in Apartment 32. It's really modern, has great furnishings, and is good value for money compared to most apartments on the beach side of Hastings Street. While not super big, it makes terrific use of the space it has. (Great sized bathrooms and tv). It has fabulous river views and access to a boardwalk that I never knew was there running along the river. There is a nice patio area (being on ground level) with comfortable furniture to relax on while watching all the activity happening on the river. The downside is that it is not fenced. There is a garden which gives some privacy but the problem for us was that we have a toddler who is at that "running off" stage and he would take off along the boardwalk every chance he could get. You might wonder then if this apartment is secure? We felt that once the doors were shut and locked (ie. at night or whenever we went out) that yes, it was. The doors are glass but are thick, (modern), and in really good working order. If you left stuff outside, say, at night when you slept, then it could very possibly get stolen. So, we just brought everything in at night - like our towels and washing. No big deal really.
We also liked that there was a lovely park just one building over - I think this is part of the woods area? We also liked that we could park (undercover) right outside the apartment (like 'motel' style), so getting everything in and out of the car was fabulously easy. Also, no steps were great for us with a pram. The steps to the pool area are also right outside - you go up just one level. Speaking of the pool area, it's a bit dated and small, but adequate and still quite nice, and I believe that it's going to be renovated in a few months?
We loved our short stay and would return in a heartbeat, but there are just two things that really disappointed - but could be easily rectified. There was no internet access in our apartment - could the hotel use 'boosters' to overcome this? We needed to do a few things online and couldn't keep ducking up to the pool area to do this with children. The other thing was - as shallow as it sounds - there was no Foxtel. I really thought that this would be a standard, not an extra, in hotels in this day and age. I know some of you will roll your eyes, but internet and foxtel are really a must in situations of bad weather and sunburn.
There is just one other thing I feel I should mention at this particular time. The building next door (towards The Sheraton) has just started some kind of massive renovation. There is obviously nothing that the Laguna Hotel can do about this, and I really feel for them, but it was getting a little noisy just as we were leaving. I would therefore encourage anyone who was thinking of booking to give them a call beforehand (rather than just book online).

Room Tip: River view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJedynak, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thankyou for your great review of our exclusive Riversuite 32 apartment. It is one of a kind and does boast great views and an amazing new fit out. As you mentioned, caution is required with small children due to the proximity to the river but a great family apartment all the same. As you mentioned, our pool will be getting a make over in May and we look forward to the new tiling and upgrade of the BBQ area etc. Jacaranda next door is also renovating and we expect to experience some disruption and guests will be informed prior to confirming their bookings if they book direct with the Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again to Hotel Laguna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

I've been coming to Noosa all my life and this is the first time I've managed to get affordable accommodation in Hastings Street. I just never ventured that far down the neck of the woods and noticed Hotel Laguna. Thank goodness I finally have because this place is a tranquil retreat from the business of Hastings Street with a great feel for just being able to relax. We chose a river room studio. Though small it was plenty big for we too tired travellers and just the ticket for complete relaxation. The room was clean, the bed very comfortable and king size, lovely balcony to sit and sip a glass of wine and watch the paddle boarders and boats gently meandering their way past our room. The receptionist was a real asset to this business as well. She too is just a gem and really looks after the guests to ensure we will definately be returning. The sooner the better too! She even had the kindness to warn us that this weekend was going to be super busy and parking would be a little more competitive. We took her advice and just hung around Noosa and didn't move the car. All in all 4 stars just because it is marginally tired but the rooms lovely and they are planning on undergoing a pool upgrade in May. The pool area is indeed sun drenched and quite a lovely place to sit and check your emails etc .. The selfish side of me would like to keep this place a secret but I do want them to stay in business. Thanks so much Hotel Laguna for recharging our batteries.

Room Tip: Definately try to get a riverside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJedynak, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
We are glad that you ventured down Hastings St and discovered our hideaway. Hotel Laguna prides itself on offering our guests great value for money and we agree that our river views make our complex something special. We hope you join us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I just got back today.I had a great time in Noosa.
The staff at the Hotel were very helpful and caring.
The room was very big and comfy in the studio rooms,only
5 minute walk to the beach.
There was some music noise coming from the bar below
but I had a nice relaxing stay at the hotel and recommend it.

pete

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puna02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJedynak, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for taking time to rate our Hotel. We are pleased that you felt the studio offered you a great experience and value for money. I can't think of any properties that offer such value and benefits in Hastings St for only $155 dollars off peak. We are glad that the adjoining restaurant's ambience did not affect you and the double glazed windows certainly impede any excessive noises into the rooms. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yamba, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Very please with our stay at Hotel Laguna , rooms large and adequate facilities. The rooms overlooking the river was a magnificent view come afternoon time, staff helpful and friendly, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJedynak, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thankyou for your positive review and we are glad that we met all your expectations on your recent holiday at Hotel Laguna. Management and staff are always excited to read such reviews and it makes us proud that we have contributed to you going home with such a great feeling. Please come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We recently stayed at the Hotel Laguna over the weekend and it was fantastic. Great location with privacy and beautiful surrounds of Noosa River and Hastings Street. Staff are more than happy to help and assist in our requests and were friendly and accommodating to our needs. We had no noise, were directly opposite the pool and had the option of strolling along the river board walk or the vibrant hastings street during the day and night. Would stay here again and would happily recommend to others.

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justine_johnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJedynak, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for your kind comments on your recent stay at Hotel Laguna. It is a great accolade for our staff, management and owners to know that we do offer great value and service and not to second guess ourselves. We understand that a minority of guests will disagree and will vent via social media forums and not allow us the opportunity to address their concerns during their stay. Hotel Laguna strives to offer our guests the best possible experience on their vacation or weekend away and know that we do not always get it right, but that does not stop us from improving our product as best we can. We hope you come and see us again after our next phase of renovations - the upgrade of our pool and BBQ area and we are pleased that you would not hesitate to recommend Hotel Laguna to your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnes Water, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

I sincerely hope I got the worst room in the hotel because if there were worse then I would drop the star rating even further. First impression: the reception was a mess, things sitting on the floor or propped up against the wall. There was no work going on so I can only assume it was a work in progress - looks very bad. Our room was on the first floor, on opening the door the first thing that greeted us was a light fitting hanging out of the ceiling - very dangerous as it was still connected to power. The room was dark and dingy and not very clean. The balcony looked straight onto the roof of the restaurant below so there was absolutely no view, we could have been in the slums of India for all we knew. At $155 this is a major rip off, at $100 maybe bearable because of location on Hasting Street. There are rooms that face the pool area and these are probably ok, we were not offered on of these. The reason for picking this hotel was to go to Miss Moneypennys restaurant below, which was great.

Room Tip: Request a pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotabbots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJedynak, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Management appreciate you taking time to write a review on our resort. We apologise for our renovation impeding your first impressions at reception. Unfortunately it is difficult to renovate without making a mess and we tried to keep disruptions to a minimum and tradesman do not work on weekends, so they cleaned up as best they could. It is disappointing that you did not mention the dislodged light fitting on the ceiling on your departure or during your stay. The fitting was fixed immediately by our maintenance department. Hotel Laguna is a north facing complex and all our rooms are light and airy and the best value on Hastings for $155 per night and unfortunately some of our studios do face over the new colour bond roof of Miss Moneypenny's. Your comment that our rooms are dark and dingy is not correct and will mislead other readers as no room is impeded by this roof . The room you booked was our cheapest room and also our most requested. If you choose to stay with us again and you feel the room you have booked is not to your satisfaction, management would appreciate the opportunity to meet your requests and avoid negative reviews. We hope you enjoyed your experience at Miss Moneypenny's and recommend that you book our more expensive riverfront units to avoid not having a room with a more attractive view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Noosa hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Noosa
The Sebel Noosa
#7 of 10 in Noosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.4 mi away
Noosa Blue Resort
Noosa Blue Resort
#5 of 10 in Noosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Noosa Pacific Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mantra French Quarter Resort
0.3 mi away
Netanya Noosa
Netanya Noosa
#3 of 10 in Noosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
1.2 mi away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna

Property: Hotel Laguna
Address: 6 Hastings St, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Noosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laguna 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in the real Noosa experience at Hotel Laguna. Our friendly, vibrant resort is nestled in the heart of Hastings Street, with both the river at our back door and the beach just a stone's throw away. Laze by our tropically surrounded pool or step outside our front door into a sea of restaurants and boutique shopping...We have something for everyone... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Laguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Hotel Noosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing