We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hostel! Would definitely stay again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dolphins Beach House
Ranked #109 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Noosa
Reviewed 6 December 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Dolphins for 3 nights and I loved it. The hostel itself is laid out really nicely, every two rooms has its own kitchen, bathroom, lounge and outdoor seating area so there's only 8/9 people sharing the same facilities.
The hostel is only a 5 minute walk from Sunshine Beach which is nice and quiet but a reasonable distance from Main Beach and the town centre. However the hostel does offer a free regular shuttle bus if you want it alternatively the walk through the national park to get there is great ~ beautiful views of the beaches and little coves to spot sea turtles. Highly recommend it!
From the little contact I had with the staff they seemed friendly and cleaned the kitchen, sitting areas and dorms frequently. The wifi was also free. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlywilliams83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2012

This hostel is very laid back and relaxed. There is loads of space to chill out and it is easy to mix with the other people who are staying there. The location of this hostel is really bittersweet as it is right next to Sunshine Beach and The National Park with lovely coastal cliff side walks near by, but you are a long way out of town where the big supermarkets and nightlife is, there is a free bus in & out of town every hour but this service finishes at 6pm so after that it is about a 40min walk.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liam-in-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Loved this guesthouse, after staying in many smelly dorms it was really nice to have little apartment style kitchens which were shared by about 8 people. No deposit needed for plates and cups. Loads of places to sit and chill. Free wifi all day. Literally 2 mins from beach. comfortable beds. Bus to town and the main beach throughout the day. If you want to go town at night you will need to get a taxi as the last free shuttle bus is 6pm. Dorms are $20 at the moment they go up to $22 in October. You have to check out at 9.30am and if you want to hang about and use the showers and wifi it's $5 per person. Overall lovely little place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms where the windows back out onto the main sitting area can be a bit Loud at night and in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gems87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Male Backpacker

A relaxed environment.
A bit out of town but there is a shuttle.
Stayed in a 5 bed dorm, which was part of a unit which catered for 10 people, had its own kitchen, bathroom and chill out area with Tv.

Enjoyed my stay.

Short walk to Sunshine beach.
40min walk into town

Not good if you are looking to enjoy a night out in town. Perfect for a chill out for a few days.
if you looking for a better mix i would advise Nomads in Town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruceZim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

This hostel was nice back in the day but defo needs work..
Facilities are poor and old.
However our room had a little communal area so you have your own kitchen and sitting area with a tv.
Felt like you had a little bit of home comforts as we stayed in cooked dinner and caught up on the tv.
We were sharing our little communal area with 4 french guys who seemed nice but we had random people coming in the whole time taking cups etc from the kitchen. VERY STRANGE.
You would have to keep your room locked at all times (even when your there) because you dont know who is coming and going.

Also when we got off greyhound the bus was there but no driver. So we packed our stuff into the bus and sat in and waited for the driver to come back. Was very weird and un professional. You should not have to wait on the driver when your sitting on the bus ready to go to the hostel.

But for your money I would defo say you could get somewhere nicer and more central.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJeffs203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

When we got off the Greyhound we noticed the shuttle bus for Dolphins drive off. We did arrive later than scheduled but they could have waited around...we had to wait about 45 minutes in the rain until the next shuttle arrived. A few people were worried that they were not going to be picked up. The hostel is located about 30 mins walk from the town centre. This is walkable both day and night but the day we arrived we did not know where to go as it was now dark and the hostel do not operate shuttles into town after 6pm. Quite frustrating as we needed to get along to the supermarket in order to get supplies for a canoe trip we were about to go on the following morning. The staff were not helpful in any way possible and often stayed up late making noise outside our room. The beach house itself is quite nice. It was being painted whilst we were there as it had fallen into a bit of disrepair. Each room has its own bathroom, common area and kitchen which other backpackers from other rooms come in and out of all the time, so security is not great, but the reason for this is that normally they are after a kitchen utensil of some sort. In most cases you will have to wash up the item you want to use first before using it - the staff I found were the main offenders with the washing up...
The location, although its 30mins to town is only a couple of mins to Sunshine Beach which is IMO the nicest beach I've been to along the East Coast. Its quiet and has some nice local shops and restaurants nearby. The ocean here has quite strong currents and medium waves, and doesn't get deep until quite far out which might be a negative for some people but I enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Nomads in town seems like the livelier place but the location of Dolphins next to the beach could be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BackpackerPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The Greyhound was a few minutes late getting into Noosa, but rather than wait for the three passengers they knew they were expecting the minibus was nowhere to be seen and returned two hours later. The lady at reception showed everyone to their rooms, one at a time, leaving everyone else waiting in reception.

The hostel itself wasn't particularly clean and would benefit from a fresh coat of paint. Conveniently placed for Sunshine Beach but not for the rest of Noosa (like the supermarket and other shops). Only plus is free wi-fi.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaltzingSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Noosa hotels
2.4 mi away
Noosa Backpackers Resort
Noosa Backpackers Resort
#33 of 41 in Noosaville
175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flashpackers Noosa
Flashpackers Noosa
#3 of 140 in Noosa
632 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nomads Noosa
Nomads Noosa
#136 of 140 in Noosa
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parkshores Sunshine
Parkshores Sunshine
#4 of 7 in Sunshine Beach
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Andari Apartments
Andari Apartments
#103 of 140 in Noosa
4 reviews
6.0 mi away
Noosa Edge Retreat
Noosa Edge Retreat
#2 of 2 in Doonan
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphins Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphins Beach House

Address: 14 Duke Street | Sunshine Beach, Noosa, Queensland, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Noosa
Price Range: £15 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolphins Beach House 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chill out and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere of Dolphins Beach House at beautiful Sunshine Beach, Noosa.This secluded, hippy-style haven is the closest hostel to the beach in Noosa, situated next to Noosa National Park with a boutique shopping village just one minute away.The ambience of this family-run hostel is quirky and unique - definitely not part of a franchise backpackers business. The owners are experienced travelers themselves, and Dolphins Beach House reflects their love of travel, with many exotic artifacts from India to Burma and Thailand. Once you slip past the gardens, the trees, the funky pink walls and the Guatemalan architecture, you'll realize that you have found a restful retreat.It's no wonder that Dolphins Beach House is Lonely Planet's best pick for Noosa for 2010 / 2011. Relax, unwind, enjoy.Our friendly staff are always happy to recommend where to go and what to see next. Office hours are 8:00 am to 7:00 pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dolphins Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing