We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hostel experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dolphins Beach House
Ranked #111 of 141 Speciality Lodging in Noosa
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

I've written a review for this hostel 6 times without it being published for some reason! I'm that passionate about how bad a hostel experience this was that I'm gunna try one more time. Summary, massively overrated hostel, not tranquil and peaceful when you're put in a room with longer termer and when its only you and them in a small apartment, you feel like a guest in their home. Our roomate snored horrifically and I ended up sleeping on the sofa, only to be woken up by the most arrogant (loved himself staff member) banging on the bin "cleaning" our kitchen and then watching you tube videos on his phone..no good morning or anything. I also found out from another swedish backpacker that he'd called someone a F*****g idiot in swedish when asking about the bus timetable, which is not acceptable considering it's his job to help backpackers. If this review doesn't get publish word of mouth is also an effective tool and I've been spreading the word about my experience here. Two positives for this hostel, the wifi and the pick up from the bus stop.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Becka C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolphinsbackpackers, Manager at Dolphins Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Firstly, thank you so much for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention. We apologise for the fact that you had a less than enjoyable experience at our hostel. We no longer allow long-term guests to stay here, as we recognise that it does have a negative affect on the overall atmosphere. We are unable to pinpoint who the employee was that contributed to your poor experience, but I can assure you that no one from March 2014 works here any longer, and that behaviour like this from an employee is unacceptable. We can only hope that if incidents like these occur, that the guest would bring it to a managers attention, so that we many ensure it is handle appropriately and does not reoccur.

Kind regards,
Dolphins Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

Very nice and helpfull staff, they wont let you sleep at outside :) Quiet location. Near controlled the Sunshine Beach. Room and kitchen were ok, five persons including me in same room. You share the kitchen with 9 other people. This is not a party hostel! :)

Pros: close to the Noosa National park, free wifi access, free courtesy bus, free surf board hire, dvd rentals, laundry facility, free pick up from Noosa Head bus station. Very nice chillout area and courtyard. Staff can range trip for you to anywhere.

Cons: if you want to shop or go to grocery store you have to take a bus to Noosa Junction or Noosa Head, local or courtesy bus. Staff is quite tight about drinking. Only one toilet/bathroom for 10 people. Room could be little bigger, five big backpacks take some space.

Room Tip: There are no A/C in rooms. Rooms are for five people. Two rooms in same apartment and one kitchen an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karhuvaari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolphinsbackpackers, Manager at Dolphins Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Thank you for staying with Dolphins Beach House and taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate the feedback and do our best to take them into consideration when making changes around the hostel.

You are right in saying that we are not a party hostel. Because we are located in a residential area of Noosa, we have to keep the noise to a minimum after 10pm. We also pride ourselves on having a more relaxed and chilled atmosphere, and heavy drinking and partying do not really coincide.

Hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Noosa,
Dolphins Beach House Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our group had two double bed rooms in the private area of the hostel, which were absolutely functional and clean. Same goes for the other facilities. No complaints about the bath room and the kitchen was spotless and well equipped (even with two pizza makers!).

The atmosphere in the common area of the hostel was very relaxed and sociable and the hostel has a nice Bali style. Can't say anything about wify and the pool, as we did not use them. We had a car and thus the location was ideal to head to the Everglades and Brisbane, while Noosa Heads, Noosa Beach and Noosa NP are in walking distance anyway (though not directly next door).

Noosa is a fantastic place to be and this hostel seems to be a good choice to do so.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolphinsbackpackers, Manager at Dolphins Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Come back and visit again!

- Dolphins Beach House Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Free pick up from the greyhound bus, by friendly staff playing good music from their ipod made for a pretty good first impression once arriving in Noosa. I felt really comfortable at Dolphins, as it was very clean, very quiet, and had helpful staff living in one of the rooms nearby. The hostel was divided into these smaller 'apartments' and I ended up sharing a dorm with a friend of mine, and only one other person.. so we had the kitchen and bathroom pretty much to ourselves.

A lot of the guests/staff were heavily into surfing, and gave us suggestions on hikes in the area.. so we spent a lot of time outside, exploring Noosa parks and beaches (all extreeemely beautiful and quiet). The first time I ever woke up at 4:30 am to catch an Australian sunrise was at Dolphins.. headed 10 mins down to the beach.. and will never forget it.

Free shuttle rides to the city centre for grocery shopping were also offered, and very appreciated. I suppose it depends on what kind of guests are visiting at the time, but I felt as though this place really attracted more chill travellers.. less interested in the party scene. I have a lot of great memories from my adventures in Aus relating to this place. Highly recommend.

(also, free internet cables are available.. which was a really nice change considering I had been paying for internet at all the other hostels. And you can work here in exchange for accommodation, which I would have considered had I been staying longer)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank emmmyharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolphinsbackpackers, Manager at Dolphins Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

We are so pleased to hear that this was one of your favourite hostels during your stay in Australia. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We hope you come back and visit us again if you are ever in Noosa!

- Dolphins Beach House Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

This is the best hostel in Australia I stayed at so far. Really friendly people, free surf boards. BYO alcohol. ;)
And its only 4 or 5 bed dorms. Its the cheapest hostel in Noosa but still the best one after visiting three of them.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank EmilDstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolphinsbackpackers, Manager at Dolphins Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Hey Emil! It was an absolute pleasure having you and Mia stay with us during your visit to Noosa. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We hope you come back and see us again!

- Dolphins Beach House Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Awesome stay here with everyone getting along really well thanks to the staff getting involved with everyone there.
Really social place without the tacky party scene and a great place to stay with chilled out people.

Location is great as it's so close to the beach where you can hire a surfboard for free and head into the wave's, its a bit out of the main town, but they have a free minibus that the owners were more than happy to give people free lifts.

Best hostel in Noosa in my opinion, the place to be if you want a great social time in a great location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DaveDP-gsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolphinsbackpackers, Manager at Dolphins Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review on our page. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hostel so much. Please come back and see us next time you're in Noosa!

- Dolphins Beach House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This place was my second stop on my adventure and I honestly loved it here, I only stayed for one night as I was moving on the next day, the staff were so friendly and welcoming from the second we walked in, the accommodation is set into little apartments with 2 rooms and 5 beds in each room, our apartment had a kitchen, bathroom and tv. In the evening most people sat downstairs together which gave a nice community spirit. I found this place quite relaxing, only jibe is that the hot water is turned off during the day and night coming on at 5 and going off again at 10 both morning and night. There is also a shuttle to and from the local bus station which is great.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolphinsbackpackers, Manager at Dolphins Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on having a more chill and laid-back vibe and it is always nice to hear that guests are able to recognise and relish in it. If you are ever back in Noosa, we hope you'll stay with us again!

- Dolphins Beach House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noosa
3.3 mi away
Noosa Sun Motel & Holiday Apartments
2.4 mi away
Noosa Backpackers Resort
Noosa Backpackers Resort
#34 of 41 in Noosaville
178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flashpackers Noosa
Flashpackers Noosa
#4 of 141 in Noosa
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Nomads Noosa
Nomads Noosa
#137 of 141 in Noosa
643 reviews
19.3 mi away
Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers
Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers
#25 of 29 in Mooloolaba
167 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Noosa
Ingenia Holidays Noosa
#4 of 41 in Noosaville
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphins Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphins Beach House

Address: 14 Duke Street | Sunshine Beach, Noosa, Queensland, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 141 Speciality Lodging in Noosa
Price Range: £38 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolphins Beach House 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chill out and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere of Dolphins Beach House at beautiful Sunshine Beach, Noosa.This secluded, hippy-style haven is the closest hostel to the beach in Noosa, situated next to Noosa National Park with a boutique shopping village just one minute away.The ambience of this family-run hostel is quirky and unique - definitely not part of a franchise backpackers business. The owners are experienced travelers themselves, and Dolphins Beach House reflects their love of travel, with many exotic artifacts from India to Burma and Thailand. Once you slip past the gardens, the trees, the funky pink walls and the Guatemalan architecture, you'll realize that you have found a restful retreat.It's no wonder that Dolphins Beach House is Lonely Planet's best pick for Noosa for 2010 / 2011. Relax, unwind, enjoy.Our friendly staff are always happy to recommend where to go and what to see next. Office hours are 8:00 am to 7:00 pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dolphins Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing