We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but lacked safety”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hastings Beach Houses
Ranked #86 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Noosa
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location but lacked safety”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The reason we picked this place was due to location and provision for parking. We were allocated tothe newly renovated unit. The deco was nice, however the toilets were relatively small and cramp. Bath towels were provided just nice, but these aren't replenished daily. Supplies such as soap, detergent are good for one use, and request for more cost $$.
The floor at the kitchen and living room was sticky, and we were lucky to have brought bedroom slippers from our previous hotel stay.

The seaside, what really troubled us was there was free access from the street and the main road. Anyone could just walked in or drove in. There was huge lacking in security, and my first thought was that the door (made of glass) could be easily broken into. Anyone who stayed here could have duplicated the locks and accessed my unit!

On my third day, there was a van that was parked outside my porch. I've tried to call the security number but the number wasn't reachable. It really dawned upon me if I've had sacrificed my family safety over the convenience. I've highlighted this to one of the staff and I'm glad that they said they are installing a gate over at the entrance.

One last note. Wireless access requires purchase at $8 for some minimal data download

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KapalApi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123GOQld, Manager at The Hastings Beach Houses, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear KapalApi

Thank you for your comments, feedback is always warmly welcomed and we are glad you appreciated our wonderful location.
In relation to towels and supplies, our accommodation is classed as fully self contained Beach House not hotel rooms. Therefore the Beach Houses are not serviced daily as per hotel rooms. Our Beach Houses are serviced for weekly or longer stays and there is starter pack provided of supplies such as soap, detergent etc then the guests are required to source further supplies if required. This is standard industry practice for our type of accommodation and this detail is provided on all our information from website to booking confirmations.

With access to the complex there is a secure gate at the front street which gets locked nightly and with the back driveway entrance there is now a gate installed which gets locked nightly as well. All the Beach Houses are fully secure and in all our years here we have never had any security concerns with break ins or the like.

In relation to calling the security number, I'm unsure of why this was not reachable our security firm are always very reliable and if any guests notify us of any issues with security we address this immediately.

The WiFi system onsite is unfortunately not free WiFi at this stage although we hope to have free WiFi in the near future and the current setup is at a minimal costs.

Again thanks again for the feedback.

Kind Regards
Charlie and Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    30
    15
    8
    9
See reviews for
45
24
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights outside of school holidays.

We had a recently renovated beach house. Kitchen and bathroom were nice and new. Some minor black mould along bath/wall titling was a minor disappointment.

Our house/cabin was nice, three levels. 2x bedrooms on the top level. Kitchen and lounge on middle level, double sofa bed and laundry on bottom level.

Pool in middle of complex was good for kids to play in. Lounges, tables and chairs with BBQs a small wading pool for the young kids was good.

Location is only a minute to get out on to the middle of Hastings St, so really convenient.

We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydney_RD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallacetown
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and was perfectly located with the shops and beach right at your back door. I rented a standard 2 bedroom unit for the four of us and it had everything we needed. Definitely needs a bit of love and tender care. Rusty fridge and bar stools and a light bulb not working in the bathroom which was a bit of an issue when trying to put makeup on. No mirror in the spare bedroom. Ironing board cover was all ripped and needed to be thrown out. I had to put a tea towel over top of it to do my ironing. I would definitely stay there again but upgrade to a superior unit.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

A hidden gem and truly worth the stay!! Very close to Hasting Street loved that fact. Each beach house has all amenities and mine was perfect for me very modern! The staff - fantastic. It was my second time there and would definitely stay their again on my next getaway to Noosa.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jannie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed in a renovated beach house for 2 nights and it was perfect. Upstairs had been tastefully renovated, kitchen could do with a jazz up but still functional. Best part was the location, 10 seconds to Hastings! After hours check in was easy and staff were very helpful/friendly. Highly recommended. Have stayed in other places around Noosa and this is definately best value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoosaLuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feilding
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Really enjoyed the "beach hut" feel of this stay. It was wonderful to have our own laundry as we were flying out the next day. The pool is lovely with noodles available for the young ones. Short walk to beach and river. Would love to stay longer next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjkiwigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We paid extra for a renovated beach house and were not disappointed. Number 12 had almost brand new bathrooms! The convenient position has already been mentioned and was the reason we chose this place, we wanted to be able to walk to the beach without getting into our car. Lovely walks nearby and the Surfclub is handy for reliable food with a view. The modern pool was heated and had lounge chairs and a BBQ. On a less positive note, the property is quite hemmed in and shady(good in summer I guess) It was not full during our visit but I imagine it can get noisy. Traffic noise noticeably loud early morning and we also had building work going on at a next door unit and although we were offered a change of unit we didn't think it would change anything. I don't see why a reduction couldn't be offered in these circumstances. Finally, this was the most expensive accommodation during our Queensland holiday and the only one that didn't provide free Wifi and free beach towels. This would be a nice touch.

Room Tip: Check layout of property and choose where you stay if possible, 12 was in the middle. I think 22 was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OliveNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Noosa hotels
0.1 mi away
Bella Casa Noosa
Bella Casa Noosa
#48 of 140 in Noosa
138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Laguna on Hastings Street
Laguna on Hastings Street
#114 of 140 in Noosa
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
SandCastles Apartments
SandCastles Apartments
#72 of 140 in Noosa
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Emerald Resort Noosa
0.2 mi away
2 Hastings Street
2 Hastings Street
#97 of 140 in Noosa
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Laguna
Hotel Laguna
#16 of 140 in Noosa
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hastings Beach Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hastings Beach Houses

Property: The Hastings Beach Houses
Address: 30 Hastings St, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Noosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hastings Beach Houses 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hastings Beach Houses Noosa. Noosa’s best kept secret, seclusion right in the heart of Hastings Street.Set in sub-tropical surrounds just a few steps to Hasting Street boutique shops and fine restaurants. A moment from Noosa’s pristine Main Beach and a casual stroll to Noosa’s famous National Park or the beautiful Noosa River.Our 2 bedroom free standing "Beach Houses" at The Hastings Beach Houses Noosa are individually furnished and fully self contained. All have fully equipped kitchens, also featuring spacious living and dining areas that open onto your own private balcony.Feature List• All Beach Houses are two levels with internal & external stairs• Large balcony • Air Conditioned• Own laundry facilities • Undercover parking • Direct access telephones • Austar• Your choice of 2way, two or three bathrooms.• 1 Queen bed and 2 single beds • Serviced weekly • Fully refurbished Heated Swimming Pool • BBQ Facilities• Direct access to Hastings Street boutique shops and restaurants • Short stroll to Noosa’s famous National Park• Noosa River and fabulous park just across the road • On-site management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Hastings Beach Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hastings Hotel Noosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing