We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden jewel”
Review of Macquarie Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macquarie Lodge
Ranked #92 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Noosa
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A hidden jewel”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

My wife and I recently returned to Macquarie lodge for an 8 night stay. We have stayed on 2 previous occassions and can only say that their standard has been maintained. Appartment 36 on the third floor was fantastic, with a beautiful view through the tree tops over the river and Noosa Sound and also out to the ocean. The appartment was spacious and clean with full kitchen, a large refrigerator and every convenience you could want or need, including a dishwasher. 2 bathrooms and toilets and a second bedroom if you rented it as a 2 bedroom appartment. The appartment complex is tucked away in a quiet street surrounded by beautiful gardens and is only a few minutes walk from the shops at Noosa Junction or a 20 minute stroll (testing on the way back up the hill on a hot day), or a 2 minute drive down to the buzz of Hastings street and the main Noosa Beach. Lots of fresh produce available at Noosa Junction if you prefer to cook for yourselves or extensive restaurant selection in Hastings Street, at the Junction or nearby Noosaville. If seafood is your preference the seafood market at Noosa Junction has an extensive range or you can drive ten minutes around to the Marina on the river just before Tewantin as well. This is a great location if you want a quiet break.

Room Tip: Appartment 36 located on the 3rd floor (with a lift) at the end of the building with extensive views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaykayMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    34
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
39
23
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Very pleasant stay in a 2 bedroom apartment at Macquarie Lodge. Apartment was very spacious, clean and well equipped and had a very homely feel. Grounds are immaculate, and we enjoyed the heated pool with BBQ amenities close by. Reception staff were friendly and obliging at all times. Not too far to walk to noosa junction shops, and short car ride to Hastings street. Would not hesitate to recommend to friends or stay here again :-)

Room Tip: Book lat minute to get a great rate, 2 bedroom apartment for $139 a night worked out excellent value...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woggawoofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
468 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

This is an older complex but it is well maintained and the units have been renovated. It is peaceful and quiet because it is located in a suburban area. It would be about a 15 minute walk to Hastings Street and a shorter walk to Noosa Junction. I stayed in a 2 bedroom unit and it had everything you would need. There were a lot of books and board games in the cupboard. The units face onto a grassy courtyard with a pool. Although the complex is on the river it is a steep walk down the steps to get to the river and you can just see it through the trees. The reception is only open 8.30 am to 4 pm so if you arrive outside of these times you need to collect your keys from the safe. I was supplied a good map to help me find my undercover parking spot and where my unit was located. I would recommend this property if you like a bit more space and don't mind being a short walk from the action.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvettesaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Qld Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment (unit 21) for 3 nights and loved the great view through the trees to the canal below. The apartment was clean, modern, well equipped, private and very quiet despite being a busy time of year. Short walk to the shops at Noosa Junction (5-10 minutes) and a longer walk to Hastings street and surrounds. We didn't walk it due to whingy teenager : ) in our group but I think if you are fit and able you could do it slowly in 30 - 45 minutes. There is a hill enroute so bear that in mind. Bed in the main was very hard but management were great and supplied a brand new mattress topper that helped. Plenty of supermarkets and restaurants at Noosa Junction as well as a cinema.

Room Tip: Room 21 which was a corner unit with balcony and lovely breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Murphys2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

SSI (Sleep; Shower; Index) 9/10. A nice bed and plenty of hot water in the shower. The room was quiet and we had great nights sleep.

Very Nice Family Unit but it is only a 3.5.star. While the unit was great you have to have at least one star for service. For instance, internet in the units is available and quite a good speed but you need pass codes from reception. Reception has limited opening hours. You can only have internet access if you arrive before 4pm weekdays and 1pm weekends. Outside these hours you collect your keys from a safe. It seems that if you arrive on a weekend (check in 2pm) or before after 4pm week days) you just have to wait until the next day for internet access.

Unit features could vary unit to unit as each unit is individually owned. In our unit there was air-conditioning in lounge room only with ceiling fans in the bedrooms. TV reception varied.

It is a 10 minute easy walk to Noosa Junction, the main “locals” retail centre with shopping centres and strip retail shops. The walk to Hastings St is about 20 minutes each way although I would think in summer the walk up the steep hill may be tough and take much longer.

Staff we met were very helpful.

We were here for 3 nights and during a low occupancy. While we had no trouble getting a sun lounge around the pool, I doubt that the 8 sun lounges would suffice in peak times. The pool is heated to around 27 degrees by solar and gas. It is fed through the spa, so the pool is a bit cooler and the spa will certainly not be a hot tub.

Quite good value for Noosa. It is probably priced appropriately.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not around the pool but rather with a bush/river view. Not only a nice outlook but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SaleenXTRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We stayed at MacQuarie Lodge in Sept '12 for 6 nights with our kids and 1 year old grandchild. The 3 bedroom apartment on the 3rd floor was very clean, spacious and well equipped. Management were very obliging with providing a cot and highchair, and when we advised the vacuum cleaner was broken, it was replaced the same day with a brand new one. The apartment was reasonably modern with a great view. We had free internet usage which was fantastic and the pool was perfect for relaxing and chilling out. Management were very friendly, the only note we would make is that reception is not open long enough, closing late afternoon. The complex was within walking distance of shops and restaurants but we needed to use the car a lot to do anything else. There were 2 nights where sleep was a little elusive due to apartments either side of us having parties. I am sure if we had rung reception we would have had this sorted. Would recommend this accommodation to anyone wanting a nice relaxing holiday with children.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoxyLoxy025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in 3b/r apartment with 7 people. Spacious and everyone had a great time. Clean, neat, quiet and relaxing. Great pool/spa & bbq area. River in the backyard, great fishing for kids. Near to shops & walking distance to Hastings Street. Good value for money and a great place for a family holiday. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Definately would go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheri-M_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Noosa hotels
0.2 mi away
Noosa International Resort
0.1 mi away
Noosa Crest
Noosa Crest
#21 of 140 in Noosa
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bali Hai Apartments Noosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Noosa Residences
Noosa Residences
#94 of 140 in Noosa
16 reviews
0.5 mi away
Noosa Shores Resort
Noosa Shores Resort
#47 of 140 in Noosa
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grantlea Holiday Lodge
Grantlea Holiday Lodge
#126 of 140 in Noosa
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macquarie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macquarie Lodge

Property: Macquarie Lodge
Address: Macquarie Lodge 53 Banksia Ave N, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Noosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Macquarie Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macquarie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macquarie Hotel Noosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing