We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence”
Review of Fortingall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fortingall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fortingall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Having travelled all over the world it is easy to find small negatives to report; however, Gavin (the manager) leads by example here and his example pervades the whole place. He goes that little bit further than is realistically required to ensure his guests come away happy and contented. It was our second visit and the muppets at the Scottish road department had closed the A82 thus ensuring a late night 70 mile detour along unknown roads - we arrived the wrong side of midnight. Gavin greeted us as though as though we had arrived mid afternoon - with charm and grace he took us to our room ensured we had everything and we were comfortable. He was discreetly supervising breakfasts the next morning. Without doubt that is service beyond what can be expected anywhere comparable.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NB-Ll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

We only stayed one night, but Gavin gallantly carried a heavy suitcase upstairs. Our room had a view overlooking the standing stone in the middle of a sheep filled glen -delightful, and the 'wee dram' left in the room, was a lovely little surprise! Petit fours were later served in the sitting room in front of a log fire, and when we were later served our dinner in the dining room it was delicious, especially the lobster main course, and all part of the set menu! The staff were all efficient and friendly. All in all, very good!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJandNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed for two weeks from 26th August to 9th September. It was in a very picturesque area with it's own local pub attached to the hotel. The hotel was lovely and homely with logs fires, excellent food and extremely friendly, fun and helpful staff. I would highly recommend a visit to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The hotel is located in a small village that is picturesque and the hotel lived up to its stunning outside image. The staff was welcoming and room quiet and comfortable. The food was very good and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryPHX543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

It was in desperation that we booked two nights at Fortingall Hotel it was the only hotel that had rooms to offer so you can understand that we were nervous asking ourselves why, is it because the hotel is not very good - but we were wrong it was delightful.
We arrived to a warm welcome from Sandie the receptionist and Gavin the Manager who offered help with our luggage, and carefully explained the system used for breakfast and evening meal which can be taken in the restaurant or in the wonderful cosy bar which is attached. All very professional and top class service.
Our bedroom was delightful and the ensuite was large and sparkling clean even a wee dram of whisky in a little decanter as a welcome drink.
We dinned in the restaurant on our first night and the food and service was excellent. The second night we dinned in the delightful bar and once again enjoyed a very tasty meal.
Very impressed and would return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

On arriving we were welcomed by very friendly, helpful staff. We were shown to our room which was one of their Superior Double Rooms . The room was very spacious with a very large on suite bathroom, they were both very clean and comfortable. The room did have a flat screen TV but the channels were limited, but enough for us. There was a decanter with some malt whiskey in it, enough for two tots each, nice touch. We had our evening meal in their cosy little bar where again the staff were very friendly, and the meals that we had were very nice and reasonably priced. The main restaurant meals also looked to be of a high standard, and good quantities served. Breakfast was of a high standard with a large choice to pick from on the menu. The hotel is located in a small village with a cluster of small thatched cottages and a church. In the church grounds there is a Yew tree reputed to be the oldest in Europe. When driving round the area to get to various castles and local historical sites we saw wild deer where ever we went.
The hotel was very quiet and peaceful we both had a good nights sleep. We had great views out the front of the hotel.
If the opportunity arises we would love to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChiefEng100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I had stayed at the Fortingall Hotel in the past, some 2-3 years ago, and amazingly the excellent concierge remembered me. That nice touch simply adds to the very positive view of the staff or the Fortingall Hotel. We had travelled from Islay to Fortingall and August in Scotland you will pay handsomely for a good hotel. But if you are going to pay up, at least get your monies worth. Fortingall is set in a lovely location, something quite magical. The ancient Yew Tree adjacent to the hotel in a charming churchyard, lovely rural views, the pub which is part of yet separate from the hotel, lovely food, and very friendly service. Our room (Glen Lyon) had views over the countryside and thatched cottages next door. A short walk through the village, and a lovely sunset. Who said the weather in Scotland is terrible? Maybe I should not have written such a positive review of Fortingall because I will end up paying more on the next stay if this place gets discovered

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fortingall
2.2 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
928 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
445 reviews
8.8 mi away
Dunalastair Hotel Suites
Dunalastair Hotel Suites
#1 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
1,283 reviews
13.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,113 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St Fillans
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortingall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortingall Hotel

Address: Fortingall PH15 2NQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Fortingall
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fortingall
Price Range: £167 - £415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortingall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Fortingall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortingall Hotel Aberfeldy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing