We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter stay”
Review of Fortingall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fortingall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fortingall
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Winter stay”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

A fine location and a good, spacious room at a special rate but let down by too many basic shortcomings - public rooms inadequately heated, grubby carpets and a rather uninspiring dinner menu in contrast to the expectation given by sample menus. The dinner + accommodation rate gave no saving over paying separately. The wine was good value.

Alister M

Room Tip: Check for special deals on Trip Adviser. Despite a front-facing room there was still some A/C or si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alistermorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    66
    16
    9
    1
See reviews for
36
159
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We were given a weekend away at the Fortingall as an engagement gift and decided to tie it in with a birthday trip. From the moment we arrived until the moment we (reluctantly and sadly) left, we were well looked after, well fed and watered. An amazing evening in the Ewe bar on the Friday complete with rendition of Ally Bally; rugby on Saturday and lovely relaxing times in between in the lounge. The room was lovely and clean, with a comfortable bed and shower so powerful it would take your skin off (in a good way!). Friendly staff, gorgeous location and exactly what we were looking for to get away from the madness of London. Thanks all, we'll be back.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My wife and I were at the Fortingall on the 12th and 19th of October. The first time for a bar lunch and the second time for dinner. The bar lunch was great the dinner was excellent. The staff were polite and helpful. We had a great time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the 2nd. time on the 16th. Nov. for dinner bed and breakfast. My wife and I were given the Glen Lyon room which is on the 1st. floor and looks west. Absolutely beautiful room, extremely comfortable. Loads of hot water and even a very fine complimentary malt whisky.

The dinner was also excellent and couldn't be faulted as was the breakfast.

Good attentive staff and wonderful scenery make this a great place to go. Looking forward to going back again soon.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Willie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We had a two night stay at Fortingall we were located in a room on the first floor and had no problems with noise, the room was immaculate very comfortable, service was first class as was the food. The staff were very polite and friendly and had great knowledge of the local area
which was very helpful during our stay.
I will not hesitate to visit Fortingall in the future or recommend this jewel to my friends

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andykelly56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night at this hotel and brought a dog too. Staff were really friendly and could not have done anymore to make us feel welcome. The room was lovely and cosy, had Suki teapot in it and a free wee dram. Had dinner and breakfast here and both were exceptional. It's about 9miles from aberfeldy so not the closest hotel to the town but definetly the best!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Having travelled all over the world it is easy to find small negatives to report; however, Gavin (the manager) leads by example here and his example pervades the whole place. He goes that little bit further than is realistically required to ensure his guests come away happy and contented. It was our second visit and the muppets at the Scottish road department had closed the A82 thus ensuring a late night 70 mile detour along unknown roads - we arrived the wrong side of midnight. Gavin greeted us as though as though we had arrived mid afternoon - with charm and grace he took us to our room ensured we had everything and we were comfortable. He was discreetly supervising breakfasts the next morning. Without doubt that is service beyond what can be expected anywhere comparable.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NB-Ll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fortingall
2.2 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
873 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
406 reviews
9.2 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Dunalastair Hotel Suites
Dunalastair Hotel Suites
#1 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
83 reviews
13.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,898 reviews
7.3 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortingall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortingall Hotel

Property: Fortingall Hotel
Address: Fortingall PH15 2NQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Fortingall
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fortingall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortingall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fortingall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortingall Hotel Aberfeldy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing