We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
183
76
18
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
76
18
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsglen lyonyew treeopen firelocal musiciansarts and craftscountry hotelbar lunchdining roomvenisoncosy barlovely hotelpublic roomscomfortable loungetour of scotlandsuperior roomwine listdog friendly hotel
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 289 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Author S.P.B.Mais booklet on Fortingall says it all about this country hotel: "...I found to my intense delight, a real country hotel, where the atmosphere is one of good taste and solid comfort. How restful to sit in that happy lounge, looking out over mountain and river." And excellent food! The staff are courteous, warm and discreetly friendly. The owner is an excellent hostess. Glen Lyon is the best room. Do climb Schehallion for the fairies, and Ben Lawyers if you are up to it. We were pleased to find this country hotel after passing through the well visited areas around the Trossachs. We felt a more genuine warmth at this hotel than we have at some of Scotlands top rated country hotels. Interesting people who love the countryside stay here and are lovely to share a conversation or two with... or not if that is the space one requires.. the hotel is a touch rusticated and not brand new. It's a hotel with Heart and Soul.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BillfromMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

We dined here on a Friday evening recently. The food served was of a very high standard. It was a little out of our normal price range but we had been given a voucher which covered the majority of the bill so we were able to enjoy the high quality food without breaking our holiday budget. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially the two young girls who served our meal. The hotel looked very inviting and would definitely be a place we would consider stopping for a special occasion.

Stayed: June 2017
1  Thank Theperyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

We were three couples on a walking holiday staying just one night at the Fortingall. A wonderful experience. It is clear that the owners maintain high standards which is reflected in every aspect of this hotel. Our rooms were comfortable and very tastefully furnished. The staff were friendly and efficient providing valuable help with our onward route. Dinner was excellent as was breakfast. The decanter of whiskey in the rooms was a very nice touch. I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gordon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

We stayed at Fortingall Hotel for 3 nights dinner bed and breakfast in a superior room. Not a cheap stay but reasonable value. The hotel is and Arts and Crafts building and has several interesting feaures. Our room was large, had a sofa and armchair and a good view of the surrounding fields and hills
The food was all of good quality and well presented and portions were generous. The fish items on the menu were particularly good. My breakfast kippers were the best I have ever had. The desserts were more imaginative than one usually finds - the only problem was making room for dessert.!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dilys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

The title says it all. Very attractive hotel in a fairly remote location. All the staff very welcoming. Room comfortable and public rooms very in-character with the Highland location. Breakfast excellent. Dinner rather mixed: venison good, Lamb OK, fish &chips bizarre - geometric reconstituted chips one of the strangest things I've been served with for some time. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Aim for good weather!
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MelvynC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews