We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
183
76
18
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
76
18
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsglen lyonyew treeopen firelocal musiciansarts and craftscountry hotelbar lunchdining roomvenisoncosy barlovely hotelpublic roomscomfortable loungetour of scotlandsuperior roomwine listdog friendly hotel
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 289 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

We booked at the last minute, and the staff set a table in a bow window in a semi private room with an open fire for us. The food is superb, the staff friendly and attentive, and the atmosphere is warm and welcoming. I would love to return one day.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Beautiful hotel in a stunning location. We were lucky with the weather and were able to sit out side for pre dinner drinks and enjoy the scenery.
Helpful and friendly staff. Our room was very nice, with lovely tweed touches and my hubby enjoyed the complimentary whiskey in our room.
Beautifully set out dining room with well lit fire set a good atmosphere. The food was good and served in good portions.
Lovely hotel and we hope to return in the future :-)

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lorraine898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Lovely hotel in one of the most scenic glens in Scotland. Great comfortable room, a few small issues needing dealt with, blind not working, etc. Very comfortable bed, lovely and quiet location. The only fly in ointment was being served instant coffee In a cafetière at breakfast just not acceptable in my book! Proper coffee served later in the day! Great friendly staff, I will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms will be quiet, very rural location.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank les r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortingall, Owner at Fortingall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

First of all I am glad that you enjoyed your stay - and apologies for the blind - I am busy trying to work out which room you were in as we have obviously missed this in our housekeeping.

Coffee - I am really puzzled by this as we do not serve instant coffee - indeed we use Tikki coffee beans - perhaps you could get in touch with me via email so that we can look into this.

Look forward to possibly hearing from you and hope to see you in Fortingall soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Great welome from proprietor and excellent service from very friendly and helpful staff. Fine menu selection. An older hotel with many original features but tastefully modernised carefullt blending new and old. Altogether beyond criticisim.

Room Tip: all rooms seem o.k.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murdoch M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortingall, Owner at Fortingall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you so much for your kind comments - we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Everything about this hotel says luxury. The staff were helpful and efficient. The food was delicious. The rooms were sumptuous and the view was breathtakingly beautiful. Definitely on my list of hotels to revisit.

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank Polly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortingall, Owner at Fortingall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Polly

Great to get such nice comments - thank you.

Look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews