We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Idyllic Week-end”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Val-des-Monts
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stanyar House Bed and Breakfast
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Idyllic Week-end”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

My husband and myself decided to stay here one week-end after dropping our son off at University. What a beautiful setting - overlooking a lake and a gorgeous house with great carvings, well appointed and with great picture windows to take in the view. The best part is the owner, John who made us feel completely at home and was very hospitable. We will be back for sure !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArunToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

The house is beautifully situated on a calm lake amidst forest greenery. The hosts John and Sheila were amazing - even getting up at 5am to prepare an energy-packed breakfast for those of us running the Ottawa marathon. Not far from Gatineau park, perfect for fishing or hiking around the area. Never slept better!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arielle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

I took my husband here to celebrate his birthday! John and Sheila were so warm and welcoming! And their home is beautiful and romantic with stellar views of the pretty little lake! It's nestled in such a picturesque spot and only a short drive to charming towns and excellent restaurants! You couldn't ask for more! Oh, and did I mention Frankie and Maggie? Best dogs ever!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Master Suite! Beautiful balcony overlooking the lake, romantic fireplace, gorgeous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

It' a great house to be for a couple of days. All bedroom are very nice, the master bedroom is a must! The view on the lake Is beautiful. Lost in the middle of nowhere and so close of Gatineau or Ottawa. Breakfeast is perfect! We didn't need lunch after all this. John make you feel like if you were at home. He has very good suggestion and we were glad to meet him! Our week end was so peaceful and quiet. We took the opportunity to do dogg sledding (very close of the house), that was amazing! We were there for 3 days, it seems we left for a week vacation. I agree with a previous comment, best B&B we ever had. We have to go back in summer!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Came here for a couple of night, food was excellent and the rooms were beautiful. Great deal for two prices include a full breakfast.
The setting on a private lake is tranquil, nice way to spend a warm afternoon on the dock reading or just enjoying the fabulous view.
The hosts John and sheila made us feel extremely welcome.

Room Tip: The Master Suite is like something you read about in a romantic novel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Informal and very welcoming, this property is a perfect relaxing escape. John and Sheila make guests very much a part of their family home atmosphere (together with three of the friendliest and quietist dogs I have ever encountered). Breakfast is good downhome food that sets you up for the day ahead, whether you stick around the property or head out to explore the countryside. Ottawa is a short drive away on a twisty scenic route, and so too is the Casino Lac Leamy in Gatineau for those seeking a little excitement at the tables, or a novel theatre experience. Our 3 day stay was too short, so we hope to go back again next year.

Room Tip: The master suite, with its own balcony overlooking the lake, is by far your best choice, but all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RustyBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

What a gem! Nestled in the hills, overlooking the lake, this view can't be beat. The owners were so welcoming and went out of their way to make sure we had the most enjoyable stay. The rooms are beautiful and the breakfast was delicious.....the best we ever had in a B & B. We wished we could have stayed longer!!

Room Tip: Ask for the Master Suite....and feel like a King!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Val-des-Monts
13.1 mi away
Moulin Wakefield Mill Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Domaine Baie Mud
#1 of 1 in Val-des-Monts
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
5.5 mi away
Andante Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
La Grange
La Grange
#4 of 4 in Wakefield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
9.4 mi away
Auberge Old Chelsea
Auberge Old Chelsea
#1 of 4 in Chelsea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
7.6 mi away
Le Chalet Buckhouse
Le Chalet Buckhouse
#3 of 3 in Cantley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanyar House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanyar House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Stanyar House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 74 Stanyar Road | Quebec, Val-des-Monts, Quebec J8N 7B6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Val-des-Monts
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Val-des-Monts
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanyar House is located in the gatineau hills a wild life setting on a private lake.A canoe and fishing boat with small motor is available for guests as well as an outdoor firepit & BBQWe are only a 30 min drive to Downtown Ottawa, Parliament Hill and outdoor Market area and a 15 min drive to the main shopping/restaurant area of Gatineau.Full breakfast for 2 is included in the price of each room.Evening dinners upon request at booking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing