We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hildyard Arms

The Hildyard Arms
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Catterick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I've driven past the sign for this pub many a time over the years but have never been in before. We were looking on here for somewhere different to try for Sunday dinner and it popped up with some very good reviews- we weren't disappointed.

The pub has obviously had some recent refurbishment and is bright and airy. The food was lovely, we both had a proper Sunday roast followed by a delicious homemade lemon cheesecake.

The only let down was the atmosphere. The bar and restaurant were separate and there weren't many people in eating. It would have been nice to have some background music or something, as we felt like we were listening to others conversations or having to talk quietly so we weren't disturbing anyone! A little awkward.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sherbet101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    20
    3
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food was as good as a top restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Have visited hilyard arms twice for food and both occasions the food has been fantastic. Very tasty and during the week some different dishes I may not expect but all the flavours totally complemented each other. Last time I went I was joined by two good friends and food was that good we all cleared our plates and were eager to try the puddings which were just heaven. Top marks to the chef and the really nice guy who served us. Service was fab and nothing was to much trouble. Only reason I scored a 4 instead of 5 on atmosphere was it happened to a little quiet the evening we came but it was mid week and I believe that once word has spread then midweek will soon become as popular as at the weekend for this fab little pub. Im already nagging the other half to take me back again there soon :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank laurakeay@hotmail.com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent home cooked Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Called in for Sunday lunch and we weren't disappointed. Lovely to have lunch served till 3pm. We sat in the beer garden which was so tranquil, a perfect place. Lunch arrived Roast Beef for my partner and Roast Pork for me. Both served piping hot. Loads of meat and fresh home made Yorkshire Puddings. Vegetables included roast parsnips, mash and roast potatoes, red cabbage, carrots and leeks. Excellent value at £8.95 each. We were to full for pudding! Really enjoyed our first visit here. Lovely decor inside, very clean. Excellent service. We will be back

Helpful?
1 Thank HouseofJanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“No thanks if you aren't a local?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

A lovely little place, reasonably priced. Food looked amazing. It's a shame we couldn't have any. Maybe we didn't look like the right sort, but despite numerous empty clean tables we were told we'd have to wait for tables to be cleaned.

Customers were obviously locals who knew one another as we were started at and made to feel very uncomfortable.


Beautiful garden outside to sit in.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Kristie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fifi99, Manager at The Hildyard Arms, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We are indeed very sorry you were disappointed on your recent visit. My partner Dave clearly remembers you. Unfortunately i think you misunderstood. We did have a table for you there was just a 15 - 20 minute wait on the kitchen. Lots of our regular diners are coming to the conclusion that it is a good idea to book now on any given night. Although we are tucked away the dining experience is proving popular! All but 2 of our tables were reserved that evening and we dont make a habit of rushing people off them. I do hope you will consider trying us again but please book ahead to avoid disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catterick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“coast to coast gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

this pub restaurant was taken over last year by dave and fiona who have worked tirelessly to get it where it is now, number 1 on tripadvisor their staff too should take credit theresa and bridgette for their hard work and dedication to the hildyard arms.we popped in for a lunchtime meal today the wife having the ploughmans and myself the fish and chips with mushy peas, both meals were well presented and mine was piping hot i even squeezed in a sticky toffee pudding.thanks guys and will be returning soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grimreaper1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hildyard Arms also viewed

Richmond, North Yorkshire
East Layton, Richmond
 

Been to The Hildyard Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing