We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Olimpico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Olimpico
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel itself is very pretty, modern, clean etc. The only complaint I would have is the restaurant, the food is terrible and expensive. They can offer such low rates because they make all their money on the restaurant. You have no choice but to eat there at least once, because there is nothing else in the area, and no way you would want to walk around the area. Salerno is kind of a nasty slummy city. Although it was perfect base for what we were doing-Amalfi coast and Herculaneum- I did not like Salerno at all. The free shuttle is nice and it definitely saved money on taxi rides. The times of the shuttle was a little to sparse, one time was at 10 and the next one wasn't until 2. They only have one shuttle and one guy to drive, they should hire a few more and offer more shuttles and times. The front desk told us wrong directions to a location, thankfully at the train station a lady that worked there corrected our plans. We probably will not be back because of the location and the horrible expensive food.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G-Serluca, General Manager at Hotel Olimpico, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Abt7

Thank you for posting your experiences here on Trip Advisor. We regard guests who book, like you, directly from our official site (hotelolimpico.it), link aboce, on the right side of this page, as very clever as you get a far cheaper rate than if you book via travel agencies or other sites, so well done.

I am sorry to hear the restaurant did not meet your standards or live up to your expectations. If you read the many reviews you will see most guests actually compliment our culinary offerings as few places have a pizzeria enabling you to get dishes as cheap as 5 Euros!!!

I am further sorry you did not mention our breakfast buffet, a specific speciality in which we have special chefs in the morning who create fabulous crepes, omelettes, fresh fruit, pizza, eggs of all styles on demand, tomatoes, mozzarella and all the best of local traditions, it is truly a favourite.

While it is true we are located slightly out of town, Salerno, this is actually a benefit for us. For one thing we could never create the resort atmosphere in the city centre, also being located where we are we have sand beaches, rather than the rock beaches found on the Amalfi Coast, and in the vicinity of our hotel are 4 restaurants within walking distance from our premises; I am sorry you did not locate these during your stay.

I do hope one day you will change your mind and return to visit us again, by then we may well have another shuttle added and a third driver. Our shuttle will always remain a free service for all and for those, like you, who booked our 49 Euro rate per night taxes included, the shuttle, parking, the pool, beach, wi-fi and all we have to offer is included.

Best wishes from me and all my staff

Gaetano Serluca
G. Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 1,164 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Third review of Hotel Olimpico since May 2012!
On arrival we noted that there had been substantial investment in the revamp of the 'front' of the Hotel with superb balconies to the rooms!
The Hotel was just as we had experienced from past visits with the welcome from the Management and Reception team which continued throughout our twelve nights especially in the Restaurant - dinner was again way above the 4 star 'rating' for the Hotel and the prices of the Italian wines are tremendous value! Breakfast has the widest choice I have seen in a Hotel!!
It is a pleasure to finish a great day out or a day around the pool with dinner at Olimpico after a visit to the bar!
We did our usual trips to Amalfi, Ravello, Positano from the ports using the free shuttle to access the stations or ports in Salerno!! Pasteum can be accessed by bus from outside the Hotel - don't bother to hire a car especially if you use the coast road to visit Amalfi!!!
This year we had four nights in a '4' star Hotel outside of Vico Equense before moving to Salerno. Allegedly there was a Restaurant at this hotel run by an ex Michelin Star Chef!! When we asked for lunch on our on arrival we were told - 'no food and no restaurant!!' The place was not even worth '1' star!! Be aware! The contrast to Hotel Olimpico was indescribable!!!
Thank you Gaetano and your team for another memorable holiday!
We live five minutes from a beach here in N. Wales but it is warmer in Salerno in May!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank standup77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G-Serluca, General Manager at Hotel Olimpico, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Jeffrey,

thank you for your positive review and for choosing our property for your third holidays in Salerno and Amalfi Coast area!

We are happy to hear you had a good time with us. I will personally give your review to Laura and Giuseppe at reception, Pietro, Antonio, Luigi and Rosa at the restaurant. They are an important part of our wonderful staff which allow us to have such a satisfied clientele.

We wish also to inform you that 2015 rates are already on line (and very attractive NOW) and that special discounts/upgrades are available for our repeaters guests like you!.

We wish to welcome you back soon in Salerno and thank you for your nice photo made in our properties! (your canon is always better than my Nikon.... :-)

Thank you and we hope to see you again next year.

Gaetano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This place is great! While it is a 15-20 minute ride from the Salerno train station, it is by no means ( as a few posters have stated) in a "bad part of town." We loved the Hotel Olimpico and it's staff. From the moment we walked in the door, we felt like family members....there was nothing they wouldn't do to make our stay warm and welcoming. We reserved a deluxe room with half board. The room was great...the meals were outstanding! I would not hesitate to recommend Hotel Olimpico or stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PattiMerritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G-Serluca, General Manager at Hotel Olimpico, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Mrs Patty,
it is really a pleasure to know that you spent a pleasant time here with us in Salerno, especially in our hotel. I want personally and sincerely thank you so much for all the compliments about our services and food. We take care of all our guests to leave in their mind a good memory of their holiday…
Hoping to see you again.
Kindest regards.
Gaetano Serluca – Hotel General Manager-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We enjoyed our three day stay very much. The facilities, staff and food were all superb. The free shuttle to and from the Amalfi Coast ferry, their knowledgeable recommendations for Paestum, Herculaneum and Pompeii were very accurate (first two sites were A1 and Pompeii was a very commercial disappointment) as was the suggestion to bus up to Ravello. This Hotel is wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelOakville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G-Serluca, General Manager at Hotel Olimpico, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Meloakvil,

first of all, we wish to thank you very much for your kind review on Tripadvisor and for choosing the Hotel Olimpico for your holiday on the Amalfi Coast area.
We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed the location of our Hotel, facing the Salerno gulf and that you appreciated the service and our staff.

We are also very pleased to learn that you recommend the Hotel Olimpico to anyone travelling to Salerno and Amalfi Coast area, infact thanks to our free shuttle service, it's very easy for our guest reach the Amalfi Coast area and Capri Island or the the archeological site of Pompei.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another wonderful stay in our Hotel!

Sincerely,
Gaetano Serluca
G. Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

As a family of three, we stayed at Hotel Olimpico between 1 May - 5 May, 2014. Overall, it was an excellent stay for us all (myself, my wife & son). We used this lovely hotel as a very convenient base for our trips to Amalfi cost, Naples, Capri island, etc. Shuttle services provided by the hotel was free of charge and always on time, no matter where you are picked up from, hotel, or city center. And it took only twenty minutes for them to take you to central station in the midddle of downtown Salerno. The breakfast is of superb quality. You choose from a wide variety of cheese, fruits, cakes and an abundance of delicious food. Hotel personnel were also so friendly and helpful. Our special thanks go to Laura and Giuseppe from front desk, Pietro from the restaurant, and our shuttle driver; Gabriel, who have all displayed a remarkable performance. It goes without saying that when we go to that part of Italy in the future, we will definitely be staying at Hotel Olimpico again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hasan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G-Serluca, General Manager at Hotel Olimpico, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Mr Hasan,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor with regards to your stay.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the service and facilities throughout the property. I will certainly share all your kind comments about the resort and our restaurants & reception (Laura, Giuseppe and Pietro), who will be equally delighted.

Once again, thank you for your gracious comments, we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Gaetano Serluca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Olimpico very much.
The staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms impeccably clean, the hotel sugested a lot for those who like sport activity-boche ground, ping-pong table and tennis ground, swimming pool.
The buffet breakfast was fantastic.
The location is very convenient if you want to travel to another points of interest from there and return in the same day.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VLMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G-Serluca, General Manager at Hotel Olimpico, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear VLMI

Thank you very much for your nice words spent on this website. The whole staff is pleased you have had an unforgettable time here in our hotel, and we gladly thank you for it. It is in fact a lovely place to be, and the we all members of the staff try to give our best in order to be always professional and efficient. We really look forward to your next stay in our hotel. See you soon.

Warm Regards

Gaetano Serluca
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

If you are looking for a good quality hotel set along the beaches south of Salerno, away from the hustle and bustle of the main town, this is it! Small enough to be personal but big enough for anonymity if that’s what you prefer, the hotel is fully modernised and spotlessly clean but without the clinical feel of some bigger chain hotels. It’s set slightly back from the beach and views from the back of the hotel were as good as the front (and possibly quieter), with hills in the distance either way.

The hotel food was great and we chose half-board as we did not want the hassle of seeking out restaurants. We stayed in April and there was a fresh fish selection at the entrance to the dining room every evening. Everything was beautifully cooked. Battipaglia, home of some of the best buffalo mozzarella cheese in the world, is just up the road so look out for the mozzarella and tomato salad starter. It’s a corker – in size as well as taste! The waiting staff were also fabulous, especially with my elderly relative who had just suffered a distressing bereavement.

As I did not want to drive on this occasion, we spent the money on taxis, airport transfers and a day’s guided tour (see hotel website for offers). This was not cheap but the free shuttle bus into town at scheduled times was great, driven by the charming Gabriele who also helped collect a wheelchair from a local pharmacy. Note: If you book a driver/guide via the hotel, you may want to enlist the help of Gaetano, the manager, or his reception staff, checking your plans the night before departure. We picked two locations which were further apart than anticipated, so made for a long day. That said, do not use this comment to turn Gaetano into a fully fledged travel agent! He had the patience of a saint with emails before our arrival but does have a hotel to run! What did work well was booking a private taxi to visit the Salerno British Military Cemetery in the morning, and then taking the Travelmar ferry from Salerno later on, along the Amalfi Coast and back with afternoon tea in Positano. Again the hotel website has useful information about this kind of thing.

And so to the most important question: Would I recommend this hotel and would I go back? Answer: Definitely. It was also a good choice for someone with limited mobility as this part of the coast is well away from the cliffs and steps of the Amalfi Coast towns and yet, with short walks, you can still visit these gems by land or sea during the day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Acorns08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G-Serluca, General Manager at Hotel Olimpico, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Guest from UK,

Thank you for evaluating the Hotel Olimpico on ‘tripadvisor’. We put great emphasis on the opinion of our guests and it is our main ambition to guarantee a consistently high level of service. Therefore, we are especially happy about your positive evaluation.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel Olimpico soon.

Gaetano Serluca
For the Hotel Olimpico team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontecagnano Faiano
3.1 mi away
Carosello Hotel
Carosello Hotel
#2 of 8 in Pontecagnano Faiano
274 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Isla Resort
Hotel La Isla Resort
#3 of 8 in Pontecagnano Faiano
92 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Novotel Salerno Est Arechi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Hotel Cerere
Hotel Cerere
#1 of 33 in Paestum
631 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Club Sabbiadoro
Hotel Club Sabbiadoro
#3 of 6 in Battipaglia
233 reviews
16.0 mi away
Vea Resort Hotel
Vea Resort Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mercato San Severino
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olimpico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olimpico

Address: Via Lago Trasimeno | South Coast of Salerno, 84098, Pontecagnano Faiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Pontecagnano Faiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Pontecagnano Faiano
Price Range: £47 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Olimpico 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Salerno - beach, the Olimpico offers free parking and a free shuttle to Salerno's centre, harbour, and airport. The hotel features an outdoor swimming pool, and rooms with balcony.The Olimpico Hotel's pool is set in the tropical garden and is surrounded by sun loungers and parasols. The private beach is equally equipped. All the rooms of Hotel Olimpico include satellite TV, free internet, and air conditioning. American buffet breakfast is available between 07:00 and 10:00.The restaurant serves Italian cuisine and local dishes. During summer candlelit dinners and pizza are served in the garden.Hotel Olimpico is well located for visiting the Campania region. A shuttle service is available to the port to catch ferries to the Amalfi Coast, Positano or Capri, train to Mount Vesuvius and the archaeological site at Pompeii and other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Olimpico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olimpico Hotel Salerno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing