We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suzanne”
Review of Hotel Olimpico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Olimpico
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
El Paso, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Suzanne”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Hands down the best staff! Every person from front desk to waiters to snack bar was generous, kind and helpful. I stayed with four teenage girls and my husband. We loved the rooms, the pool and the beach. The food was great as well. We were in Italy 3 weeks. Hotel olimpico was the best!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank DZLizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G-Serluca, General Manager at Hotel Olimpico, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Suzanne
Thank you for your so nice review.

I am very pleased to know that our rerort was for you the best hotel of your vacation in Italy.

We have also published a photo of yourself on our Facebook profile. Please see it!

Best wishes to you and all your family!

Gaetano Serluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    315
    70
    25
    10
See reviews for
410
418
26
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
near Baltimore, MD
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The staff were great. Super helpful, considerate - they were all wonderful to us. The shuttle service was excellent - punctual and very helpful.

Excellent breakfast with omelet station, great variety of fresh fruits, cheese, pastries, cereals, etc.

Very clean and quiet hotel. Beach access is across the street - it's a two-minute walk; very nice.


A couple of things that could be better. . . .

In general, dinners were average. Pizza was excellent as well as the fresh fruit, but the other entrees we tried were nothing special.

The pillows were rather unsubstantial; not much neck support at all. (Beds were very good.)

The pool - it's gorgeous, but it closes at 19:00 each day, so, no swimming in the evenings.

Room Tip: We had two rooms; a Double Deluxe (partially obstructed view of the Mediterranean Sea with nice balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreshAir4Us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G-Serluca, Manager at Hotel Olimpico, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear FreshAir4,

We want to thank you for having shared your time with Trip Advisor expressing a so excellent comment on our hotel.

We realize that you remained particularly impressed by our magnificent American buffet breakfast, of the beach locate just opposite the main hotel building as well as the kindeness of our staff.

Thank you for your suggestions about the pillow!.

We really hope you would come back again to stay with us in a nearest future.

In the meantime, please accept our best regards.

Gaetano Serluca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willemstad, Curacao
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Hotel Olimpico is a very nice place to stay. We stayed 5 nights and enjoyed every bit. The staff is very friendly and always willing to be of assistance. The local is ideal for exploring Pompeii, Salerno, Amalfi coast as well as -little known- Paestum.

The rooms are good although a bit on the small side but that did not really bother us as we spent most of the day outside.

Our children had a blast at the pool which is set in a nice garden. The daily breakfast is a real treat with fresh fruits, pancakes/crepes and of course delicious Italian cakes. We also had dinner at the hotel restaurant twice and the food was very good whereas the waiters really try to add to the fantastic atmosphere by being very attentive and present ypu with a genuine smile. They really love their job!

We sure would love to return to Hotel Olimpico one day!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G-Serluca, General Manager at Hotel Olimpico, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Richard
thank you for your nice review here on TP!.
Best regards

Getano Serluca
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was our first time traveling with our 4 year old daughter and I could not have picked a better Hotel! They treated my family (esp my daughter) like we were the only ones there. The hotel is beautiful, the pool was very nice and the restaurant was delicious. Every single person there was friendly and beyong helpful. Gaetano, the manager, was always smiling and could not have been more accomodating. All of the servers knew who we were every day/night and took great care of us. We had such an amazing vacation and look forward to coming back in the future.

Room Tip: Our rooms overlooked the beach - which was across the street and at night and first thing in the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G-Serluca, General Manager at Hotel Olimpico, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Mrs Beth,

first of all, we wish to thank you very much for your kind review on Tripadvisor and for choosing the Hotel Olimpico for your holiday in Salerno.

We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed the location of our Hotel, facing the Salerno gulf and that you appreciated the service and our staff.

We are also very pleased to learn that you recommend the Hotel Olimpico to anyone travelling to Salerno and Amalfi Coast area and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another wonderful stay in our Hotel!

Greetings to all your nice family!

Gaetano Serluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights . We had room on 2nd floor with large sea view balcony. Very good food, the amenities are top notch with the added bonus of the beach just across the road with sunbeds etc there. Staff very good. All in all could not fault the hotel, also central for sight seeing. I would recommend staying at this hotel, especially if you enjoy pleasant surroundings, hopefully going to return soon.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms with sea view balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G-Serluca, General Manager at Hotel Olimpico, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest
thanks for your nice comment on our hotel.
We hope to see you again in the future!

Best regards
Gaetano Serluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

the family had come to italy to celebrate my mums 90 th birthday, she lives in England but her family comes from S.Eustachio so my husband and I decided to stay just ten minutes away in the Olympic hotel after having read the reports on tripadvisor. It is a really nice hotel with a lovely swimming pool. We wanted a quiet room so stayed in a small annex near the lemon grove and tennis courts. The staff all spoke really good english and all were very friendly and helpful. We asked if we could bring my mum and two nieces to the hotel for lunch on the Saturday which was her actual birthday, the big family party was on the sunday evening which we knew would be very hedtic. We ate a lovely meal near the swimming pool, the plastic tables where covered with table clothes and set with silverware and glasses. We had cannelloni, lasagna and gnochii which were really good, and the staff made such a fuss, even producing an ice cream with a lit candle and a chorus of 'happy birthday'. It was all very nice and relaxing. Antonio looked after us that day and we saw him every morning at breakfast, he was such a lovely guy and i cant thank him enough for making us feel special. Overall a lovely stay, breakfast was very good, the sandwiches at lunchtime were wonderful...but very big so i would share and make room for the ice cream!!
All good hotels ask for any negative comments so they can improve, for us the only thing was that we felt the bed was way too firm (we borrowed a duvet from my mum and put this under the sheets along with a blanket which softened it up for us). In America you can ask for 'egg crates' which is a foam padding that can be put on. Also for breakfast bread rolls would be nice for the hams and cheese. Other than that I would certainly stay again in the future.

Room Tip: for quiet room ask for the annex across from the lemon grove
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G-Serluca, General Manager at Hotel Olimpico, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Rita,

thank you for your positive review and for choosing our property for your holidays. We are happy to hear you had a good time with us. I will personally give your review to Antonio and the restaurant's guy. They are an important part of our wonderful staff which allow us to have such a satisfied clientele.

We wish also to inform you that 2015 rates are already on line (and very attractive NOW) and that special discounts/upgrades are available for our repeaters guests.

We wish to welcome you back soon in Salerno
thank you

Gaetano Serluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We have recently returned from a 2 week stay at Hotel Olimpico. Encouraged by the good reviews here, we were not disappointed. This is a very special place, from the relaxed breakfast, offering a wonderful spread of everything you could want, always freshly prepared & replenished, omelettes & crepes cooked to order. To the pool & sandy beach each with plentiful free umbrellas & loungers, life guards present at both, typical of the attention to detail found everywhere at this hotel, good security for families. But it really is also down to all the staff, who feel like a big family, treating you like a long lost relative that needs to be cared for, nothing is too much trouble, they will cater to your requirements, just ask. The time flew by, this hotel is a must for a fully relaxing break to unwind & relax.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HideAway1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G-Serluca, General Manager at Hotel Olimpico, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear HideAway1
We would like to thank you for your valuable comments as well as your patronage of the Hotel Olimpico. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your room and the overall customer service. We sincerely appreciate your encouragements and feedbacks so that t we may serve our guests better in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Hotel Olimpico very soon.

Truthfully yours,
Gaetano Serluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontecagnano Faiano
12.6 mi away
Oleandri Resort Paestum - Hotel Residence Villaggio Club
3.1 mi away
Carosello Hotel
Carosello Hotel
#2 of 8 in Pontecagnano Faiano
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Isla Resort
Hotel La Isla Resort
#3 of 8 in Pontecagnano Faiano
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Hotel Cerere
Hotel Cerere
#1 of 33 in Paestum
576 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Novotel Salerno Est Arechi
15.1 mi away
Mec Paestum Hotel
Mec Paestum Hotel
#3 of 33 in Paestum
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olimpico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olimpico

Property: Hotel Olimpico
Address: Via Lago Trasimeno | South Coast of Salerno, 84098, Pontecagnano Faiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Pontecagnano Faiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Pontecagnano Faiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Olimpico 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Salerno - beach, the Olimpico offers free parking and a free shuttle to Salerno's centre, harbour, and airport. The hotel features an outdoor swimming pool, and rooms with balcony.The Olimpico Hotel's pool is set in the tropical garden and is surrounded by sun loungers and parasols. The private beach is equally equipped. All the rooms of Hotel Olimpico include satellite TV, free internet, and air conditioning. American buffet breakfast is available between 07:00 and 10:00.The restaurant serves Italian cuisine and local dishes. During summer candlelit dinners and pizza are served in the garden.Hotel Olimpico is well located for visiting the Campania region. A shuttle service is available to the port to catch ferries to the Amalfi Coast, Positano or Capri, train to Mount Vesuvius and the archaeological site at Pompeii and other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Olimpico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olimpico Hotel Salerno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing