We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for People with Walking problems”
Review of Wembury Beach

Wembury Beach
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Wembury
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Staffordshire
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Not for People with Walking problems”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Spotted this by taking a Wrong Turn. what a lovely spot it is though. Very hilly making walking very difficult if you have problems walking up hills, there is a lovely church up on the hill and the little Cafe do lovely Cream tea's and Cornish pasties. Did'nt go on the beach but could of done it was a lovely sunny hot day... if i went again on a hot day, now i know its there, go prepared beach clothes and picnic. There is a sign in the Visitor centre saying beware of weever fish you must wear shoes in the sea. they have a spine the is sharp and can cut your feet.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    89
    21
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Awful. Rocky, full of flies and seaweed. Definitely not a place for children. Very difficult to get to the sea due to all the debris.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Amberzebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beach, Cafe, Walking, It's Got The Lot!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

National Trust Members get to use the car park free of charge, otherwise it's £4.50. Once here you have a choice of things to do, with or without children. On a bright, warm and sunny day (as this was) the beach is favourite for children. make sure they have a bucket and maybe a net as there are plenty of rock pools to investigate. When the tide is out the sea is crystal clear when you get to it. When the tide is in it is quite a different story but still fun. There is a cafe close by and to be honest not that expensive to eat and drink there, although I would recommend taking a picnic on a beautiful day. If you feel a bit more energetic or want to take some fabulous photos of the scenery then why not use the South West Coastal Path and walk along to Newton Ferres. On a hot day pack a bottle of water! It really is a beautiful walk. Not for wheelchairs and I would not advise taking small children in buggies along the path either although I passed a couple on my walk. Plenty of benches along the way to either sit and admire the scenery or get your breath back. You could walk for hours along the coastal path if you have the time or energy. Choice is yours. I would definitely do so another day.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sadly disabled unfriendly”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Wembury beach is famous for the sea life found in many of the rock pools at low tide and i can certainly agree with that and also the surrounding area is well worth a walk in.Unfortunately for anyone with a walking disability and relies on a wheelchair or mobility scooter to get around on will not be able to get down to the beach and enjoy it.So if anyone in a high position in the National Trust is reading this and has a few Quid to spend then please..please..please make it accessible to everyone !!! .

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ANDREW C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track.”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I recently visited Wembury Beach with my friend and her father on an afternoon. We simply just went to relax, enjoy the sea and take some photos.
The beach, and Wembury Village itself found quite hard to find, but if you have a SatNav or know the area well I can see it as easy to find.

The beach is a little off the beaten track, however there are parking facilities there, as well as toilets and what I believe we're 2 cafés. Parking costs £4.50 but £2.50 after 3pm, however if you are a National Trust member it is free. It is probably possible to park elsewhere and walk down, but as we were members we didn't.

The beach itself is of average size, with plenty of room for families etc. There are rock pools and areas of preservation of sea life, so that's always great fun to observe. I would say this was more of a rocky beach, however once you cross the rocks and the seaweed to the actually sand, it's beautiful. The water was crystal clear and calm. The views are also amazing. You have the coastal paths close by and can also frequently view the large Naval Vessels further out as they transport to and from Plymouth and the channel.

All in all a perfect little hideaway. Great location for families and friends. If the parking were free,(as I'm personally not a member) I would visit this beach more often!!

Helpful?
2 Thank TamsynJoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wembury Beach also viewed

 

Been to Wembury Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing