We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hearty home made food, locally produced”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Thornton Hunt Inn
Price range: US$9 - US$23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a traditional Freehouse set in an attractive Grade II listed building which dates back to around the Eighteenth Century. The Inn is situated in the quaint village of Thornton Curtis in the glorious North Lincolnshire countryside. Our extensive bar menu is mainly homemade encompassing local produce where possible. We have a varied selection of starters, main courses, omelettes, baguettes and wonderful homemade desserts in our Lunch Menu, Dinner Menu,Lite Bite Menu, Children's Menu and Sunday Roast Menu.
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Hearty home made food, locally produced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

My boyfriend and I took our Mums here for Mother's Day lunch. There was the choice of 2 courses for £14.95 or 3 courses for £17.95 - having eaten here before we knew the portions would be generous so I opted for 2 courses.
Although it was a set menu there were still plenty of choices available, 3 of us had the Sunday roast and my boyfriend chose the scampi and chips.
The roast dinners came with broccoli, carrots, new potatoes, roast potatoes and Yorkshire pudding . The beef was delicious and the Yorkshire puddings were most definitely home made and not frozen.
Had to nick one of the chips from bf's plate as they looked delicious - the taste test confirmed this!
When it came to dessert again there were plenty of options, most of which were home made. It wasn't an easy decision but I went for the jam roly poly which was very nice, although the lemon meringues looked good too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank badger1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“NEVER AGAIN!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Having found our selves in the area and remembering recent HIGHLY COMMENDED RECOMMENDATION by a Lincolnshire publication we called in for a drink. First comment - have you booked? er no. (No welcome whatsoever) then told, no where for us to seat only at bar - one stool available. We left. No wonder small rural pubs and I stress pub, somewhere you can drop in for a drink, are closing. Obviously didn't want our custom. The barman had no customer service whatsoever and an severe attitude problem. The words should be sacked immediately spring to mind. We shall never return but will tell friends of our experience. Dire.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank english_audrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redbourn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Pub Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Enjoyed a very good pub meal at this establishment. There is a very good choice on the menu and the service was excellent. The Tom Woods beer was also a very nice pint. If you want good home cooked food and plenty of it then this place is well worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mase7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tom Woods ale AND good veggie options”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We called in on the way home from a Saturday morning walk, and just managed to get the last table for lunch. As we waited for our meals to be prepared several people were turned away as they had reached capacity.
The moral is, if you want to have a Saturday lunch in this rightly popular Inn, book in advance!
Friendly and attentive staff, not a long wait for meals, good local beer.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank HumbersideSmartie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Foods nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

We have been twice to the Thornton Hunt Inn. The food is good value and enjoyable. The place is in need of some brightening up, but some may like the originality. Outside there is a nice play area which the kids will love in the summer. Conveniently there are some tables and chairs in a sheltered area right next to the play area, so you can watch the kids play whilst enjoying a pint. This area also doubles as the smoking area. I cant comment on the accomodation as we havent stayed there. As for the comments by the previous poster regarding the landlord... Yes he is a bit quiet, but wasnt rude to us. I think because he isnt the outgoing, friendly and chatty type of landlord, this may be misread as rude/ignorant?

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SnellLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Thornton Hunt Inn also viewed

Kirmington, Lincolnshire
South Ferriby, Lincolnshire
 
Barrow upon Humber, Lincolnshire
Barton-upon-Humber, Lincolnshire
 
Great Limber, Lincolnshire

Been to The Thornton Hunt Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing