We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Plattenhof
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Gotthard(Lech)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
26
20
6
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
20
6
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsski busswimming poolski tripluxurysnowaustriavillage
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Plattenhof. The staff is very friendly and the new GM Robby Chadha was extremely helpful and professional. The rooms were clean and the service and food was good. The snow conditions could have been better. We will come back again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Lena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We went for a pre Christmas weeks skiing and stayed at The Plattenhof. We were a bit nervous having read a bunch of recent poor reviews but we really enjoyed it. There is a new manager who made an effort to introduce himself and all of the staff - he made his welcome speech in English as well as German - even though we were the only English speaking guests there. The food was good with friendly waiting staff - one waiter was a bit over attentive which was slightly annoying but the others were very nice. The reception did give us some incorrect info about how to get to St Anton but we did figure this out ourselves and was not a major problem. Bar was very pleasant for a pre dinner drink and even though we generally got back well after 4pm there always seemed to be a bit of cake left. The pool area was very good as we had it to ourselves all week. You can hike up to the T bar lift behind the hotel or catch the bus directly to the centre of Lech. Bus stop is right outside the hotel and takes about 3 mins to get you there - very handy. If you fancy some apres ski fun in Lechs outside bars you can do this and catch the bus back up saving your legs. Room was a little dated but the layout was just what we wanted with a 2 bedroom suite. On our last night service did get a bit stretched as the hotel became full with everyone arriving for Christmas but on the whole we had a great week. If they could just invest in some boot heaters for the ski room things would be even better.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Lech is one of the best ski resorts of the Austrian Alps. Its a shame that my hotel stay did not match. Rudest owners, terrified employees that are getting nervous as soon as the owners are around. As a result – a smile is a rare sight, and what you get is a nervous, uptight service. When I didn’t find the way to the parking place, the owner response was “I am the owner of the place. Ask one of the staff about directions to the parking”. Are you kidding me? Is this a luxury hotel owner attitude? Everything is cramped and the dining room manager “office” is in the middle of the lobby area, with all papers and phone around it. Employees mostly speak other languages than German or English could not provide any information about hotel surrounding, ski area, conditions, forecast or night life recommendations. I asked about trains to Zurich airport and received an answer of =check it on the internet yourself. Old small block TV in the room (flat screen anyone?), I am a vegetarian and there were hardly any veggies during breakfast, I wish I’d have gone to a different hotel.
Am very surprised about some of the positive reviews, maybe their expectations were significantly lower, but by all means, the only luxury aspect of this hotel is the price, nothing else.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We had the pleasure to enjoy four star premium hotels in all major Austrian ski resorts over the past 9 years (Lech x2, St. Anton, Solden, Ischgl, Mayerhoffen, Bad Hofgastein and etc).
Overall you know what you pay for and what to expect. The Plattenhof Hotel in Lech is one huge disappointment which barely makes the standard of a simple 3.5 star hotel. Overall experience is that the owners rather than providing a pleasant guest experience, are all about squeezing more Euro from each guest and reduce running costs to the bare minimum. I list here just the facts, not any personal impressions:

Late check-in: €12 charge
Internet: €20. Internet didn't work for 2 of the 4 days.
Parking: €12 per day.
Pool table: Extra charge.
Jacuzzi in the SPA/Health area: €4. Oh, and it runs on cold water, not hot water. Not even look-warm but just cold water!
Soap/shampoo – entire stay no replenishment in the room
1 small towel per person
In ski room – no overnight shoes heating unit. They are unhappy if you take ski shoes into your room for night heating, but don't provide heating for the shoes in the ski room.
Breakfast – no fresh juice, or butter (standard in ALL 4 star premium hotels)
Afternoon snack, which is a standard in ALL 4 star premium hotels, is don't by 16:30. This is a ski resort, all lifts are open at least till 16:40 – and when asked the owner's wife about this, her reply was - "we are not obligate to provide you with afternoon snack, so you can finish your skiing day earlier if this is important for you). Even soup is not offered and the little things in offer are done by 16:15 anyhow. But, you won't miss much.
SPA area – including pool, saunas, and gym – all closes at 19:30.
Dinner – must be in before 20:30.
Gym has 4 old pieces of equipment.
Health area – once you find your way through the maze of doors and corridors, you are underground in a stuffed place with no windows or any decent view to the outside world.
Pool, gym, saunas area – all separated from each other through several corridors.
Pool: amazing use of wide-angle lens, when comparing real size to the impression on their website.

All these, combined with a tinny sub-standard room, heavy smokers lobby + bar area, its just a bad experience when you pay more than €500 a night per room.

Room Tip: Better go somewhere else. You pay premium for sub-standard quality here.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MNK666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Like everything in Lech, its not cheap! But compared to the others it is very well priced. We usually stay here as a family of 6 or so in Feb or Jan each year for skiing. We buy a full board package of B&B and dinner it makes more sense as the cost of dinner is approx €20 or €5 euro extra and for a 5 course dinner you will not do better.

The rooms in the front of the hotel are excellent with great views. The old ones in the back section are not greta but they are large and spacious. They also have appartments as part of the hotel and these are great value for putting the teenagers in as they are right beside the hotel.

Food is excellent and they will change anything you dont want on the menu, but as something gets lost in the translation of the menu it is really worthwhile experimenting with what they advise each day.

Staff are really good and helpful. The common areas are large and airy but as Austria still allows smoking it can be a bit annoying.

Ski bus is outside the door but it is only a seven minute walk to the main slope anyway. You can ski in and ski out provided you are a capable skiier.

Views form the hoetl are excellent and pres ski served on the veranda.

Only issue is there wifi which you pay for by the hour and it is nigh on impossible to login and logout easily. Please put it on the bill and leave it open for use at all times.

Suana and spa are also very good withn a nice pool. Can get a little crowded in the sauna area in high season around 17.00.

Definately worth checking the Plattenhof out

Room Tip: Rooms at the front with balconies are really nice and sunny
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews