We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical winter wonderland”
Review of Hotel Montana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Montana
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Lech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Magical winter wonderland”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We've just returned from our second trip to the Montana this year. We have three small children who have just learnt to ski in this perfect family location. Ski school is right outside so no long walks for the little ones. What really makes the Montana so special is its family friendliness yet without compromising anything for the grown ups. The food is fabulous (and we like nice food), the wine list is extensive and nothing is ever too much trouble for Mrs Ortlieb and her staff. Children love being at the Montana. While the grown ups are enjoying a nice lunch on the terrace, the kids run around making snow men right next to you. This doesn't seem to be the case in other hotels even up in Oberlech. We were so sad to leave but can't wait to return next year. Book early as school holidays are busy with people often returning year on year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Draggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    22
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
52
24
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cotswolds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Oberlech is ski in and out heaven and the Montana hotel sits on the right hand of the gods.. it is a beautifully located, incredibly well run, friendly family hotel. Nothing is too much effort and the owners are permanently personally on duty and overseeing things.
The staff know your name and your personal preferences after the first day. No wonder that this hotel is so highly rated. It has a well deserved great reputation for fantastic food. I did find that such culinary feasts every night was too much of a good thing. So we often opted to have fewer courses. Which is not a problem.
Vegetarians are generally not well catered for on the Austrian mountains but there is alternative menu available every night in case you do not like what is on the menu. And even then you can still ask for something different. They understand service.
My only "negative" would be that I was often generally too hot in the hotel and in the room.
A great experience . To be recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1motherof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We returned to Hotel Montana for our family ski trip this year and had a wonderful time. The family and staff are wonderful and so helpful in making everything about the ski holiday easy. From helpful information on transfers, ski school, rentals and passes.

The food is excellent. We had half boards but also chose to have every lunch at the hotel too. There is a lot of variety of food and it is prepared to an excellent standard.

The location is ideal with ski-in-ski-out. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. We look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank famtravel6_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vremde, Antwerpen, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

It's now our 12th year we go there,mostly 2 times a year.I say "never change a winning team".
Top hotel,top staff,top food.We cannot find something negative.For us it's like coming home.
The location,the warm people and the fabulous restaurant makes this stay heaven on earth.
As long we can ski,we will Always go to Montana...and if we can't ski anymore we still go there...just for fun.

Room Tip: ask room on the south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington Depot
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2013

This is the third hotel we've stayed in in Lech and the first in Oberlech. We will definitely go back. The rooms are well done with plenty of storage for all our ski gear...something I've found lacking at other hotels. The food is by far the best I've had in Lech, and the service is friendly and quick. One of the best things is that while my husband and I enjoyed the gourmet five course meals (not too much food, though), our kids could order, at no extra charge, off the replacement menu for either the entire meal or just some courses. Great. The bar area is cosy. The only two things that kept me from giving five stars are that I would love them to not allow smoking in the bar, as it permeates the whole hotel. And my husband found the bed too hard, though I did not. A great week to be repeated next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for 5 nights. The room was very spacious, warm and clean. it had plenty of wardrobe spaces for the ski kit and winter clothing. The room that we had had a balcony looking out onto the mountains and nursery slope at the back.

The hotel was only a short walk away from the cable car station with plenty of bars and restaurants nearby. Away from the busy town everything look so white and clean.

Food was excellent with a set fine dinning menu and an alternative a la carte menu every night.

You can ski straight out from the hotel down to Lech to get a chairlift or could walk a couple of minutes to the chairlift station slightly up the hill. Ski hire was only next door to the hotel. Very handy for frequent or first time skier.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoamingChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Our family, 2 adults and 2 boys (16 & 13) stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in April 2010. The Hotel was fantastic and a real treat. We don;t usually stay in Hotels when skiing.
We stayed full-board and I must say the food and drink was absolutely fantastic. 5 course gourmet dinner each night, and when the boys didn't like the meal they cooked whatever they wanted - service was outstanding.
Beware though - this doesn't come cheap, but for a short stay it was wonderful.
Situated in Oberlech so you literally walk out into the no-car zone straigh onto the lifts.
The skiing is good but probably not for the real experts.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M.Pickering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lech hotels
0.1 mi away
Burg Hotel
Burg Hotel
#20 of 52 in Lech
137 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Haldenhof
Hotel Haldenhof
#4 of 52 in Lech
212 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Gotthard
Hotel Gotthard
#7 of 52 in Lech
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldener Berg
Hotel Goldener Berg
#11 of 52 in Lech
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burg Vital Resort
Burg Vital Resort
#8 of 52 in Lech
143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sonnenburg
Hotel Sonnenburg
#16 of 52 in Lech
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana

Property: Hotel Montana
Address: Oberlech 279, Lech 6764, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Lech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Lech
#15 Spa Hotel in Lech
#16 Luxury Hotel in Lech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montana 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana Hotel Lech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing