We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This ski in/our hotel is a gem!”
Review of Hotel Montana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Montana
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Lech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“This ski in/our hotel is a gem!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Recently stayed at this wonderful hotel with my daughter for a week's skiing. You can only access the hotels in Oberlech via the lift up from Lech, so Oberlech offers a very special, traffic-free, ski in & out environment.

The family that own this hotel run it extremely well. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff!

We loved the convenience of the ski hire place being right next door, as well as the fact that we can buy our ski passes and even arrange ski lessons via the front desk!

The swimming pool, sauna and steam room were very welcome after a hard day's skiing. The food was always good, as were the friendly, attentive dining room staff.

My only minor gripe on the catering front was that I could not get skimmed milk which I think should be available at a hotel of this calibre.

I also have to agree with the other commenters regarding the internet service which was very poor. Not only is it soooooo slow, but it also requires you to keep re-connecting, which involves having to keep re-entering complex user names AND passwords!

That said, the overall experience was first rate & I look forward to returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    22
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
52
24
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The position was perfect - near the bobsled, on the runs so you can zip home if need be, in beautiful, peaceful Oberlech. The whole place is very smoothly run and the ski holiday processes all operated with typical Austrian efficiency. The rooms are really well maintained and can't be faulted. The bar and restaurant staff were very professional and friendly. We (all 18 of us) especially loved Dirk in the restaurant and the tall dark-haired barman. The meals were superb. We had planned to eat out on 1 or 2 nights but decided we'd prefer not to miss the Montana dinners. The reception staff were very helpful. Kathrin was wonderful through all the booking process because, as a group of 18, we didn't fit the "normal" category and Kathrin was most accommodating and flexible. We will be back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The hotel was nice and the service was friendly. The food was pretty good with a wide selection every night. The internet capacity should be upgraded as well as the whole system for tickets etc. Internet was too slow to browse news etc at times.

The training facilities was nice as well as the spa, but I missed a jacuzzi.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erik T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrick o, Frontoffice at Hotel Montana, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Eric,

Thank you very much for your feedback and your warm words about our services.

We are glad that you had such a nice and pleasant time with us.

We also would like to thank you for your straight words regarding the internet. We have to admit that while your stay unfortunately we really had some difficulties with the wireless. Just to explain, we have 50 rooms and 200 wireless accesses; each access is usable for three devices, which makes a total access for 600 devices. In this particular week we had that many enquiries for internet codes like we have never had before. As we noticed that the Internet sometimes was overloaded despite of the high amount of accesses, we promise you that we are on it to offer you in future a flawless Internet service.

We would be very happy to seeing you again soon, dear Eric and send you
best and sunny regards from Oberlech.

Soë Schulz
Frontoffice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We first visited Oberlech two years ago with our two young children, staying at the Hotel Montana. Last year, now with a third child, we stayed at the Sonnenburg next door. Though nice enough this was a mistake and it was great to be back at the Montana this year for New Years Eve.

Quite simply the Montana is far more friendly, has a great atmosphere and much better food. Since our last visit the rooms have been upgraded, the spa smartened up and the wifi is now free.

For those with young children, ours are 8,6 and 1, then this is a perfect hotel in a magical location. The ski school is right outside the front door and for the second time we had an excellent nanny provided by local agency Googies. When our baby is two she will be able to use the kindergarten right behind the hotel.

At the Sonnenburg the food for the children was particularly poor. Either a limited buffet or chicken nuggets. At the Montana the kids had a wonderful choice of fish, veal, steak and vegetables and if you wanted something else that was no problem.

We have already booked for next season and will not make the mistake of trying other hotels again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry_Hindsight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrick o, Frontoffice at Hotel Montana, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Harry,

Thank you very much for your sincere words. We all felt very happy by reading your lavish praises about us.

Welcoming you again was a pleasure for us. And of cause we are also very happy that again you had such a wonderful time in our hotel.

Now we deeply hope to seeing you and your wonderful family again soon and send you
warm regards from Oberlech.

Soë Schulz
Frontoffice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I stayed at Hotel Montana for 9 nights this season with 3 other friends and had an amazing time. It's perfectly situated in Oberlech, with amazing views and quick access to the slopes (literally step outside and put on your skis). The hotel is run by the Ortlieb family, who were excellent hosts and whom we got to know over the course of our visit.

The property is exactly what you would want if you plan to ski hard during the day, eat well, relax by the pool and in the sauna, and get a good night's sleep. It's perfect for serious skiers. There isn't a great deal else to do in Oberlech (above the town of Lech, accessible by gondola and an underground tunnel system). The hotel has excellent pool and sauna facilities. There is no hot tub. The massage was good, but not superlative.

The breakfasts and dinners were both excellent. Dinner, in particular, was delicious, varied, multiple courses with great service.

We were hugely impressed, and look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J91000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We've just returned from our second trip to the Montana this year. We have three small children who have just learnt to ski in this perfect family location. Ski school is right outside so no long walks for the little ones. What really makes the Montana so special is its family friendliness yet without compromising anything for the grown ups. The food is fabulous (and we like nice food), the wine list is extensive and nothing is ever too much trouble for Mrs Ortlieb and her staff. Children love being at the Montana. While the grown ups are enjoying a nice lunch on the terrace, the kids run around making snow men right next to you. This doesn't seem to be the case in other hotels even up in Oberlech. We were so sad to leave but can't wait to return next year. Book early as school holidays are busy with people often returning year on year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Draggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Oberlech is ski in and out heaven and the Montana hotel sits on the right hand of the gods.. it is a beautifully located, incredibly well run, friendly family hotel. Nothing is too much effort and the owners are permanently personally on duty and overseeing things.
The staff know your name and your personal preferences after the first day. No wonder that this hotel is so highly rated. It has a well deserved great reputation for fantastic food. I did find that such culinary feasts every night was too much of a good thing. So we often opted to have fewer courses. Which is not a problem.
Vegetarians are generally not well catered for on the Austrian mountains but there is alternative menu available every night in case you do not like what is on the menu. And even then you can still ask for something different. They understand service.
My only "negative" would be that I was often generally too hot in the hotel and in the room.
A great experience . To be recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1motherof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lech hotels
0.1 mi away
Burg Hotel
Burg Hotel
#20 of 52 in Lech
137 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Haldenhof
Hotel Haldenhof
#4 of 52 in Lech
212 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Gotthard
Hotel Gotthard
#7 of 52 in Lech
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldener Berg
Hotel Goldener Berg
#11 of 52 in Lech
158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burg Vital Resort
Burg Vital Resort
#8 of 52 in Lech
143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sonnenburg
Hotel Sonnenburg
#16 of 52 in Lech
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana

Property: Hotel Montana
Address: Oberlech 279, Lech 6764, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Lech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Lech
#15 Spa Hotel in Lech
#16 Luxury Hotel in Lech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montana 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana Hotel Lech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing